.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

BCT Commander - Save $5.00
Approaching Infinity - Save $7.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > The Camo Workshop > WinSPWW2
Notices


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old March 7th, 2011, 11:55 AM
SP4EVER's Avatar

SP4EVER SP4EVER is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
SP4EVER is on a distinguished road
Trophy Screenshot from fullscreen game possible!

Yes there is a built in option in Windows to enable screenshots from a directdraw game without horribly messed colors.

It is a simple registry option that needs to be enabled.

The patches are available here:
http://knights.x10hosting.com/KaM/Downloads/prntscr.zip
(they talk about another game in the readme, but this fix is universal and works for SPMBT too.)

So now you can take a screenshot from the game even if it is running in full screen with the print screen button. Enjoy.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to SP4EVER For This Useful Post:
  #2  
Old April 5th, 2011, 07:25 AM
Roman's Avatar

Roman Roman is offline
Second Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Córdoba-Argentina
Posts: 462
Thanks: 9
Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
Roman is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Screenshot from fullscreen game possible!

Quote:
Originally Posted by SP4EVER View Post
Yes there is a built in option in Windows to enable screenshots from a directdraw game without horribly messed colors.

It is a simple registry option that needs to be enabled.

The patches are available here:
http://knights.x10hosting.com/KaM/Downloads/prntscr.zip
(they talk about another game in the readme, but this fix is universal and works for SPMBT too.)

So now you can take a screenshot from the game even if it is running in full screen with the print screen button. Enjoy.
Thanks. I was having problems with the screenshot. This I solved.
__________________
Greeting
Roman.
Argentina 2014 World Cup champion
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old April 5th, 2011, 08:35 AM
DRG's Avatar

DRG DRG is offline
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: GWN
Posts: 8,545
Thanks: 1,230
Thanked 1,911 Times in 998 Posts
DRG is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Screenshot from fullscreen game possible!

I can confirm this works perfectly

Don
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old December 16th, 2011, 01:33 PM

OldGamer OldGamer is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
OldGamer is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Screenshot from fullscreen game possible!

So all I need to do is apply the patch? Or is there some registry option that I also have to enable after applying the patch? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old July 7th, 2012, 03:54 PM
RightDeve's Avatar

RightDeve RightDeve is offline
Sergeant
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Yogyakarta, Nusantara
Posts: 382
Thanks: 56
Thanked 66 Times in 41 Posts
RightDeve is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Screenshot from fullscreen game possible!

Oh well... that link is dead.
I wonder, maybe it's so difficult to attach the file on the shrapnelgames domain.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old July 21st, 2012, 05:43 AM
Rosollia's Avatar

Rosollia Rosollia is offline
Sergeant
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 215
Thanks: 12
Thanked 61 Times in 39 Posts
Rosollia is on a distinguished road
Default

I attaced the fix to this post, but it is really just a simple Windows registry value change.

You can even make the "fix" yoursef.

Simply copy/paste the text to notepad and then save it as .reg file and run it.

For x86 systems use this:
Quote:
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\DirectDraw]
"EnablePrintScreen"=dword:00000001
If you have a 64 bit system use this instead:
Quote:
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Microsoft\ DirectDraw]
"EnablePrintScreen"=dword:00000001
Attached Files
File Type: zip prntscr-fix.zip (1.6 KB, 402 views)
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Rosollia For This Useful Post:
  #7  
Old December 27th, 2012, 10:52 PM
gila's Avatar

gila gila is offline
Captain
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 898
Thanks: 45
Thanked 60 Times in 54 Posts
gila is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Screenshot from fullscreen game possible!

Sounds great for those literate on pc,s but not helping with me
Can someone please put this in a way for someone with very little skills with computers, could maybe understand
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old December 28th, 2012, 09:34 AM
Rosollia's Avatar

Rosollia Rosollia is offline
Sergeant
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 215
Thanks: 12
Thanked 61 Times in 39 Posts
Rosollia is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Screenshot from fullscreen game possible!

The attached ZIP packgage (prntscr-fix.zip) comes with a readme.txt file that tells you what to do:

Quote:
~ INSTALLATION ~
1. Find out if you're running a 32-bit or a 64-bit version of Windows

IF RUNNING A 32-BIT VERSION
2. Double-click prntscr.reg
3. When it asks whether to continue, choose yes
4. The fix has been applied!

IF RUNNING A 64-BIT VERSION
2. Double-click prntscr_x64.reg
3. When it asks whether to continue, choose yes
4. The fix has been applied!

IF YOU ARE UNSURE OF YOUR WINDOWS TYPE
If you are running Windows XP or older, there is a 99% probability that you are running a 32-bit OS. In case you're running Windows Vista or newer, you might have a 64-bit version. To find out, click start and then right-click on computer and choose properties. In the window that appears, look for system type and from there you should be able to find out which type you are running.

In the event that you still aren't successful in figuring out if it's 32-bit or 64-bit, it is more likely that you are running 32-bit so start off by installing the fix for it. If it turns out it isn't working, well then there's just one option left, that is you're running a 64-bit version of Windows. There shouldn't be any harm done if you end up installing the wrong fix at first.
If you still can't figure it out then I suggest you just run the game in windowed mode to take your screenshots.
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Rosollia For This Useful Post:
  #9  
Old December 29th, 2012, 07:10 PM
gila's Avatar

gila gila is offline
Captain
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 898
Thanks: 45
Thanked 60 Times in 54 Posts
gila is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Screenshot from fullscreen game possible!

Got it now
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old December 12th, 2015, 03:48 PM

Blackcloud6 Blackcloud6 is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 18
Thanks: 12
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Blackcloud6 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Screenshot from fullscreen game possible!

Does this work in Windows 10? I installed the 64 bit version on my 64 bit machine and when running the game I hit prt sc key and nothing happens. I even restarted the computer and tried... nothing. Tried ctrl/prt sc and alt/prt sc too and nothing.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2017, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.