.com.unity Forums

.com.unity Forums (http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/index.php)
-   Scenarios, Maps and Mods (http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/forumdisplay.php?f=146)
-   -   Utility: RanDom v2.03 - Map gen & Semirandomizer... Updated (http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/showthread.php?t=34826)

Joelz October 7th, 2011 08:50 AM

Re: RanDom v2.03 - Map gen & Semirandomizer... Updated
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Question (Post 785377)
What should i be putting for width and height? Im trying to create a random medium sized map...

I generate maps with 2000x2000 pixels myself. Things look pretty and it doesn't take too long to generate.

Never go over 5000 though. That takes forever.

Gandalf Parker October 7th, 2011 08:58 AM

Re: RanDom v2.03 - Map gen & Semirandomizer... Updated
 
Check the screen sizes of your monitor or various softwares. Those are good to go by for a map that looks good on the screen. For my maps I tend to use 1600x1200. But it also depends on how many provinces you are trying to put into it since too much crammed in causes the images to blur. I find that 150-250 provinces tend to meet most peoples needs.

Also the game will try to fit any map onto your screen but the Width/Heigth will affect the file size greatly. A 200 province map on a 4000x2000 map will be incredibly detailed and zoomable, but it will take forever to download if you are letting the server send the map to each user. On the other hand those same 200 provinces squeezed into a 800x600 map might be ugly and pixilated.

Question October 10th, 2011 10:00 AM

Re: RanDom v2.03 - Map gen & Semirandomizer... Updated
 
So if i am running at 1024x768, i should make a map of that size?

bluescreen1988 March 30th, 2012 08:42 AM

Re: RanDom v2.03 - Map gen & Semirandomizer... Updated
 
Im having trouble with getting the semiRandomizer to work. I click the Semi Randomizer button after making my map but it doesnt appear in the semirandom directory. I dont get any errors in the creation process and im using windows 7.

Ballbarian April 3rd, 2012 12:08 AM

Re: RanDom v2.03 - Map gen & Semirandomizer... Updated
 
Been a few years since I messed with this, so bear with me. :)
You might try doing a search (Start button / "Search programs and Files") for yourMapsName_SR.map

So, If you left the default map name as "AUTOMAP" then you would search for:
AUTOMAP_SR.map

Two things of note:
1. If you installed Dominions to your program files directory, windows may be dropping files in a user directory of it's own creation.
2. Windows 7 has a notoriously horrible search utility, so just because it doesn't find it, doesn't mean that it is not there.

Failing the above, you might try installing Dominions and RanDom to it's own folder in the root directory (C:) or the desktop, or wherever you are comfortable.

Hope that helps.

Gandalf Parker April 3rd, 2012 09:29 AM

Re: RanDom v2.03 - Map gen & Semirandomizer... Updated
 
Hi BB
Im getting some interest in starting a SemiRand for Illwinters new game CoE3

Ragnarok-X April 11th, 2012 11:13 AM

Re: RanDom v2.03 - Map gen & Semirandomizer... Updated
 
If i have a mod that adds custom sites enabled, will these be incorporated when i create a random map using this tool ?

Happyfungi April 12th, 2012 03:09 AM

Re: RanDom v2.03 - Map gen & Semirandomizer... Updated
 
The sites wont be part of the generated map file that semirandom makes. But, when you start the game your mods will kick in so yes they will be used when you play. The sites will show up in open lands, say around starting sites, and in semirandom lands that don't use #killfeatures or that don't use all 4 site slots. I may not be 100% right about this but I use several site mods and I see sites from them often, and I only play semirand maps when playing single player.

Gandalf Parker April 12th, 2012 07:36 AM

Re: RanDom v2.03 - Map gen & Semirandomizer... Updated
 
Also, you CAN create your own province files for RanDom to use if you wish. Then you could create maps that specifically use what you want used and how you want them used. You could even include such maps with a mod.

Or if you really want it, I can set up such a randomization to redo the map on a regular basis then zip it and make it available for download on my system like I do other maps.

majama May 1st, 2012 11:22 AM

Re: RanDom v2.03 - Map gen & Semirandomizer... Updated
 
This tool is fantastic, thank you Ballbarian.
I sometimes generating new worlds only for looking how suprise my closest provinces will be :)

But stil is part of options in Random map generator program which is unknown for me (normal mount? climate bands?)


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:39 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2022, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.