.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

Bronze - Save $8.00
winSPMBT: Main Battle Tank - Save $6.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > Illwinter Game Design > Dominions 2: The Ascension Wars

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old June 29th, 2006, 12:07 PM
Ed Kolis's Avatar

Ed Kolis Ed Kolis is offline
General
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Posts: 4,547
Thanks: 1
Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts
Ed Kolis is on a distinguished road
Default Windows Vista, new video card... game just dies

So I recently installed the Windows Vista beta on my machine... also had to replace the video card, since the old one died on me... well, I tried to run Dom2 again just for fun, and when I run the exe the screen just goes blank and then the game exits (even after applying the 2.16 patch)... Any idea what might be causing this? My new video card is a PCIE nVidia 7300 series with 512MB of RAM (don't remember the board manufacturer, but that I found for the wondrously low price of $100US... perhaps there was a reason it was so cheap for such a card...
__________________
The Ed draws near! What dost thou deaux?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old June 29th, 2006, 12:47 PM
capnq's Avatar

capnq capnq is offline
General
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Posts: 3,070
Thanks: 13
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
capnq is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Windows Vista, new video card

I haven't had that problem with Dominions II, but have had a similar thing occur with other software. It was suggested to me to update my video drivers to fix this, but I haven't actually gone through with doing it. (I haven't done it because I don't have a working CD-ROM drive at the moment to restore the original drivers if I botch the install.)
__________________
Cap'n Q

"Good morning, Pooh Bear," said Eeyore gloomily. "If it is a good morning," he said. "Which I doubt," said he.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old June 29th, 2006, 01:54 PM
Agrajag's Avatar

Agrajag Agrajag is offline
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Israel
Posts: 1,449
Thanks: 4
Thanked 8 Times in 2 Posts
Agrajag is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Windows Vista, new video card

1) AFAIK, the 7300 isn't that good.
2) Doesn't Dominions use OpenGL? Doesn't Microsoft hate OpenGL? I can see why they wouldn't hurry to include full OpenGL support in their beta version of Windows Vista. (its just a guess though)
__________________
I'm in the IDF. (So any new reply by me is a very rare event.)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old June 29th, 2006, 05:18 PM
Ed Kolis's Avatar

Ed Kolis Ed Kolis is offline
General
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Posts: 4,547
Thanks: 1
Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts
Ed Kolis is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Windows Vista, new video card

The 7300 sucks? Crap, I knew it couldn't be that cheap for no good reason
Dom2 uses OpenGL? Funny, I thought you could set it to use DirectX... I know there's a setting for DirectSound support at least... does it use OpenGL by default? Is there any way I can get into the config files and change that setting without actually running the game, because I can't even get the main menu to appear!
__________________
The Ed draws near! What dost thou deaux?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old June 29th, 2006, 06:44 PM
Arralen's Avatar

Arralen Arralen is offline
Major General
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: 500km from Ulm
Posts: 2,279
Thanks: 9
Thanked 18 Times in 12 Posts
Arralen is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Windows Vista, new video card

Switch Dominions to DirectX?

No way to do that.

Dominions uses the SDL library which in turn uses OpenGL - with DirectX there wouldn't be any way to get it to run on Windows, Linux, Mac and Solaris.

Btw., why do you use a beta version of a product that might become usable with the first service pack in 2008?

slashdot: Windows Vista May Degrade OpenGL
http://slashdot.org/articles/05/08/06/177251.shtml


edit: spelling
__________________
As for AI the most effective work around to this problem so far is to simply use an American instead, they tend to put up a bit more of a fight than your average Artificial Idiot.
... James McGuigan on rec.games.computer.stars somewhen back in 1998 ...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old June 29th, 2006, 06:51 PM

DominionsFan DominionsFan is offline
Major
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 1,221
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
DominionsFan is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Windows Vista, new video card

Window$ Vi$ta...nothing can stop the Micro$oft steamroller.
__________________
Dominions 3. Wallpapers & Logos
-------

"Training is principally an act of faith. The athlete must believe in its efficacy: he must believe that through training he will become fitter and stronger, that by constant repetition of the same movements he will become more skillful."
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old June 29th, 2006, 06:59 PM
Ed Kolis's Avatar

Ed Kolis Ed Kolis is offline
General
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Posts: 4,547
Thanks: 1
Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts
Ed Kolis is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Windows Vista, new video card

Um, how exactly will Vista become "unusable" when a service pack is released??? Aren't service packs supposed to ENHANCE software???
__________________
The Ed draws near! What dost thou deaux?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old June 29th, 2006, 07:08 PM

Ironhawk Ironhawk is offline
General
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,011
Thanks: 0
Thanked 45 Times in 35 Posts
Ironhawk is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Windows Vista, new video card

I have pretty extensive usage with the Vista beta since I am helping develop some games for it. And from that I can say that Vista beta is very "beta". I would not even concern yourself if something doesnt run on it. Wait another 6mos or so and if it still doesnt work maybe worry then.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old June 30th, 2006, 12:01 AM
Ed Kolis's Avatar

Ed Kolis Ed Kolis is offline
General
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Posts: 4,547
Thanks: 1
Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts
Ed Kolis is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Windows Vista, new video card

Hehe
I've actually found it to be quite stable so far, but maybe I haven't pushed it enough
Anyway, I got the game to run by running it in windowed mode, so that issue seems to be resolved
__________________
The Ed draws near! What dost thou deaux?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old June 30th, 2006, 12:40 AM
Cainehill's Avatar

Cainehill Cainehill is offline
Lieutenant General
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Albuquerque New Mexico
Posts: 2,997
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Cainehill is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Windows Vista, new video card


Ed, he said, "usable" - the last versions that MS put out that were semi-usable on first commercial release was Win95, maybe Win98. No one should ever get the latest "greatest" version of Windoze until _after_ the first service pack.

Programmers who've been developing for Vista (like the lead guy for Stardock) are likewise very dubious about it.
__________________
Wormwood and wine, and the bitter taste of ashes.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2017, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.