.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

Raging Tiger- Save $8.00
winSPMBT- Save $5.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > The Camo Workshop > WinSPMBT
Notices


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old March 8th, 2012, 03:59 PM

Akmatov Akmatov is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 132
Thanks: 68
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Akmatov is on a distinguished road
Default Airborne Woes

Desire to drop US Para units post 2006 and seem to only be able to drop infantry units, even though other units are labeled 'Abn'.
For example, obat12-USA Formation 052 Abn Tank Sec. This unit has no air transport assigned according to Mobhack and the in game unit screen. I've tried:

1) buying a unit and putting in on one of the C-130s that comes with the Para Plt (A)

- the tank is invisible in the Deployment Screen and while seemingly I can load the invisible tank (the C-130 shows carrying capacity used)and it seems to drop; it remains invisible and unusable, although I seen to have air dropped its crew.

2) changing the Formation values in Mobhack so the formation has an aircraft assigned.

- same problem as above.

3) changing the Formation values in Mobhack so the formation has an aircraft assigned and set the Purchase Screen to 5 - Air Transport + Troops, imitating the settings for Formation 137 Para Platoon (A).

- the Abn Tank Sec vanishes from the Purchase Screen.

Anyone have an idea as to what I'm doing wrong?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old March 9th, 2012, 12:49 PM
Mobhack's Avatar

Mobhack Mobhack is offline
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dundee
Posts: 5,750
Thanks: 197
Thanked 1,665 Times in 1,105 Posts
Mobhack is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Airborne Woes

As Imp has stated, since you have invisible icons then you probably have not upgraded, or have missed a patch.

If your vehicle does not split into crew + vehicle and drop separately requiring combination post the drop - you definitely have not upgraded the game.

As to the airborne tank section, If you want to drop those then buy a transport aircraft unit from the misc section. The [A] and {G} formations are merely there for convenience with assigned planes.

(Just tested, buying 2 striker gun system air section and a 2 Hercules section. All dropped properly, but the enemy shot the crews to pieces )


Andy
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old March 9th, 2012, 02:30 PM

Akmatov Akmatov is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 132
Thanks: 68
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Akmatov is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Airborne Woes

Thanks, I must have an upgrade problem I didn't know I had. I had tried to buy a section of transport aircraft and didn't see them available for purchase.

Will relook my upgrade situation.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old March 31st, 2012, 01:01 AM

Kurt Montandon Kurt Montandon is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 26
Thanks: 6
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Kurt Montandon is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Airborne Woes

Along the same lines - I'm doing a 1985 scenario involving air-dropped Sheridans. So the crews and tanks drop separately now ... OK, fine. But is there any new way to recrew the tanks than just "put them in the same hex and wait"? Because that seems vaguely unfair when the separation is deliberate, rather than panicked.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old March 31st, 2012, 01:34 AM
Mobhack's Avatar

Mobhack Mobhack is offline
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dundee
Posts: 5,750
Thanks: 197
Thanked 1,665 Times in 1,105 Posts
Mobhack is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Airborne Woes

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurt Montandon View Post
Along the same lines - I'm doing a 1985 scenario involving air-dropped Sheridans. So the crews and tanks drop separately now ... OK, fine. But is there any new way to recrew the tanks than just "put them in the same hex and wait"? Because that seems vaguely unfair when the separation is deliberate, rather than panicked.
In the running game, crews recombine in the admin phase at turn end, and that comes after you hit the end turn button. And you can only deliberately recombine, as crews need to be pinned or better to do so.

In the scenario deployment, you can recombine immediately with the key command if you need them together.

Cheers
Andy
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2022, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.