.com.unity Forums

.com.unity Forums (http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/index.php)
-   Dominions 3: The Awakening (http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/forumdisplay.php?f=138)
-   -   Utility: Linux Admining (http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/showthread.php?t=30044)

Gandalf Parker January 31st, 2009 01:00 PM

Re: Linux Admining
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Ornedan (Post 670770)
My server wrapper and backup scripts. For this thread, I think the interesting bit is the backup script, since it's parametrized by game name.

Excellent scripts.
I will definetly copy them and use them as examples as I work on consolidating mine. My stuff grew over time and I have a script to start each game type, and a script to restart for each game type, and one to kill/delete for each game type, and one to search/display dead games which the players didnt bother to turn off. Not to mention the many version 1, version 2, test this, test that scripts.

I really need to clean it all up and create larger scripts with options, I especailly like how you broke the common options from the newgame options for start and restart.

Gandalf Parker January 31st, 2009 01:07 PM

Re: Linux Admining
 
For backups I like to end it with a mime emailing to an account on another system. Backup on the same device is handy, on another device (drive, tape, etc) is handier, and on a completely different system is way handier.

Lihaässä March 5th, 2009 01:18 PM

Re: Linux Admining
 
First game finished using server hosting.. man that was simple! A new question occurred however while planning a new game. According to this list: http://www.dom3minions.com/docs/CommandLine.txt, its not possible to assign more than 1 victory point / province. I'm planning to set up game with one 3-vp and three 2-vp provinces in addition to 10 regular 1-vp provinces.

Any ideas is this possible? How?

Thanks already!

llamabeast March 5th, 2009 02:10 PM

Re: Linux Admining
 
I think you have to start the game using the GUI, then run it as a command line game once it's started. The detailed VP settings are curiously absent from the command line options.

Gandalf Parker March 5th, 2009 02:17 PM

Re: Linux Admining
 
Only time for quick answer. Ask if confusing.

For me, easiest is appending a few commands to the end of the games .map file
http://www.dom3minions.com/docs/map_qref.txt

If someone elses map, dupe to new name. It will use the same image file so not much work involved.

--
per peer-pressure preoccupation
My maps, mods, and mullings can be found at
http://www.Dom3Minions.com

Lihaässä March 5th, 2009 02:19 PM

Re: Linux Admining
 
Thanks llamabeast - I think it's not possible to use GUI in our case. Sounds really mysterious why such commands are not available. Any other options?

Apparently me and Gandalf replied at the same time - I'll look into his solution. Thanks!

Lihaässä September 17th, 2009 05:38 PM

Re: Linux Admining
 
Im trying to make a working, simple backup option for a hosting script. How do the commands --postexec and --preexec commands work? At the moment my script looks like this? It works ok without the --postexec command. At the moment the game refuses to start up.

Code:

         
#!/bin/bash
# Tällä käynnistellään dqotonen domi hostaukset
# jee


GAME="rivers"
MAP="Rivers.map"
ERA=3
MOD="CBcomplete_1.6.dm"
BUP=["rsync -a /home/dom/dominions3/savedgames/* /backup/"]
AID="57"
START=5

PORT="2222"
DOM="/home/dom/dominions3/dom3"

$DOM -S -T --port $PORT -g $GAME --era $ERA --mapfile $MAP -q --indepstr 9 --uploadmaxp $START --diffai $AID --enablemod $MOD --postexec $BUP


vfb September 17th, 2009 06:17 PM

Re: Linux Admining
 
It's probably the [] characters in $BUP, if it's calling system() to run the postexec command then it won't work, because system() does a "/bin/sh -c":

Code:

$ /bin/sh -c ["/bin/ls -a"]
/bin/sh: [/bin/ls: No such file or directory



I put my postexec commands in a script and that worked fine:

Code:

$DOM3EXE $DOM3GAME  \
        --port $PORT -ST${DEBUG} ${SCOREOPT} ${RENAMEOPT} \
        --era ${ERA} \
        --uploadmaxp ${PLAYERS} --noclientstart \
        --requiredvp 0 --totalvp 0  \
        --mapfile ${MAP} \
        --enablemod ${MOD} \
        -q \
        --masterpass ${MASTERPASS} \
        --preexec ${DOM3DIR}/prehost.sh --postexec ${DOM3DIR}/posthost.sh \
        >>$DOM3LOGDIR/$DOM3GAME.log 2>>$DOM3LOGDIR/$GAME.err

Also, do you need -g? The help for that shows:

Code:

-g  --host          Generate new turn and exit

Lihaässä September 18th, 2009 03:50 AM

Re: Linux Admining
 
Thanks vfb. I'm almost there, you are correct, there is no need for "-g" command. At the moment the script looks like below. The game starts but when trying to play a turn it just closes the gamewindow. It also says "send, broken pipe"

Code:

#!/bin/bash
# Tällä käynnistellään dqotonen domi hostaukset
# jee


GAME="rivers"
MAP="Rivers.map"
ERA=3
MOD="CBcomplete_1.6.dm"
BUP={rsync -a /home/dom/dominions3/savedgames/* /backup/}
AID="0"
START=5

PORT="2222"
DOM="/home/dom/dominions3/dom3"

$DOM -S -T --port $PORT $GAME --era $ERA --mapfile $MAP \
-q --indepstr 9 --uploadmaxp $START --diffai $AID --enablemod $MOD --postexec $BUP


vfb September 18th, 2009 03:58 AM

Re: Linux Admining
 
Did you try this?

BUP="rsync -a /home/dom/dominions3/savedgames/* /backup/"


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:38 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2024, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.