.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

BCT Commander- Save $5.00
winSPWW2- Save $5.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > Illwinter Game Design > Dominions 3: The Awakening

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old April 22nd, 2012, 01:12 PM
jimkehn's Avatar

jimkehn jimkehn is offline
Second Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 559
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
jimkehn is on a distinguished road
Default GUI Question

A long time player of D3 but a recent returnee (if thats a word lol) I know there is a way to resize the commander icon boxes on the left side of the strategic screen. Mine are way too big once I get a bunch of mages etc in a province. Plz help me remember how to make those icon boxes smaller.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old April 22nd, 2012, 02:03 PM
Vishniac's Avatar

Vishniac Vishniac is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 62
Thanks: 7
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Vishniac is on a distinguished road
Default Re: GUI Question

You can resize the commander boxes with ">" or "<"
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Vishniac For This Useful Post:
  #3  
Old April 22nd, 2012, 02:27 PM
jimkehn's Avatar

jimkehn jimkehn is offline
Second Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 559
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
jimkehn is on a distinguished road
Default Re: GUI Question

thank you so much.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old April 22nd, 2012, 03:14 PM
jimkehn's Avatar

jimkehn jimkehn is offline
Second Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 559
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
jimkehn is on a distinguished road
Default Re: GUI Question

OK....one more....if u are going to repeat a ritual spell such as conjuring vine men or magic site searches...how do u make them recurring so u dont have to do it every time??? I have forgotten that one as well.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old April 22nd, 2012, 03:18 PM

Immaculate Immaculate is offline
Captain
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 992
Thanks: 47
Thanked 23 Times in 19 Posts
Immaculate is on a distinguished road
Default Re: GUI Question

push 'm'. all these commands can be seen if you push the '?' button.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old April 22nd, 2012, 04:34 PM
jimkehn's Avatar

jimkehn jimkehn is offline
Second Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 559
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
jimkehn is on a distinguished road
Default Re: GUI Question

Oh ok...on the keyboard...sheesh....so blond here

Last edited by jimkehn; April 22nd, 2012 at 04:46 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old April 29th, 2012, 04:34 AM

JonBrave JonBrave is offline
Second Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 546
Thanks: 100
Thanked 10 Times in 8 Posts
JonBrave is on a distinguished road
Default Re: GUI Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Immaculate View Post
push 'm'. all these commands can be seen if you push the '?' button.
It's Shift-M (uppercase) for Monthly Ritual (lowercase m is read messages). And, no, there isn't any key for Forge Monthly, unfortunately....
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old April 29th, 2012, 08:09 AM
Gandalf Parker's Avatar

Gandalf Parker Gandalf Parker is offline
Shrapnel Fanatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Vacaville, CA, USA
Posts: 13,736
Thanks: 341
Thanked 479 Times in 326 Posts
Gandalf Parker is on a distinguished road
Default Re: GUI Question

Altho like many games you can fake something like "forge monthly" by using a 3rd party to record keystrokes and assign them to a keypress like Ctrl-M. Any game that will make room for a 3rd party software to run at the same time eventually does it. Usually online worlds to allow "farming" a skill.
__________________
-- DISCLAIMER:
This game is NOT suitable for students, interns, apprentices, or anyone else who is expected to pass tests on a regular basis. Do not think about strategies while operating heavy machinery. Before beginning this game make arrangements for someone to check on you daily. If you find that your game has continued for more than 36 hours straight then you should consult a physician immediately (Do NOT show him the game!)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old May 1st, 2012, 08:14 PM
jimkehn's Avatar

jimkehn jimkehn is offline
Second Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 559
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
jimkehn is on a distinguished road
Default Re: GUI Question

Also it seems there was a simple way to copy battle commands and past them to other commanders for like minded mages and priests to cast the same sequence of spells...am I remembering that right?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old May 1st, 2012, 11:07 PM
Vanguard X's Avatar

Vanguard X Vanguard X is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Coming soon to a battlefield near you
Posts: 48
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Vanguard X is on a distinguished road
Default Re: GUI Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimkehn View Post
Also it seems there was a simple way to copy battle commands and past them to other commanders for like minded mages and priests to cast the same sequence of spells...am I remembering that right?
ctl. + number keys 1-9 while hovering your cursor over a command list copies the commands. Press number 1-9 to paste the copied commands onto another command line, while hovering your cursor over the command line.

You can also set up a template of orders, and battlefield placement or regular troops too. Troops remember their orders, and field placement when you move them to a different commander, but only if you drop them directly onto the commander icon. If you just mix them in with other troops, they forget their old orders, and use the orders, and placement of the squad they are joining instead.

So you can set up 1 commander, with 5 squads of 1 troop in each squad, set up with your orders, and placement. Then add new units into these squads so that they "learn" the orders for that squad. Then move the "learned" troops to a 2nd commander, (dropping the troops on his icon) and your orders, and field position will be carried with them to the 2nd commander. Leave 1 troop behind in the 1st squad, so your orders will still be set up for the next batch of new troops to repeat the process later if needed.

Last edited by Vanguard X; May 1st, 2012 at 11:22 PM..
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2021, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.