BCT Commander- Save $8.00
winSPWW2- Save $5.00

Go Back   .com.unity Forums > The Camo Workshop > WinSPWW2
Notices

Old March 23rd, 2014, 07:28 AM

Corporal

Turret is on a distinguished road
Default Too Much Ammo

How is it realistic to give troops small arms ammunition ratings of 90? To my mind (I'm no expert), the infantry might be more realistically modelled as having ammo ratings of say, 30.
Old March 23rd, 2014, 07:48 AM

Corporal

zastava128 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Too Much Ammo

You may want to have a look at Cross's mod. It's out of date now, but you can use his guidelines to edit your OOBs.

Link: http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/showthread.php?t=46493
Old March 23rd, 2014, 09:16 AM

Private

RedGuard is on a distinguished road

Agreed. Infantries seem to have infinite ammo when playing a short battle. Their gunfire is almost endless. Some opponents use Z without any scruple.
Old March 29th, 2014, 06:34 PM

Sergeant

troopie is on a distinguished road
Default This Reminds Me of an Earlier Thread

and a discussion on the old Yahoo List where the armoured okes were amazed at the ammo loads we footies carried. Yes we were truly Malan's Mules.

I carried an average of 240 rounds for my R-1 on patrol. I never carried less than two hundred, and often carried three hundred. I remember that I never carried the same exact load twice.

troopie

R-1 rounds are rifle rounds only. That doesn't include the bunker bombs, grenades, FN-MAG belts or pistol and pistol rounds carried.
Old March 29th, 2014, 09:25 PM

Shrapnel Fanatic

Thanked 5,390 Times in 2,687 Posts
DRG will become famous soon enough

Rifle Cartridge Cartridge weight Weight of loaded magazine 10 kg (22#) ammo load
M14 7.62×51mm 393 grains (25.5 g) 20 rds @ 0.68 kg 14 mags / 280 rds
M16 5.56×45mm 183 grains (11.9 g) 20 rds @ 0.3 kg 33 mags / 660 rds
AK-47 7.62×39mm 281 grains (18.2 g) 30 rds @ 1.2 kg*[8] 8 mags / 240 rds
The Following User Says Thank You to DRG For This Useful Post: