.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

BCT Commander- Save $5.00
winSPWW2- Save $5.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > Illwinter Game Design > Dominions 3: The Awakening

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old July 6th, 2009, 10:23 AM
Hugh Manatee's Avatar

Hugh Manatee Hugh Manatee is offline
Second Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 470
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hugh Manatee is on a distinguished road
Bug The graphics are all messed up.

It's been awhile since I've played and I figured I'd load in a quick game, but whenever I start the thing the opening screen is mostly black except a little 3D bit at the horizon(like there's either no lighting or textures in the scene), there's an outline of a menu visible but I can't tell what I'm clicking...

Any idea what's going on?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old July 6th, 2009, 10:57 AM
vladikus's Avatar

vladikus vladikus is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Virginia, United States
Posts: 151
Thanks: 32
Thanked 62 Times in 21 Posts
vladikus is on a distinguished road
Default Re: The graphics are all messed up.

My advice would be to reinstall the game, update to the latest patch, and then make sure your graphic drivers are updated. If they are already up to date, I would suggest reinstalling the drivers anyway.

Also, I would go to the preferences->video menu in-game and restore default settings, and then alter them based on your card and everything. I hope this works.
__________________
Debian 6.0.4

Game Master Mod
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old July 8th, 2009, 09:25 AM
jimkehn's Avatar

jimkehn jimkehn is offline
Second Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 559
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
jimkehn is on a distinguished road
Default Re: The graphics are all messed up.

I had this happen when I installed the game on my Vista laptop. I havent updated video drivers but I think they are the latest. Never could figure out what the deal is.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old July 20th, 2009, 11:27 PM
Hugh Manatee's Avatar

Hugh Manatee Hugh Manatee is offline
Second Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 470
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hugh Manatee is on a distinguished road
Default Re: The graphics are all messed up.

yeah, latest drivers, reinstall, no dice, guess the game just doesn't ike geforce 4 integrated....
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old July 21st, 2009, 11:03 AM
vladikus's Avatar

vladikus vladikus is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Virginia, United States
Posts: 151
Thanks: 32
Thanked 62 Times in 21 Posts
vladikus is on a distinguished road
Default Re: The graphics are all messed up.

I hate to give up. You might try changing the compatibility mode for the Dominions shortcut so that it runs under Windows XP compatibility mode.

In XP, I right click the icon, go to properties, then choose the compatibility tab and then run the program.
__________________
Debian 6.0.4

Game Master Mod
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old July 23rd, 2009, 06:22 PM

P3D P3D is offline
Sergeant
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 353
Thanks: 10
Thanked 14 Times in 6 Posts
P3D is on a distinguished road
Default Re: The graphics are all messed up.

Had the same problem. I assumed that the drivers were updated for my Summer 2008 laptop with Vista. They were not. I did the update and now dom3 runs without problem. So, unless you manually updated the drivers assume they are out of date.

However, I could run it windowed even with the not updated drivers. "Reduced" mode, manageable interface but still screwed up battle replays.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2021, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.