.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

The Falklands War - Save $7.00
War Plan Pacific - Save $5.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > Shrapnel Community > Space Empires: IV & V > SEIV

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #211  
Old August 27th, 2007, 02:10 PM

StarShadow StarShadow is offline
Sergeant
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NS, Canada
Posts: 300
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
StarShadow is on a distinguished road
Default Interesting note regarding Self-Destruct

Just noticed this a few minutes ago, self-destruct when used as a boarding counter-measure, will not always destroy the ship/base. To add a little variety I modded some AIs to use armor instead of shields. Anyway, I sent a boarding ship to try and take a base orbiting a planet I recently 'aquired' and failed to notice it had a self-destruct device. I boarded, it went boom, but didn't 'die', it did however, take 10,000 damage to it's armor.

Fairly conclusive proof that self-destruct does 10,000 damage. So if you *really* want to capture an enemies ship/base, armor your boarding ship so that it has (more than) 10,000kt worth of armoring.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2017, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.