.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

BCT Commander- Save $5.00
winSPWW2- Save $6.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > The Camo Workshop > WinSPMBT
Notices


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old February 27th, 2021, 05:44 AM
Aeraaa's Avatar

Aeraaa Aeraaa is offline
Second Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 485
Thanks: 134
Thanked 284 Times in 171 Posts
Aeraaa is on a distinguished road
Default A minor question which always bothered me

OK, so we all know that a squad that is getting destroyed not always loses all of their men. With 75% losses, the survivors have a big probability of dispersing and the squad is practically kaput. What I want to know is are the survivors dispersing count into the final casualty tally or no?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old February 27th, 2021, 06:42 AM
Mobhack's Avatar

Mobhack Mobhack is offline
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dundee
Posts: 5,644
Thanks: 171
Thanked 1,556 Times in 1,050 Posts
Mobhack is on a distinguished road
Default Re: A minor question which always bothered me

If an element disperses, its a destroyed unit. If a unit causes them to disperse (say by area fire into thier hex, they retreat and decide to disperse) a kill is credited to the unit that triggered the dispersal.
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Mobhack For This Useful Post:
  #3  
Old February 27th, 2021, 07:15 AM
Imp's Avatar

Imp Imp is offline
General
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Uk
Posts: 3,286
Thanks: 95
Thanked 592 Times in 470 Posts
Imp is on a distinguished road
Default Re: A minor question which always bothered me

Yes they are counted plus you get the bonus points for a destroyed unit.

They are assumed to try & hide as no longer an effective unit.
Therefore there fate is killed, captured or if lucky they manage to escape unscathed so all the men in that unit are listed as KIA
__________________
John
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Imp For This Useful Post:
  #4  
Old February 27th, 2021, 08:23 AM
Aeraaa's Avatar

Aeraaa Aeraaa is offline
Second Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 485
Thanks: 134
Thanked 284 Times in 171 Posts
Aeraaa is on a distinguished road
Default Re: A minor question which always bothered me

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mobhack View Post
If an element disperses, its a destroyed unit. If a unit causes them to disperse (say by area fire into thier hex, they retreat and decide to disperse) a kill is credited to the unit that triggered the dispersal.
No, that's not what I wanted to know. I'll try to make myself more clear.

Say, we have a battle where one side has a 12 man rifle squad. They get fired upon and lose 9 men and as a result, the survivors disperse. In the final casualty screen, will the screen show 9 or 12 men as losses?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old February 27th, 2021, 08:55 AM
Mobhack's Avatar

Mobhack Mobhack is offline
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dundee
Posts: 5,644
Thanks: 171
Thanked 1,556 Times in 1,050 Posts
Mobhack is on a distinguished road
Default Re: A minor question which always bothered me

The game does not care about "men" really other than a unit that gets to 0 crew is dead. It workis in damage points, which with soft elements usually ties up with the number of crew damaged.

If a rifle sectiion of 12 men survives, but has 9 damage points then the enemy get 9 points. If it dispersed then the enemy would get the full value of the destroyed section (say 23 points).

Vehicle damage is even less related to crew "casualties", since the *'s inflicted dont necessarily tally with the number of crew lost, if any. If a tank has 10* damage but survives then the enemy gets 10 points, if it is destroyed (and if the crew bail it is destroyed if they are killed, or the force was defeated while the crew was out) then the full points value of say 90. Crews have no intrinsic value - but they do represent thier vehicle so using them as "free" scouts is not advised.
Reply With Quote
The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to Mobhack For This Useful Post:
  #6  
Old February 27th, 2021, 03:14 PM
Aeraaa's Avatar

Aeraaa Aeraaa is offline
Second Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 485
Thanks: 134
Thanked 284 Times in 171 Posts
Aeraaa is on a distinguished road
Default Re: A minor question which always bothered me

OK, so I decided to test it. Made a small scenario in SPWW2 where I bought a British platoon and attacked 4 German MMG groups. I put all squads but one+HQ outside of the map, game length 5 turns, saved the scenario and started it. Obviously the lone squad was cut to shreds, lost 8 men and dispersed. In the final screen total losses for the British side were 10 men, thus the two guys that were not immediate casualties were counted into the final tally (plus the full score for the lost squad, indeed 23 points).

Job's done, question answered. Thank you guys for the answers btw
Reply With Quote
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to Aeraaa For This Useful Post:
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2021, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.