.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

The Falklands War - Save $7.00
War Plan Pacific - Save $5.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > The Camo Workshop > WinSPMBT > After Action Reports
Notices


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old March 21st, 2011, 01:56 PM

Zardoz Zardoz is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Cologne, Germany
Posts: 21
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Zardoz is on a distinguished road
Default Roleplaying in generated campaign

Dear all,

I am new here and happy to have found a forum for win SP MBT. Beeing rather familiar with SP WAW I tested out this game to have something new.

I have the impression that I play the campaign rather different than most here. At the moment, I play a campaign simulated that in 1982 the cold war turned hot in Germany. Duration is from April 1982 to March 1983 with 4 battles a month and I started with a German Second Line Infantry bataillon, i. e. a unit in which I served for a training.

I prefer to use historic OOBs and have always a kind of story in my mind. So ... the pixel get some life and it really hurts to lead a experienced leader.

Do you play the same way?

If you would like to have an impression of what I mean have a look on

http://www.si-games.com/forums/showthread.php?t=20284


as I started an AAR there; however, it is in German ;-);
but if you want to new more, ask!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old March 21st, 2011, 06:39 PM
wulfir's Avatar

wulfir wulfir is offline
Captain
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 816
Thanks: 35
Thanked 168 Times in 89 Posts
wulfir is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Roleplaying in generated campaign

That is one superb AAR, Zardoz!

Must take ages to write up all that stuff and add the pictures and all! The newspaper frontpages were especially cool!

Also - have you been making custom maps for the campaign?



In SP World at War kann man die Siegbedingugnen auch so einstellen, dass man Punkte für Einheiten bekommt, die man an bestimmten Feldern von der Karte zieht. Die Funktion konnte ich hier bei SP MBT nicht finde. Das ist schade, weil es gut hier rein gepaßt hätte.

Just a FYI if you did not know this - but you can withdraw units off the map by retreating them onto the grey area in your rear. Works similar to the retreat hex in SPWAW - but you won't gain victory points by retreating - so yeah, it is kind of hard to built an escape mission into a generated campaign, it would be easier in a user made campaign/scenario where you could be more creative with unit cost and deployment zones...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old March 22nd, 2011, 04:55 AM

Zardoz Zardoz is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Cologne, Germany
Posts: 21
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Zardoz is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Roleplaying in generated campaign

Thank you for the hind and thank you for your warm word about my AAR!!

You are right ... it already a bit in the direction of the fixed campaign. However, I safe time by not deploying the AI and have a bit surprise where the units of the AI are ...

I used up to know maps provided with the game which make sense for my campaign (Braunschweig and Schellerten f. e.) and have set up 2 maps myself (Hohen-Eggelsen and Hildesheim).
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old March 22nd, 2011, 10:11 AM
wulfir's Avatar

wulfir wulfir is offline
Captain
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 816
Thanks: 35
Thanked 168 Times in 89 Posts
wulfir is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Roleplaying in generated campaign

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zardoz View Post
However, I safe time by not deploying the AI and have a bit surprise where the units of the AI are ...
Of course!


Quote:
Originally Posted by Zardoz View Post
...have set up 2 maps myself (Hohen-Eggelsen and Hildesheim).
Feel free to upload them - good maps are always fun to play on and judging from the screenshots you posted they looked really ace!

Btw, your initial OOB was it based on the actual organisation of a Jaeger Btl? I'm especially interested in the 5. Kompanie and any fighting elements of the battalion supply formation - the Sicherungszug - was it an extra rifle platoon or a sort of protection unit for the staff element...?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old March 22nd, 2011, 10:34 AM

Zardoz Zardoz is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Cologne, Germany
Posts: 21
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Zardoz is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Roleplaying in generated campaign

Ok... here the line up of a non-active Jägerbataillon at the beginning of the 80ies

1. Kompanie (HQ and support company)
This cannot be simulated totally correct as it contains maintance and support elements , however:
1 security platoon (for selfdefence of the HQ), i. e. 1 Jägerplatoon)
2 platoons with each 3 20mmm guns
and to simulate the logistic element 2 ammo trucks

3 x Jäger companies (2. - 4.Kompanie)
3 platoons; I added for each plaoton a hmg squad to simulate the "Zugtrupp"
According to my knowledge, the non-active units had no Milan ATGM

1 x heavy company (5.Kompanie)
with 6 tubes 120mmm mortar
and 2 FO
with 7 Kanonenjagdpanzer (tank destroyer)

The batalion was motorized with trucks.

I augmented later the batallion with SP Mortar instead of the truck drawn mortars, Leopard 1 tanks instead of the tank destroyer, M113 instead of trucks for the 2-4. Company and added a Milan to each platoon of the Jäger companies; this was the OOB of certain active Jäger batallions in the active Home Defense Brigades.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old March 22nd, 2011, 12:59 PM
wulfir's Avatar

wulfir wulfir is offline
Captain
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 816
Thanks: 35
Thanked 168 Times in 89 Posts
wulfir is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Roleplaying in generated campaign

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zardoz View Post
Ok... here the line up of a non-active Jägerbataillon at the beginning of the 80ies
Cool! Thanks!

If you think the AI is too easy to beat send me the campaign save files and I can re-deploy the AI controlled forces, set waypoints for their movement etc to make it a bit more challenging!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old March 22nd, 2011, 01:50 PM

Zardoz Zardoz is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Cologne, Germany
Posts: 21
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Zardoz is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Roleplaying in generated campaign

Oh... this is VERY nice because...

in my campaign I play that the bataillon is encircled in the city of Hildesheim and at the moment they have to defend against a Polish attack. I assume that I will win and then, one possibilty is to play that they try a breakout. A nice idea would be in a first step a night raid to knock out a division or regimental HQ. The idea would be a raid with one or two platoons which sweep through the lines and knockout the HQ. For this, I would fix the troops in the frontline and, of course ... it would be superb not to know where the enemy is and how the HQ itself is defend. Reckon could know in which town it is (radio activity) but not how strong the defence is.

Would be really great!!!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old March 22nd, 2011, 02:02 PM
wulfir's Avatar

wulfir wulfir is offline
Captain
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 816
Thanks: 35
Thanked 168 Times in 89 Posts
wulfir is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Roleplaying in generated campaign

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zardoz View Post
The idea would be a raid with one or two platoons which sweep through the lines and knockout the HQ. For this, I would fix the troops in the frontline and, of course ... it would be superb not to know where the enemy is and how the HQ itself is defend. Reckon could know in which town it is (radio activity) but not how strong the defence is.
Save the game on turn 01 of that particular mission and send it to me at wulfir @ yahoo .com and I will edit and deploy the AI forces to simulate a Headquarters, or whatever you like.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old March 23rd, 2011, 04:04 AM

Zardoz Zardoz is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Cologne, Germany
Posts: 21
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Zardoz is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Roleplaying in generated campaign

Would it be better to send you the battle as a scenario-file? My forces have the first step and, therefore, the AI should be already in place when the ganmes starts?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old March 23rd, 2011, 09:16 AM
wulfir's Avatar

wulfir wulfir is offline
Captain
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 816
Thanks: 35
Thanked 168 Times in 89 Posts
wulfir is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Roleplaying in generated campaign

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zardoz View Post
Would it be better to send you the battle as a scenario-file? My forces have the first step and, therefore, the AI should be already in place when the ganmes starts?
I *believe* it doesn't matter - I can change the file and make it a scenario, open it in the editor and change unit types, deployment, buy new units etc with the AI forces save it and return it as a save file. I have tried this on my own machine and it seems to work. Even if you make the first move, in most cases you won't have contact on the first turn anyway, especially not if it is a low visability game...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2017, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.