.com.unity Forums

.com.unity Forums (http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/index.php)
-   Dominions 3: The Awakening (http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/forumdisplay.php?f=138)
-   -   Question about EA Tir Na N'og (http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/showthread.php?t=47081)

Torgon February 22nd, 2011 04:25 PM

Question about EA Tir Na N'og

I'm a total newb, just in my first two games at the moment.

Looking through the possible nations, my interest was struck by Tir Na N'og but it appears they basically get zero playing time as a nation in MP. Are they that bad? Is it essentially suicide to play them in an MP game? Any redeeming features?

brxbrx February 22nd, 2011 04:55 PM

Re: Question about EA Tir Na N'og

lots of glamour

Torgon February 22nd, 2011 05:06 PM

Yep. Seems like they may play similarly to a Vanheim or Hellheim. But in the strat index there's a ton on both of these and absolutely nothing on Tir Na N'og.

Seems a major complaint may be lack of any death/astral. Does the addition of the endgame diversity mod compensate for the lack of death and no tartarians?

Also it seems they also don't get much love in the CBM? if they are underpowered why no cost reductions, stat increases etc.

Seems like kinda a cool nation: British mists of avalon, forgotten Sidhe realms, etc. But no one seems to pay any attention to them.

iRFNA February 22nd, 2011 05:15 PM

I'm always interested in them, but ignoring magic paths (you can do a lot with their paths even if they lack astral/death, especially in the CBM), they have two big weaknesses:

Fir bolgs have great stats, but their protection is awful.
Everything else costs a LOT of gold, but at the same time their units beg for a good bless on their thugs.

At least, this is what is going through my head every time I try to make a pretender and overall strategy for them.

AfroSquirrel February 22nd, 2011 05:20 PM