.com.unity Forums

.com.unity Forums (http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/index.php)
-   Dominions 3: The Awakening (http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/forumdisplay.php?f=138)
-   -   Forgetting province names?! (http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/showthread.php?t=48299)

Ed Kolis January 31st, 2012 04:10 PM

Forgetting province names?!
 
Hey everyone! I played Dominions 2 years ago, and picked up Dominions 3 last month when it was on sale... enjoying the game thus far, but one little issue is irking me... How come when I lose dominion/military presence in a province, the province's name disappears?!

brxbrx January 31st, 2012 05:11 PM

Re: Forgetting province names?!
 
Do you still own the province?

GFSnl January 31st, 2012 05:12 PM

Re: Forgetting province names?!
 
When the province isn't in your Dominion you see less information about it. And only with Arco's dominion you'll see everything.

Alternatively you can make scouts or spies to, well... spy on your neighbors.

I hope this is what you mean otherwise I dunno either.

Ed Kolis January 31st, 2012 11:20 PM

Re: Forgetting province names?!
 
I just find it bizarre that something such as the name of a province, which (a) never changes, (b) is useful for planning and diplomatic purposes, and (c) is useless for getting an in-game advantage over another player, disappears! The province ID still stays, so I suppose I could make a spreadsheet with the names and ID's of all the provinces, in case in multiplayer someone asks me to attack Arcoscephale, and I can't remember which province that is - but it would be much simpler if the game simply didn't clear the province names to begin with!

Bullock February 1st, 2012 12:12 AM

Re: Forgetting province names?!
 
But if some1 ask you to attack a distant land you can target it trough his ID number. Personally whether i have or not the name of prov i'm always using the ID it's easier.

Knai February 1st, 2012 02:12 AM

Re: Forgetting province names?!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Ed Kolis (Post 793899)
I just find it bizarre that something such as the name of a province, which (a) never changes, (b) is useful for planning and diplomatic purposes, and (c) is useless for getting an in-game advantage over another player, disappears! The province ID still stays, so I suppose I could make a spreadsheet with the names and ID's of all the provinces, in case in multiplayer someone asks me to attack Arcoscephale, and I can't remember which province that is - but it would be much simpler if the game simply didn't clear the province names to begin with!

It's very useful. Among other things, if you can see the province names immediately you know where all capitals are in some cases - which means that people with less than ideal capital locations are immediately easy prey. Keeping the names hidden until the information is gained fixes that problem.

Ed Kolis February 1st, 2012 02:14 PM

Re: Forgetting province names?!
 
I'm not complaining about keeping them hidden until you discover them - I'm complaining about hiding them again AFTER you discover them and lose sight of them!

JonBrave February 1st, 2012 04:37 PM

Re: Forgetting province names?!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Ed Kolis (Post 793899)
I just find it bizarre that something such as the name of a province, which (a) never changes, (b) is useful for planning and diplomatic purposes, and (c) is useless for getting an in-game advantage over another player, disappears! The province ID still stays, so I suppose I could make a spreadsheet with the names and ID's of all the provinces, in case in multiplayer someone asks me to attack Arcoscephale, and I can't remember which province that is - but it would be much simpler if the game simply didn't clear the province names to begin with!

Hi Ed, welcome to the world of Dominions 3, there are many things like this ;)

Chazar February 3rd, 2012 09:07 AM

Re: Forgetting province names?!
 
I am with Ed Kolis here: It makes a little bit of roleplaying in diplomatic communication so much harder. The ID numbers are really boring.

The problem would go away if the starting province is not renamed to the nation.

I actually write down all province names during MP games, along with all the other stuff dom3 cannot be bothered to remember for me. :(

Edi February 3rd, 2012 09:47 AM

Re: Forgetting province names?!
 
The starting province not being named after the nation is a map specific thing. If the #nohomelandnames command is added to the map, the starting provinces will have the names defined for them in the map file (usually assigned through the map editor).

However, it does not affect the mechanic of provinces you don't see (don't have as neighbors or not in your dominion) being shown as unknown.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:01 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2022, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.