.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

Air Assault Task Force- Save $8.00
winSPMBT: Main Battle Tank- Save $6.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > Illwinter Game Design > Dominions 2: The Ascension Wars

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old September 8th, 2006, 07:39 AM
Endoperez's Avatar

Endoperez Endoperez is offline
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Eastern Finland
Posts: 7,110
Thanks: 145
Thanked 153 Times in 101 Posts
Endoperez is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How the heck do I...?

The castle wouldn't drain resources from your capital, but it wouldn't let your capital to draw resources from the knights province. Unless it's a mountain or near mountains, you won't have enough resources to quickly mass knights.

Resources do accumulate over time, if you are producing a unit, and even if it takes few turns you will eventually get knights even if there aren't enough resources to build even one (in one turn).
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old September 8th, 2006, 01:33 PM
Agrajag's Avatar

Agrajag Agrajag is offline
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Israel
Posts: 1,449
Thanks: 4
Thanked 8 Times in 2 Posts
Agrajag is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How the heck do I...?

Wasn't there a bug at some point where units that took more than two turns to be built were never built?
Not sure if its still there, or how exactly it worked though.
__________________
I'm in the IDF. (So any new reply by me is a very rare event.)
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old September 8th, 2006, 01:46 PM
BigJMoney's Avatar

BigJMoney BigJMoney is offline
Second Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: North Carolina, USA
Posts: 403
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
BigJMoney is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How the heck do I...?

Yes, and I think it's still around in some form. I remember trying to build an indy knight in a province with very low production and every turn, the production would reset and he would not be any farther along. I thought it was intentional game design, though.

=$=
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old September 10th, 2006, 12:48 AM

Fate Fate is offline
Sergeant
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 286
Thanks: 8
Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts
Fate is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How the heck do I...?

Unspent resources do not carry over from turn to turn, but in my experience (in the demo), and according to the help files, units may accumulate resources over multiple turns.

So a 40 resource knight in a province with 16 resources, say, would take 3 turns to build, with 8 resources left over on the last turn (if you que something else, too).
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old September 11th, 2006, 03:42 PM

Arker Arker is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 62
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Arker is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How the heck do I...?

Quote:
BigJMoney said:
Yes, and I think it's still around in some form. I remember trying to build an indy knight in a province with very low production and every turn, the production would reset and he would not be any farther along. I thought it was intentional game design, though.

=$=
I believe you'll find that, although the display shows the same negative number each round, that's only a display bug, and after the required number of rounds, the unit is produced, even though it still had the same negative number the round before it comes out as the round you started.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old September 12th, 2006, 12:30 AM

MythicalMino MythicalMino is offline
Sergeant
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Coldwater, MI
Posts: 352
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
MythicalMino is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How the heck do I...?

How do I check and see how many provinces each nation has?

My current game (vs. the AI), I have the victory conditions to number of provinces...but I cannot find out how close I am to losing....

Anyone know if I even CAN see how many provinces each nation has?

Thanks

Chris
__________________
NOW playing: Dominions 3; Diablo 2; Silverfall; Out of the Park Baseball 9; Wrestling's Finest

wanna check out a great Cards & Dice game? www.gwfwrestling.com/home.htm

I only know one language: Hillbilly

Your mileage may vary, but mine always stays the same
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old September 12th, 2006, 12:42 AM

MythicalMino MythicalMino is offline
Sergeant
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Coldwater, MI
Posts: 352
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
MythicalMino is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How the heck do I...?

another question....what is the short cut key to remove the info boxes? like the box in the upper left corner, and the end turn, options, map filters, ect ect, and the province info, army set up, mercs, and recruit units boxes...

In other words...how do I show JUST the map?

Thanks

Chris
__________________
NOW playing: Dominions 3; Diablo 2; Silverfall; Out of the Park Baseball 9; Wrestling's Finest

wanna check out a great Cards & Dice game? www.gwfwrestling.com/home.htm

I only know one language: Hillbilly

Your mileage may vary, but mine always stays the same
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old September 12th, 2006, 02:26 AM
BigJMoney's Avatar

BigJMoney BigJMoney is offline
Second Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: North Carolina, USA
Posts: 403
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
BigJMoney is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How the heck do I...?

#1) You want the score graphs. They display a lot of things; among them, a graph to show "who's who" in the wide world of real-estate. Locate the score graphs under statistics.

#2) No idea. I'm not even aware this is possible. The "?" key is used to view most hotkeys, though.

=$=
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old September 12th, 2006, 09:07 AM
Endoperez's Avatar

Endoperez Endoperez is offline
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Eastern Finland
Posts: 7,110
Thanks: 145
Thanked 153 Times in 101 Posts
Endoperez is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How the heck do I...?

#1 If you didn't enable (or disabled, I don't think which one is the default) Score Graphs when creating the game, you can't change the setting any more. It shows number of provinces, income, gem income, etc etc for each nation in the play, from turn 1 forward.

#2 I don't think it's possible.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old September 12th, 2006, 10:35 AM

MythicalMino MythicalMino is offline
Sergeant
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Coldwater, MI
Posts: 352
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
MythicalMino is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How the heck do I...?

I have the score graphs....but maybe it is another setting within that setting that I didn't realize....

as far as the short cut key....I could swear I stumbled upon it a week or two ago....oh well, maybe not, just seems like I did (and this is the only game I have been playing for a couple weeks)...

At any rate, thanks for the help...

Chris
__________________
NOW playing: Dominions 3; Diablo 2; Silverfall; Out of the Park Baseball 9; Wrestling's Finest

wanna check out a great Cards & Dice game? www.gwfwrestling.com/home.htm

I only know one language: Hillbilly

Your mileage may vary, but mine always stays the same
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2018, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.