.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

ATF: Armored Task Force- Save $7.00
winSPMBT: Main Battle Tank- Save $5.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > The Camo Workshop > WinSPWW2
Notices


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old May 24th, 2015, 05:21 PM

Warnevada Warnevada is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 136
Thanks: 2
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Warnevada is on a distinguished road
Default PBEM Problem

I just convinced a friend of mine to play SPWW2 using PBEM. We are having a strange problem. When I originate a game everything works fine, but when he does when I try to open the game I get an error message about the obat file being out of sync. We are both on the latest version; I have the CD and he has the DL.

What's causing this, and what can be done about it?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old May 24th, 2015, 05:23 PM
DRG's Avatar

DRG DRG is offline
Shrapnel Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: GWN
Posts: 11,410
Thanks: 3,093
Thanked 4,639 Times in 2,306 Posts
DRG will become famous soon enough
Default Re: PBEM Problem

one of you may have ver 8.0 and the other 8.1. Double check with the start up screen





8.0 as released early April ....8.1 replace 8.0 in Early May
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ver 8.1.jpg
Views:	216
Size:	35.0 KB
ID:	13781  

Last edited by DRG; May 28th, 2015 at 06:52 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old May 25th, 2015, 03:11 PM

Warnevada Warnevada is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 136
Thanks: 2
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Warnevada is on a distinguished road
Default Re: PBEM Problem

My friend downloaded and installed the 8.1 patch. The version number still says 8.0 and our problem persists.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old May 25th, 2015, 04:47 PM
gila's Avatar

gila gila is offline
Captain
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 898
Thanks: 45
Thanked 60 Times in 54 Posts
gila is on a distinguished road
Default Re: PBEM Problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by Warnevada View Post
My friend downloaded and installed the 8.1 patch. The version number still says 8.0 and our problem persists.
Have you tried to get in the game after the intial setup?
If so it will cause a failure.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old May 25th, 2015, 05:29 PM
gila's Avatar

gila gila is offline
Captain
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 898
Thanks: 45
Thanked 60 Times in 54 Posts
gila is on a distinguished road
Default Re: PBEM Problem

Keep in mind,P1 just sets up sends files,P2 sets up, deploys and then moves and send files IIRC correctly.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old May 25th, 2015, 06:28 PM
Mobhack's Avatar

Mobhack Mobhack is online now
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dundee
Posts: 5,810
Thanks: 214
Thanked 1,731 Times in 1,141 Posts
Mobhack is on a distinguished road
Default Re: PBEM Problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by Warnevada View Post
My friend downloaded and installed the 8.1 patch. The version number still says 8.0 and our problem persists.
If it still says version 8 - then he did not install the patch to the correct path as his version 8. He has to point the installer to the same folder his game is currently in.

Also, I take it that he has installed outside of the /program files/.. hierarchy as we advice to do, otherwise windows after XP does strange things to patch installs - putting them in some sort of user folder and not /program files/.. itself. See the "windows vista and seven installation" sticky thread at the top of the forum (also applies to 8).

Once he has reinstalled - start the process again from scratch. Installing patches in the middle of PBEM games can toast them (especially secure mode games).

cheers
Andy
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old May 25th, 2015, 07:50 PM
DRG's Avatar

DRG DRG is offline
Shrapnel Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: GWN
Posts: 11,410
Thanks: 3,093
Thanked 4,639 Times in 2,306 Posts
DRG will become famous soon enough
Default Re: PBEM Problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by Warnevada View Post
My friend downloaded and installed the 8.1 patch. The version number still says 8.0 and our problem persists.
As Andy says if he had installed the patch correctly the version number WOULD BE 8.1 just as my example showed. Once he gets the patch installed correctly your problems with the error message will end.


Don
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old May 26th, 2015, 11:51 PM

Warnevada Warnevada is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 136
Thanks: 2
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Warnevada is on a distinguished road
Default Re: PBEM Problem

My friend completely reinstalled the game and then the patch and now his version is 8.1. We still have the problem.

I've attached screen prints of his and my Game Data contents. I have an OOB folder, he does not.

Is this the problem? If so, why didn't he get an OOB folder?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	OOBs.jpg
Views:	89
Size:	97.9 KB
ID:	13789   Click image for larger version

Name:	Directory Bill.jpg
Views:	93
Size:	50.7 KB
ID:	13790  
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old May 27th, 2015, 07:20 AM
DRG's Avatar

DRG DRG is offline
Shrapnel Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: GWN
Posts: 11,410
Thanks: 3,093
Thanked 4,639 Times in 2,306 Posts
DRG will become famous soon enough
Default Re: PBEM Problem

1/He ABSOLUTLEY should have an OOB folder

2/What OS is he using?? Guessing VISTA or win7

3/Your screenshot clearly shows you are installed in C:/ as we recommend..............his does not show this. The file structure you show in your screen shot is perfect

4/Just for the record there should be NO --repeat--NO difference in the file structure between a full "CD" game and a free DL game so that is NOT the reason this has happened.......I suspect the OS has decided to put files where it thinks is "best"

5/ The "good news" is his game IS now showing the latest version
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old May 27th, 2015, 02:24 PM

Warnevada Warnevada is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 136
Thanks: 2
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Warnevada is on a distinguished road
Default Re: PBEM Problem

Bill uninstalled and reinstalled everything for the third time. He is on Win 7. And as they say, apparently the third time is the charm. Everything works now.

Thanks for your help.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Warnevada For This Useful Post:
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2022, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.