.com.unity Forums

.com.unity Forums (http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/index.php)
-   SEV Modders Knowledge Base (http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/forumdisplay.php?f=154)
-   -   SE5 Modding: Variable and functions wishes (http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/showthread.php?t=31732)

Elsemeravin November 9th, 2006 04:53 PM

SE5 Modding: Variable and functions wishes
 
Hi,

In order to send Aaron an email as complete as possible, I would like to share the functions and variable I'm about to ask him so that you may add more before we can finally send him a full list.

1. A variable containing the level of research (ex: [%level%]) to use in requirement, in file TechArea.txt, so that we could link the requirement with the level (as now there are no pretty ways to use requirement once the tech is available for research), the same way we can do it in Components.txt
File(s): TechAreas.txt

2. A function returning the number of stars in system.
File(s): Components.txt, Facilities.txt

3. A function returning the number of planet in system.
File(s): Components.txt, Facilities.txt

4. A function returning the system type (black hole, nebula, single star, double stars, ...).
File(s): Components.txt, Facilities.txt

5. A function returning the size of planet.
File(s): Facilities.txt

6. A function returning the atmosphere of planet.
File(s): Facilities.txt

7. A function returning the gravity of planet.
File(s): Facilities.txt

8. A function returning the temperature of planet.
File(s): Facilities.txt

9. A function returning the radiation of planet.
File(s): Facilities.txt

10. A function returning the population of planet.
File(s): Facilities.txt

11. A function returning the production (mineral, rads, intel, ...) of planet.
File(s): Facilities.txt

12. A function returning the number of facilities with name <Name>.
File(s): Facilities.txt

13. A function returning the number of facilities with ability <Ability>.
File(s): Facilities.txt

14. A function returning the total of amount (1 or 2) of facilities with ability <Ability> (similar in components).
File(s): Facilities.txt

15. A function returning the total population on board the ship (in cargo).
File(s): Components.txt (all formula, not only requirement).

16. A function returning the number of component with name <Name> on the ship.
File(s): Components.txt (all formula, not only requirement).



Please add the one you think of/need.

Elsemeravin November 10th, 2006 02:42 PM

Re: SE5 Modding: Variable and functions wishes
 
17. A function returning the current accumulated galaxy wide bonus for caracteristic <Caracteristic> (for example attack bonus, of combat to hit minus, population increase, ..)
File(s): Facilities.txt, Components.txt, TechAreas.txt

18. A function returning the current accumulated system wide bonus for caracteristic <Caracteristic> (for example attack bonus, of combat to hit minus, population increase, ..)
File(s): Facilities.txt, Components.txt

19. A function returning the current accumulated planet wide bonus for caracteristic <Caracteristic> (for example attack bonus, of combat to hit minus, population increase, ..)
File(s): Facilities.txt

Docwho November 11th, 2006 01:58 AM

Re: SE5 Modding: Variable and functions wishes
 
20. An abiliy to flag there are Asteroids
files Components.txt

21. Opens warps Randoms type warps - unstable, mildly unstable, Very Unstable, stable and size (how big of a ship can move thuoght it.)
files Components.txt

22. Under Ship design. A filter for ship size. (I.E. 100kt to 2500kt in drop down buttons that can be moddifed. And/Or by clase name.)

23. Under combat setting could you add another attack type line. Such as they are to disable then captor the ship. And have the Ship use they weapons in combat. It is a real pain to deal with right now. You have to frist attack them then be defender to get it to work right.

President_Elect_Shang November 11th, 2006 02:51 AM

Re: SE5 Modding: Variable and functions wishes
 
Quote:

Docwho said:
23. Under combat setting could you add another attack type line. Such as they are to disable then captor the ship. And have the Ship use they weapons in combat. It is a real pain to deal with right now. You have to frist attack them then be defender to get it to work right.

I’m not sure I follow what you are asking for. If you want your ship to capture an enemy ship just set the strategy for your ship to “Capture Enemy Ships”. This way you don’t have to do it manually. Right now boarding is broken anyway and hopefully will be fixed in the next patch.

Docwho November 11th, 2006 03:05 AM

Re: SE5 Modding: Variable and functions wishes
 
NVM number 21. I am an dumb person at 1 am in the mornning. AND all week long. HEHEHEHEHe. I am god now..... Will post the new toy for you all to play with later. =p

Yes..... I am GOD..... Oh and side point I just added 2 types of colony to the game. lol. Now the only bug is that any race could start with them and not have to have the Racial need for them. Also I will point out there is 6 colony types that could be played with before you have the it takes 2 setup we had in SE4. it is 1-5 plus one that is any. Look in the main strings. lol

Well anyway. I am going to have fun now. I would like some one to makeup some pics for me. I suck at that part. I need Crystallen and Organic planet type pics. Would like the same number of of Crystallen as there are Gas gaints. Organic same number as there are Rock type.

Elsemeravin November 11th, 2006 07:13 AM

Re: SE5 Modding: Variable and functions wishes
 
Quote:

Docwho said:
20. An abiliy to flag there are Asteroids
files Components.txt


==> This is not a function or variable, maybe you should move it to a thread for new abilities wishes.
Quote:


21. Opens warps Randoms type warps - unstable, mildly unstable, Very Unstable, stable and size (how big of a ship can move thuoght it.)
files Components.txt


==> This is not a function or variable, maybe you should move it to a thread for new abilities wishes.
Quote:


22. Under Ship design. A filter for ship size. (I.E. 100kt to 2500kt in drop down buttons that can be moddifed. And/Or by clase name.)


==> This is not a function or variable, more like a UI change.
Quote:


23. Under combat setting could you add another attack type line. Such as they are to disable then captor the ship. And have the Ship use they weapons in combat. It is a real pain to deal with right now. You have to frist attack them then be defender to get it to work right.

==> This is not a function or variable, more like a UI change.

Now as I start to feel my first post was unclear when saying:

Quote:


In order to send Aaron an email as complete as possible, I would like to share the functions and variable I'm about to ask him so that you may add more before we can finally send him a full list.


I was meaning functions such like the actual Get_Design_Ability_Total() or Get_Design_Component_Count() and variables like [%level%] or [%range%] to be used in formulas in the modding files.
Sorry if I made you confused.

Docwho November 11th, 2006 03:42 PM

Combat bug???
 
Quote:

President_Elect_Shang said:
Quote:

Docwho said:
23. Under combat setting could you add another attack type line. Such as they are to disable then captor the ship. And have the Ship use they weapons in combat. It is a real pain to deal with right now. You have to frist attack them then be defender to get it to work right.

I’m not sure I follow what you are asking for. If you want your ship to capture an enemy ship just set the strategy for your ship to “Capture Enemy Ships”. This way you don’t have to do it manually. Right now boarding is broken anyway and hopefully will be fixed in the next patch.

What I am saying if you don't have Tactical Combat all the ships do is lunch there boarding parties then leave the area. But Strategic combat you can get them to fire they weapons then board the enemy ship. Even tho you can't Capture them yet. That is why I am asking for another attack line. So you could disable first then board. In one combat round instead of having to do two rounds of combat.

Fyron November 11th, 2006 03:54 PM

Re: SE5 Modding: Variable and functions wishes
 
Make Get_Vehicle_Size() work in Components.txt so that the cludge of scale mounts is no longer necessary.

Elsemeravin November 13th, 2006 02:51 PM

Re: SE5 Modding: Variable and functions wishes
 
Quote:

Imperator Fyron said:
Make Get_Vehicle_Size() work in Components.txt so that the cludge of scale mounts is no longer necessary.

Let's make it :

20. Make Function Get_Vehicle_Size() (returning tonnage of ship hull) work.
File: components.txt

21. Make a function returning the total structure of current ship.
File: components.txt

President_Elect_Shang November 13th, 2006 07:46 PM

Re: SE5 Modding: Variable and functions wishes
 
Vehicle Mounts my foot! I want it to work so I can create components with costs based on the size of the hull they are being placed in!


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:47 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2024, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.