.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

Bronze- Save $10.00
winSPMBT: Main Battle Tank- Save $5.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > The Camo Workshop > WinSPMBT
Notices


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old December 29th, 2021, 02:11 PM

Dion Dion is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Saline, Michigan, USA
Posts: 131
Thanks: 59
Thanked 21 Times in 17 Posts
Dion is on a distinguished road
Default Stack Movement?

Is there anyway to move units in stacks? I can only move units one at a time. Makes the game a choir to play, as it takes a few hours to play one turn and a few weeks to play each game, not to mention aching wrists. I know the game has a move all button, but that moves all the units in a general direction, regardless if you want each unit to move or not, breaking up the stacks in the process.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old December 29th, 2021, 02:38 PM
Mobhack's Avatar

Mobhack Mobhack is offline
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dundee
Posts: 5,693
Thanks: 178
Thanked 1,617 Times in 1,081 Posts
Mobhack is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Stack Movement?

There is no stack movement, and it would need a complete rewrite of the code from the ground up to implement.

All opfire is based on individual movement - which unit of the stack should an opfiring enemy unit fire at?. Would be one such question for example. Or all of them? And if so, how to implement that mechanism.

What movement penalty applies to a stack of say foot and including a tank? Would slower units fall out of the stack?

Basically, you are asking for a total rewrite of a game that did not even originally allow you to stack units (other than when a vehicle dropped its passengers).
Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Mobhack For This Useful Post:
  #3  
Old December 31st, 2021, 04:48 PM
DRG's Avatar

DRG DRG is offline
Shrapnel Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: GWN
Posts: 10,895
Thanks: 2,661
Thanked 4,113 Times in 2,051 Posts
DRG will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Stack Movement?

It may seem simple but moving more than one at a time bumps into a host of basic game bedrock coding........ The game was designed from the beginning to deal with "one unit at a time".... that's why only one aircraft can enter, make an attack run and has to leave the map before the next one can make it's run-in.

Move a stack of units and it's opfired on would require a significant code adjustment with an unknown number of knock - off "gotchas".

After tweaking other peoples code for almost a quarter century the desire to re-invent the wheel is not as strong as it once was
__________________

Last edited by DRG; December 31st, 2021 at 04:56 PM..
Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to DRG For This Useful Post:
  #4  
Old December 31st, 2021, 04:53 PM
Mobhack's Avatar

Mobhack Mobhack is offline
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dundee
Posts: 5,693
Thanks: 178
Thanked 1,617 Times in 1,081 Posts
Mobhack is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Stack Movement?

Yep - our code triggers opfire for every unit that unloads from a vehicle.

The original SP code only opfired at one of the units if several debussed, cannot recollect if it was the first one out or the last one.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Mobhack For This Useful Post:
  #5  
Old January 4th, 2022, 01:20 PM

jp10 jp10 is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
Posts: 167
Thanks: 21
Thanked 64 Times in 46 Posts
jp10 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Stack Movement?

I find that if you really want the feel of a battalion or brigade leader you should move all your sub-units by 'Move All' commands. This rewards staying within command radius and forces shorter movement clicks to keep units together. Infantry no longer seems to be running at full speed everywhere. Units get 'lost' and slow down the whole formation. You need to lengthen any scenario by about 10 turns but it is a much more realistic 'battalion commander' feel IMO. For a better brigade commander feel try setting sub-units to AI control with movement objectives. It gives more of a "Here's my plan" "What the heck happened?" approach to your command level.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old January 4th, 2022, 10:40 PM
Imp's Avatar

Imp Imp is offline
General
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Uk
Posts: 3,299
Thanks: 97
Thanked 600 Times in 475 Posts
Imp is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Stack Movement?

It breaks up the stacks because there is a move penalty to enter a hex containing a unit so open ground with infantry for example they all string out in a few turns.
Not to mention its not great if they get fired on generally avoiding stacked units is a good idea.
__________________
John
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Imp For This Useful Post:
  #7  
Old January 7th, 2022, 08:12 AM

KAreil KAreil is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 82
Thanks: 74
Thanked 22 Times in 17 Posts
KAreil is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Stack Movement?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jp10 View Post
I find that if you really want the feel of a battalion or brigade leader you should move all your sub-units by 'Move All' commands. This rewards staying within command radius and forces shorter movement clicks to keep units together. Infantry no longer seems to be running at full speed everywhere. Units get 'lost' and slow down the whole formation. You need to lengthen any scenario by about 10 turns but it is a much more realistic 'battalion commander' feel IMO. For a better brigade commander feel try setting sub-units to AI control with movement objectives. It gives more of a "Here's my plan" "What the heck happened?" approach to your command level.

Can you elaborate what exactly you mean with "Move all" commands?

I'm aware that I can assign waypoints to sub units in the HQ screen and that they execute these orders if I activate AI for them. However I don't know of any other command to order more than one unit.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old January 7th, 2022, 09:15 AM
DRG's Avatar

DRG DRG is offline
Shrapnel Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: GWN
Posts: 10,895
Thanks: 2,661
Thanked 4,113 Times in 2,051 Posts
DRG will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Stack Movement?

From the Game Guide just above Artillery Bombardment Screens, including Air Unit Handling


Quote:

A


Selects the 'All Formation' mode. This is very useful if you wish to set the targeting range of an entire formation with the 'Y' key OR if you wish to move an entire formation to a specific point but it is VERY important to remember that you cannot undo a group move so Remember to toggle this off after the 'Y' operation, or the next time you try to move a unit, the entire formation will move simultaneously under AI control and you will be stuck with that move
They don't actually move "simultaneously" but once you select that and click on the hex you want to move to they will all move towards that hex in sequence and there is no stopping or changing (undo) after they have moved there so you need to know where your units are and be careful with it.

It can be really handy for moving units down a road that is not in the enemy's LOS and it can be handy if find you have units from a formation spread too far away from each other and you can use "A" to select a point they can move towards to get the unit back together.

Build a simple test scenario first and observe how it works and experiment If you are far behind the lines you can get away with picking a distant hex to get them moving in that direction but if you do use it nearer the front only click on one hex in front of the lead unit. It can be a bit unpredicable and that is why short moves are best generally
__________________

Last edited by DRG; January 7th, 2022 at 09:33 AM..
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to DRG For This Useful Post:
  #9  
Old January 7th, 2022, 10:35 AM

KAreil KAreil is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 82
Thanks: 74
Thanked 22 Times in 17 Posts
KAreil is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Stack Movement?

Thanks!
Tried it and seems a bit quirky...but it is at least useful for setting targetting range,... wasn't aware of the 'A' key at all...my bad.

For a more delegated experience I think will stick with giving waypoints and let the AI do the walking.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old January 8th, 2022, 09:35 AM
DRG's Avatar

DRG DRG is offline
Shrapnel Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: GWN
Posts: 10,895
Thanks: 2,661
Thanked 4,113 Times in 2,051 Posts
DRG will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Stack Movement?

It's "quirky" until you understand how it works.

The last unit in the formation is always what moves first and the X0 is always what moves last so if you click on the X0 first with "A" set and order the entire formation to move to a point the last unit in the formation roster will move first and the X0 will be the last unit that moves and therefore the entire sequence will seem "quirky" if you just pick one at random unless you happen to pick the last unit in the formation

It's set up that way so the command unit isn't the first one charging in
__________________

Last edited by DRG; January 8th, 2022 at 09:47 AM..
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2022, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.