.com.unity Forums

.com.unity Forums (http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/index.php)
-   Dominions 3: The Awakening (http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/forumdisplay.php?f=138)
-   -   A new crash (http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/showthread.php?t=48922)

Loren June 21st, 2012 08:29 PM

A new crash
 
The Nagot gick fel box, it says:

lic: bad lnr

It happens during the AI turn phase.

Soyweiser June 22nd, 2012 10:43 AM

Re: A new crash
 
Look, for us to help you we need a lot more information.

You now basically said:

It doesn't work anymore.

What machine are you using, what age, mods, how long was the game running, any other relevant information you can think about?

Loren June 22nd, 2012 12:24 PM

Re: A new crash
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Soyweiser (Post 806870)
Look, for us to help you we need a lot more information.

You now basically said:

It doesn't work anymore.

When a problem has been seen many times the error message is often enough to ID it. Since the message isn't in English I have no idea of how informative or not it might be.

Quote:

What machine are you using, what age, mods, how long was the game running, any other relevant information you can think about?
Win7, just over a year old.

Mods: Better independents, Endgame diversity.

Running: It's reproducible--load the turn and it will crash every time.

Soyweiser June 23rd, 2012 08:54 AM

Re: A new crash
 
It is an error message. Even when in english it is hard.

Also, how long has your game been running (two turns, ten turns, 303 years). Is it MP/SP, which versions of the mods are you using? Did you buy the game or pirate it? (Copy protection issues will not be supported ;) ). What version of the game are you running? Etc. (Look, when I ask for more information, I really appreciate if you give it to me. You didn't even answer half the questions I asked).

Did you already search the forum for this error message? Google?

Run the game using the debug flags. What lnr is the error message talking about? (And is this the only information the error message gives or is there also a number behind the lnr).

Loren June 23rd, 2012 01:07 PM

Re: A new crash
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Soyweiser (Post 806904)
It is an error message. Even when in english it is hard.

Also, how long has your game been running (two turns, ten turns, 303 years).

Year 12.

Quote:

Is it MP/SP, which versions of the mods are you using?
SP, Better Independents is 2.1, Endgame diversity doesn't show a version #.

Quote:

Did you buy the game or pirate it? (Copy protection issues will not be supported ;) ).
Legit.

Quote:

What version of the game are you running?
Version 3.26.

Quote:

Etc. (Look, when I ask for more information, I really appreciate if you give it to me. You didn't even answer half the questions I asked).
I thought I answered them all.

Quote:

Did you already search the forum for this error message? Google?
Google returns this thread only.

Quote:

Run the game using the debug flags. What lnr is the error message talking about? (And is this the only information the error message gives or is there also a number behind the lnr).
There's no number. Here's the last lines of the debug log:

Udum'ukinna (str1093) attacking Rim Mountains (str312) (good 218)
Etimmu (str586) attacking Rim Mountains (str312) (good 20)
Ishu'kallu tag (good 1)
Kush'nah tag (good 95)
ai_recruitcom
ai_recruitcom
createslist lnr 420
ai_recruitcom
createslist lnr 289
Något gick fel!
lic: bad lnr
flushopengl
mem ok
DeinitPrint
freeing old texobjs

Valerius June 23rd, 2012 01:18 PM

Re: A new crash
 
I found this thread. Maybe try deleting your license key and entering the key again?

Soyweiser June 23rd, 2012 08:52 PM

Re: A new crash
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Loren (Post 806913)
...

Year 12.

...

Udum'ukinna (str1093) attacking Rim Mountains (str312) (good 218)
Etimmu (str586) attacking Rim Mountains (str312) (good 20)
Ishu'kallu tag (good 1)
Kush'nah tag (good 95)
ai_recruitcom
ai_recruitcom
createslist lnr 420
ai_recruitcom
createslist lnr 289
Något gick fel!
lic: bad lnr
...

Thanks for all the information.

Etimmu, that means LA Ermor.

Year 12. Let me guess, you also play at a huge map? I think the game ran out of commanders you can recruit. There is a max for this. Try playing the turn again, and try to get as much of your own commanders killed as possible (and don't recruit any new ones). If you can now play a few more turns before the problem arises you have the cause of the problem.

You should upgrade to 3.27 as it fixes a few bugs:

* Utterdark did far too many attacks, fixed.
* Recruitment queues are automatically reset once a fort is under siege.
* 2 x Crash during turn generation fixed.
* Fixed bug where AI would cast vengeance of the dead on empty provinces.

Loren June 24th, 2012 11:03 AM

Re: A new crash
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Soyweiser (Post 806932)
Quote:

Originally Posted by Loren (Post 806913)
...

Year 12.

...

Udum'ukinna (str1093) attacking Rim Mountains (str312) (good 218)
Etimmu (str586) attacking Rim Mountains (str312) (good 20)
Ishu'kallu tag (good 1)
Kush'nah tag (good 95)
ai_recruitcom
ai_recruitcom
createslist lnr 420
ai_recruitcom
createslist lnr 289
Något gick fel!
lic: bad lnr
...

Thanks for all the information.

Etimmu, that means LA Ermor.

Year 12. Let me guess, you also play at a huge map? I think the game ran out of commanders you can recruit. There is a max for this. Try playing the turn again, and try to get as much of your own commanders killed as possible (and don't recruit any new ones). If you can now play a few more turns before the problem arises you have the cause of the problem.

Yeah--I was trying an experiment. I was attempting to win as a peaceful Ermor--not attacking (at least openly--globals and anonymous attack spells are allowed) any other player, period, even if attacked.

Quote:

You should upgrade to 3.27 as it fixes a few bugs:

* Utterdark did far too many attacks, fixed.
* Recruitment queues are automatically reset once a fort is under siege.
* 2 x Crash during turn generation fixed.
* Fixed bug where AI would cast vengeance of the dead on empty provinces.
I didn't realize I wasn't current. I'll patch.

Loren June 24th, 2012 06:56 PM

Re: A new crash
 
Patched, still the same crash.

Soyweiser June 25th, 2012 06:16 AM

Re: A new crash
 
did you try the reduction of commanders thing? at 12 years with LA ermor, there is a computer resource running out :D.

Loren June 25th, 2012 04:49 PM

Re: A new crash
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Soyweiser (Post 807005)
did you try the reduction of commanders thing? at 12 years with LA ermor, there is a computer resource running out :D.

There's no way to reduce commanders. It's crashing before any battles take place.

nordlys June 29th, 2012 05:49 AM

Re: A new crash
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Loren (Post 807088)
There's no way to reduce commanders. It's crashing before any battles take place.

http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/showt...inal+sacrifice

try modding in this one, and casting it on a province with lots of units.

(argh, Dominions have been crashing on unit overflow since the days of PPP. How many more years and series' iterations have to pass until it is finally programmed to just cease recruiting, summoning and generating troops when the limit is reached instead of crashing outright?)

Loren June 29th, 2012 12:24 PM

Re: A new crash
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by nordlys (Post 807369)
Quote:

Originally Posted by Loren (Post 807088)
There's no way to reduce commanders. It's crashing before any battles take place.

http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/showt...inal+sacrifice

try modding in this one, and casting it on a province with lots of units.

(argh, Dominions have been crashing on unit overflow since the days of PPP. How many more years and series' iterations have to pass until it is finally programmed to just cease recruiting, summoning and generating troops when the limit is reached instead of crashing outright?)

I wish it would stop a little before the limit so at least the anonymous attack spells could still work.

lch July 7th, 2012 06:49 AM

Re: A new crash
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Loren (Post 806842)
The Nagot gick fel box, it says:

lic: bad lnr

It happens during the AI turn phase.

Let's deconstruct this error message: The first part, "lic", specifies where the bug occured. In this case it's the function which tests if a land is a coastal province. The second part, "bad lnr", says that the input parameter for this function is wrong. If I understand this correctly, this would be the case for all provinces with a negative ID number. In Dominions3, the only provinces that have this are the special ones like Inferno, Cocytos and the Void.

Not knowing your game, I'd suppose that some mage ended up in one of those provinces and is trying to cast a spell that only works in coastal provinces. When the game checks if that is valid, it crashes. You should email your game files to Illwinter so they can analyse the situation.

Loren July 7th, 2012 11:57 AM

Re: A new crash
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by lch (Post 808038)
Quote:

Originally Posted by Loren (Post 806842)
The Nagot gick fel box, it says:

lic: bad lnr

It happens during the AI turn phase.

Let's deconstruct this error message: The first part, "lic", specifies where the bug occured. In this case it's the function which tests if a land is a coastal province. The second part, "bad lnr", says that the input parameter for this function is wrong. If I understand this correctly, this would be the case for all provinces with a negative ID number. In Dominions3, the only provinces that have this are the special ones like Inferno, Cocytos and the Void.

Not knowing your game, I'd suppose that some mage ended up in one of those provinces and is trying to cast a spell that only works in coastal provinces. When the game checks if that is valid, it crashes. You should email your game files to Illwinter so they can analyse the situation.

Thank you! Finally some understanding!

JonBrave July 7th, 2012 04:13 PM

Re: A new crash
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by lch (Post 808038)
Quote:

Originally Posted by Loren (Post 806842)
The Nagot gick fel box, it says:

lic: bad lnr

It happens during the AI turn phase.

Let's deconstruct this error message: The first part, "lic", specifies where the bug occured. In this case it's the function which tests if a land is a coastal province. The second part, "bad lnr", says that the input parameter for this function is wrong. If I understand this correctly, this would be the case for all provinces with a negative ID number. In Dominions3, the only provinces that have this are the special ones like Inferno, Cocytos and the Void.

Not knowing your game, I'd suppose that some mage ended up in one of those provinces and is trying to cast a spell that only works in coastal provinces. When the game checks if that is valid, it crashes. You should email your game files to Illwinter so they can analyse the situation.

But what in the world does the "Nagot gick fel box" bit mean? Isn't that what is important :confused:

July 7th, 2012 04:43 PM

Re: A new crash
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JonBrave (Post 808071)
But what in the world does the "Nagot gick fel box" bit mean? Isn't that what is important :confused:

It literally means "Something went wrong" IIRC.

Gandalf Parker July 7th, 2012 05:03 PM

Re: A new crash
 
The developers are Swedish. This game was originally written (the Dom1 version was started) before it become common to pop up ERROR before saying what went wrong

JonBrave July 7th, 2012 05:36 PM

Re: A new crash
 
http://tjuvtittat.se/forpackningar/n...oglade-namnet/

??:eek:

lch July 11th, 2012 08:28 AM

Re: A new crash
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Loren (Post 808054)
Thank you! Finally some understanding!

I can't assure that this is really the reason for the bug though, only what I understand from looking at the code for the error message. It might be wholly different things, when I look at the debug logs you pasted. Only Illwinter will be able to say for sure, which is why you should send the save file to them. Maybe you really stumbled over some yet-unknown bug.

Loren July 11th, 2012 06:43 PM

Re: A new crash
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by lch (Post 808222)
Quote:

Originally Posted by Loren (Post 808054)
Thank you! Finally some understanding!

I can't assure that this is really the reason for the bug though, only what I understand from looking at the code for the error message. It might be wholly different things, when I look at the debug logs you pasted. Only Illwinter will be able to say for sure, which is why you should send the save file to them. Maybe you really stumbled over some yet-unknown bug.

I've sent it, I got an acknowledgement that they got it but no response beyond that yet.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:34 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2022, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.