.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

Bronze - Save $8.00
winSPMBT: Main Battle Tank - Save $6.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > SprueGames > Salvo!
Notices


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old July 9th, 2005, 12:31 AM

Lord Hammer Lord Hammer is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: In my minds\' eye
Posts: 145
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Lord Hammer is on a distinguished road
Default Macromedia Projector Bug=Constant Crashes

Everything i load, tutorial or campaign ends up with a different ctd...usually "macromedia projector" or "index". My Windows XP sp 1 Alienware rig is up to date with a fresh install of the OS & drivers.
This is the release version, got it today and it is unplayable.
__________________
When there is no more room in Hell the dead will walk the Earth.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old July 9th, 2005, 01:51 AM
Richard's Avatar

Richard Richard is offline
Brigadier General
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Lancaster, OH 43130
Posts: 1,997
Thanks: 5
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Richard is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Macromedia Projector Bug=Constant Crashes

Did you have the same problem with the demo?
__________________
Change is inevitable, how you handle change is controllable - J. Strong
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old July 9th, 2005, 03:15 AM

Lord Hammer Lord Hammer is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: In my minds\' eye
Posts: 145
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Lord Hammer is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Macromedia Projector Bug=Constant Crashes

Nope, not the first demo, i never tried the "improved demo".
Update: 5 minutes is the most i can play, some Campaigns crash before they even start with the Macromedia Projector Error.
Alienware P4 2.8 ghz Intel WinXP sp1
1024 DDR Ram
GeForce FX5700 Ultra 128mg video card
Audigy 2ZS Platinum Pro 5.1 soundcard
Latest drivers on fresh OS

Very dissappointing, i hope the MAC users get their moneys worth...i haven't had such a bad software experience since the dos days.I paid for my pre-order months ago, January?, to think i waited all this time for nothing .
__________________
When there is no more room in Hell the dead will walk the Earth.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old July 9th, 2005, 11:47 AM
Richard's Avatar

Richard Richard is offline
Brigadier General
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Lancaster, OH 43130
Posts: 1,997
Thanks: 5
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Richard is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Macromedia Projector Bug=Constant Crashes

Unfortunately this error did not show up during test. Couple of things:

Have you changed any drivers or installed any new hardware or Operating System patches since you tried the previous demo?

This will help us eliminate a problem with your PC versus a problem with code that has changed since the first demo.

Can you get us a screenshot or the exact text of the error?

Does it happen when certain things happen in the game (ie when a specific sound is being played, etc).

Andrew should be joining us shortly and can help you figure this out a little bit further.

Again this is the first report of this but we will make sure we find the root cause so you can play the game ASAP.

Thanks for your patience.
__________________
Change is inevitable, how you handle change is controllable - J. Strong
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old July 9th, 2005, 06:14 PM

Lord Hammer Lord Hammer is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: In my minds\' eye
Posts: 145
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Lord Hammer is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Macromedia Projector Bug=Constant Crashes

Quote:
Richard said:
Unfortunately this error did not show up during test. Couple of things:

Have you changed any drivers or installed any new hardware or Operating System patches since you tried the previous demo?

This will help us eliminate a problem with your PC versus a problem with code that has changed since the first demo.

Can you get us a screenshot or the exact text of the error?

Does it happen when certain things happen in the game (ie when a specific sound is being played, etc).


No changes other than possibly Nvidia drivers released 6/15/2005. It seemed to ctd when i used the arrow keys to change view the most but now it happens anywhere, anytime. The only thing that doesn't ctd in less than 5 minutes is the tutorial...the campaigns won't run. I am unfamiliar with "screenshots" and don't have any clue although i have been PC gaming some 13 years now and know how to get things to run...until now. Soon enough we'll know if it's just me...sorry to say i doubt it .
__________________
When there is no more room in Hell the dead will walk the Earth.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old July 9th, 2005, 09:20 PM
Andrew Lonon's Avatar

Andrew Lonon Andrew Lonon is offline
Second Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: 201 Snow Bld: Durham NC
Posts: 409
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Andrew Lonon is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Macromedia Projector Bug=Constant Crashes

Lord Hammer:

This did not show up in the testing, and I know (from your activity here and on other forums) you are not the type of user likely to be at fault. Add to that that other PC users do not seem to be having the same trouble, and I think it adds up to some sort of a incomparability between the Gold Salvo code and something in your system, or some combination of things in your system. Since the Demo worked on your system, we can find a solution, even if you get our own “Lord Hammer” build of Salvo. Suffice it to say, I will work with you to find the solution.

Please check the screen size that you are playing Salvo at. There may be a connection between the screen size and the error. Try running Salvo in the default “windowed” mode and see if that helps.

Another thing to try is a full uninstall and reinstall of Salvo. Uninstall the Demo if you have not, and then uninstall the final Salvo product, and reinstall. It is important that you not change anything after you reinstall, but that you go ahead and try to play the game. Then if the game works, you can try customizing the setup.

That’s it for now, but I would like to reiterate that I am committed to making Salvo work for you, so you can either continue to post notes here, or send Email to me at:

andrew2@spruegames.com
__________________
Andrew Lonon
http://www.spruegames.com/

"There is nothing- absolutely nothing- half so much worth doing as simply messing about in boats." - Ratty
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old July 9th, 2005, 10:12 PM

Lord Hammer Lord Hammer is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: In my minds\' eye
Posts: 145
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Lord Hammer is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Macromedia Projector Bug=Constant Crashes

The demo was deleted before i reinstalled my OS along with a registry cleaner "CheckMyPC" etc. I have tried running Window, expanded & full with different settings. When i got up this morning i gave it another shot and actually made it through the first scenario of an English Campaign...I will try your suggestionof re-installing and then start without any changes to the options etc. Thanks for your help, i will take a methodical approach and report back and if it is truly a unique problem then there is hope in tracking it down . I apologize for my pessimism...it's just that i could almost taste the ocean air .
__________________
When there is no more room in Hell the dead will walk the Earth.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old July 9th, 2005, 11:41 PM

McBan McBan is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
McBan is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Macromedia Projector Bug=Constant Crashes

I have the same problem with the Macromedia Projector crashes. It seems to affect only certain campaigns. The Edward Teach campaign is completely unplayable because of the crash bug. I tried a different campaign (I can't remember which one) and there seemed to be no problem after about a dozen turns. I didn't have time to play any further. I won't have time to really experiment to track down the crash conditions for several days. I just wanted to pop in quickly and let you know that someone else is having your problem.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old July 10th, 2005, 12:13 AM

Lord Hammer Lord Hammer is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: In my minds\' eye
Posts: 145
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Lord Hammer is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Macromedia Projector Bug=Constant Crashes

Quote:
McBan said:
I have the same problem with the Macromedia Projector crashes. It seems to affect only certain campaigns. The Edward Teach campaign is completely unplayable because of the crash bug.I just wanted to pop in quickly and let you know that someone else is having your problem.
Thanks, ironic that Edward Teach was the campaign that wouldn't even run more than a minute, it was by far the worst ctd wise as well as my first choice .I uninstalled Salvo...i'll check back.
@Andrew: I tried all the "Pirate Campaigns", none of which would run, and a couple English of which i can move forward in at least one. So it does seem to hint at something in the game itself unless McBan has my same specs/hardware and we all know what the chances of that are .
__________________
When there is no more room in Hell the dead will walk the Earth.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old July 10th, 2005, 10:52 AM

McBan McBan is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
McBan is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Macromedia Projector Bug=Constant Crashes

I scraped up a little bit of time to experiment with Salvo! to reproducibly crash the game. Playing the Edward Teach campaign, the game runs fine until I use the arrow keys to move the viewpoint while a ship has been selected, but not moved yet. Then the Macromedia crash occurs after pressing an arrow key once or several times. Use of the arrow keys without a selected ship does not cause any crashes. I have not tried the other campaign where the game worked without any problems. It might be that for whatever reason I never used the arrow keys while a ship was selected. Anyway, this hopefully narrows the problem and provides a work-around for anyone having this problem.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2017, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.