.com.unity Forums

.com.unity Forums (http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/index.php)
-   Dungeon Odyssey (http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/forumdisplay.php?f=44)
-   -   Lord of the rings module (http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/showthread.php?t=15085)

Rollo May 12th, 2003 02:17 PM

Re: Lord of the rings module
 
Quote:

Originally posted by henk brouwer:
Maybe you could even use the keys later in the module, (give wizards acces to 'special' shops with magic stuff, that other characters shouldn't have etc) I can't look into the text files from where I am, but that would require a key that isn't 'consumed' on use. I'm not sure whether that is possible or not...
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Helvetica, sans-serif">I am not 100% sure, but I think keys are always consumed when used. You could of course add multiple keys to the starting characters. Enough supply to open all the 'character specific' doors in the game.
But I have to point out that this a very imperfect solution, becuase of Thieves lockpicking.

If restricting certain items to classes that can be done as a restriction of the item itself:
Requirement Type, Class Required.

Quote:

Originally posted by bearclaw:
graphics needed: elves, ents
I was also concidering a darker, more overgrown look for Fangorn, but the standard woods would do.

<font size="2" face="Verdana, Helvetica, sans-serif">As Henk already suggested, check out the forest in Hack and Slash. It has elves and ents and has a somewhat darker feel. With just a few tweaks to the trees that are allowed for random selection, it can also be made even darker.

Quote:

Originally posted by bearclaw:
Thanks. I haven't had the time to go through your Hack and Slash mod yet (although I have tried it a few times. Very nice indeed).

I've come across a new problem though, There is a set of fields in the XXXX_Tiles.txt file to set the connection type for the N,E,S,W sides of a tile. Are these not enabled? Because they don't seem to do what they are suppose to.

And another thing. I've done the Terrain and Tile files for the Starting Chamber map (where you choose which door to pass depending on your charcter) and Hobbiton. But in the Mapgen utility, I only have access to the Hobbiton Tile file instead of both of the one's I've got so far. Any suggestions?

<font size="2" face="Verdana, Helvetica, sans-serif">If you want just a quick look at the forest, but don't have much time: Go to \Hack and Slash\Data\ModuleData.txt and change 'Starting map' from 2 to 20 http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/images/icons/icon7.gif .

I am not sure what exactly your problem is with the connections and the placement of the tiles in Mapgen. Please post all relevant files here or send them to me per email (snickelsen@web.de). I can have a look at them, if you wish.

Rollo

henk brouwer May 12th, 2003 02:52 PM

Re: Lord of the rings module
 
The screenshots I promised earlier are posted in the "Sneak Preview" thread.

henk brouwer May 13th, 2003 01:59 AM

Re: Lord of the rings module
 
Quote:

Originally posted by bearclaw:
Thanks. I haven't had the time to go through your Hack and Slash mod yet (although I have tried it a few times. Very nice indeed).
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Helvetica, sans-serif">The hack and Slash Mod was done by Rollo, not by me. It's a great mod especially some of the new levels

Quote:



I've come across a new problem though, There is a set of fields in the XXXX_Tiles.txt file to set the connection type for the N,E,S,W sides of a tile. Are these not enabled? Because they don't seem to do what they are suppose to.


<font size="2" face="Verdana, Helvetica, sans-serif">They should work. The mapgenerator uses these connection types when generating a map. It will make sure that a north connection that is set to one will conect to a south connection that is set to 1 on another tile, simmillar for other directions.

The mapgenerator will make mistakes When you only have a very small tiles.txt file, or when it can't find tiles with connection types it needs, in such cases it may place tiles on locations where they shouldn't be according to their connection types.

You may also want to double check that you didn't accidently set the connection types wrong.. happens a lot to me http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/images/icons/blush.gif

Quote:



And another thing. I've done the Terrain and Tile files for the Starting Chamber map (where you choose which door to pass depending on your charcter) and Hobbiton. But in the Mapgen utility, I only have access to the Hobbiton Tile file instead of both of the one's I've got so far. Any suggestions?

<font size="2" face="Verdana, Helvetica, sans-serif">Strange.. are you sure the file isn't misnamed? I think it has to end with _tiles.txt . Is the header section present in both the text files? (the section which has the lines about preset tile-locations etc)

Hope this helps.. http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/images/icons/icon7.gif

bearclaw May 15th, 2003 09:32 PM

Re: Lord of the rings module
 
Quote:

Originally posted by bearclaw:
I've done the Terrain and Tile files for the Starting Chamber map (where you choose which door to pass depending on your charcter) and Hobbiton. But in the Mapgen utility, I only have access to the Hobbiton Tile file instead of both of the one's I've got so far. Any suggestions?
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Helvetica, sans-serif">Alright. Found the problem with this error. I forgot the 's' on the end of _Tiles.

Ooops. Fixed now.

But now there is another problem. For 2 tile sets (Starting Chamber and the Shire map) the mapgen won't access the Terrain files for either of these. The third map I have (Hobbiton) works just fine except that the terrain file has to be "hobbiton-terrain.txt" instead of "hobbiton_terrain.txt". Strange. Any ideas? And yes, I've already checked, checked and re-checked for spelling errors.

Rollo May 16th, 2003 03:51 AM

Re: Lord of the rings module
 
Quote:

Originally posted by bearclaw:
...And yes, I've already checked, checked and re-checked for spelling errors.
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Helvetica, sans-serif">Hey Bearclaw,
I looked at your files and located the problems. I hate to say it, but there were indeed spelling errors that caused this.
Fixed files should be in your mailbox by now.

Have fun, http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/images/icons/icon7.gif
Rollo

bearclaw May 17th, 2003 04:07 PM

Re: Lord of the rings module
 
http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/images/icons/shock.gif thanks http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/images/icons/shock.gif

bearclaw May 26th, 2003 11:14 AM

Re: Lord of the rings module
 
I must be getting better at modding. Done 2 complete maps without needing any assistance!!! Yah for me!!

But now I've run into another situation. There don't seem to be any terrain pics appropriate for Rivendell (which is the map I'm about to start work on.) Is there anyone with any sort of graphics experaince willing to do up some pics for me? I don't need the actual terrains created, just some things like walls and such that I can use to create the terrains I'll need.

Any takers? My CG skills are... well, nil.

henk brouwer March 6th, 2004 11:04 AM

Re: Lord of the rings module
 
-BUMP-
just to make this a bit easier to find..

Quote:

Originally posted by bearclaw:
Graphics Needed:
Characters
-Hobbits
-Dwarves
-elves
-Nazgul (horse and winged)
-Ents
-Tenticals (for the Pool outside Moria)
-Balrog
-Worgs
-Shelob
-Plus special ones for the main characters

Terrain
-Mordor
-Dead Marshes
-The Shire
-Paths of the Dead

Towns (I'm thinking of 2 kinds of graphics for each town. One for the 'outside' view, and one for terrain inside each town.)
-Rivendell
-Lorien
-Edoras
-Minas Tirith
-Minas Morgul
-Bree (probably not nessesary)
-Hobbiton
-Henith Anon (again, probably not nessesary)
-Orthac
-Dunharrow
-The Black Gate of Mordor
-WeatherTop (just 'outside' view)

Others
-Eye of Sauron
-Mithiral Items
-Lembas
-Numemor Unique Items

These are just what I thought of while listening to LOTR on tape. If there are more ideas and/or submissions, I won't say no. http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/images/icons/icon7.gif I was also concidering a darker, more overgrown look for Fangorn, but the standard woods would do.

<font size="2" face="sans-serif, arial, verdana">

bearclaw March 7th, 2004 08:26 AM

Re: Lord of the rings module
 
Thanks! Just an update. Turns out that my wife, unknowingly, tossed out the papers that I had done many notes on, so I've been set back a bit. Well, more than a bit. But not completely. I'm just putting the finishing touches on my Dark Nova 3 Mod for SEIV Gold, and then I'm gonna focus on this one. I've got 2 another 2 weeks traveling spending evenings in a hotel, so the time is there. I'll start putting regular updates and/or assistance requests up probably by Tuesday. In the meantime, feel free to make any suggestions of what you would like to see in a LOTR mod. Can't promise anything but some ideas might spurn me to action http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/images/icons/icon6.gif

henk brouwer March 8th, 2004 12:26 PM

Re: Lord of the rings module
 
I've mannaged to put together some hobbit pictures. Is the email in your profile still valid? If so I'll send them there.

(Does anyone know how you can upload stuff in the mod forums? It seems to have changed, and I can't find an upload/attach function anywhere http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/images/icons/icon9.gif , I had some other pictures (not LOTR related) that I wanted to upload.)

[ March 08, 2004, 11:03: Message edited by: henk brouwer ]


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:03 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2022, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.