.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

Bronze- Save $10.00
winSPMBT: Main Battle Tank- Save $5.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > Shrapnel Community > Space Empires: IV & V > SEV Modders Knowledge Base

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #371  
Old November 14th, 2006, 08:47 PM

Phoenix-D Phoenix-D is offline
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 5,085
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Phoenix-D is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Unit Launch options

Sort of. You can create new unit types to represent the different sizes..
__________________
Phoenix-D

I am not senile. I just talk to myself because the rest of you don't provide adequate conversation.
-Digger
Reply With Quote
  #372  
Old November 14th, 2006, 09:55 PM
President_Elect_Shang's Avatar

President_Elect_Shang President_Elect_Shang is offline
Brigadier General
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: WA
Posts: 1,894
Thanks: 5
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
President_Elect_Shang is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Unit Launch options

That's the only way. Why what do you have up your sleeve? Can I take a peak?
__________________
President Elect Shang; Tal-Re Republic of Free Worlds
Welcome to Super Vegeta’s Big Bang Attack… Welcome to OBLIVION!
“Don Panoz made an awesome car and… an incinerator” Bill Auberlen
Reply With Quote
  #373  
Old November 15th, 2006, 01:13 AM
Kana's Avatar

Kana Kana is offline
Captain
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 962
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Kana is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Unit Launch options

Quote:
Phoenix-D said:
Sort of. You can create new unit types to represent the different sizes..
Yeah but I can do that anyway...What I want is the launcher to be able to...Oh I get it...Like a Light Fighter Launcher, as apposed to a Bomber launcher...the Launcher component looks for Light Fighter or Bomber...cool...

Am I seeing this right?
Reply With Quote
  #374  
Old November 15th, 2006, 01:36 AM

Phoenix-D Phoenix-D is offline
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 5,085
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Phoenix-D is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Unit Launch options

Correct. The only problem is you have to specify the new unit in all the components and target types..
__________________
Phoenix-D

I am not senile. I just talk to myself because the rest of you don't provide adequate conversation.
-Digger
Reply With Quote
  #375  
Old November 15th, 2006, 02:24 AM
Kana's Avatar

Kana Kana is offline
Captain
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 962
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Kana is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Unit Launch options

Yet if I'm making the units from scratch and including them already, then it wouldnt be that much of a problem...

Bascially what I wanted where to emulate the launch tubes, balcony/track system, and shuttle bays for SFB. Also PF links, and bombers. Bombers cant be launched from ships, so I was trying to find a way to limit them to just planets. Plus limiting fighters only from using the launch tubes as apposed to the regular shuttles from the shuttle bay. I assume I can list multiple unit types for each launch component. Like a shuttle bay could launch a shuttle, fighter, or even drop a mine out occasionally...

Now the only question is can I limit what the cargo hold ability can carry?

Reply With Quote
  #376  
Old November 15th, 2006, 02:26 AM

Phoenix-D Phoenix-D is offline
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 5,085
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Phoenix-D is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Unit Launch options

True. However the targeting list would probably get a bit unwieldy after a while.
__________________
Phoenix-D

I am not senile. I just talk to myself because the rest of you don't provide adequate conversation.
-Digger
Reply With Quote
  #377  
Old November 15th, 2006, 03:37 AM
President_Elect_Shang's Avatar

President_Elect_Shang President_Elect_Shang is offline
Brigadier General
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: WA
Posts: 1,894
Thanks: 5
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
President_Elect_Shang is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Unit Launch options

Yes you can list multiple types. For example my shuttles bays can launch a shuttle or a pinnace. XO Racks can fire (launch) XO Weapon Pods or HAWK Pods. As for the cargo part afraid not; there is no way to control the types of cargo that can be stored. If you say a component has 50csp (cargo storage points) than anything that can be held as cargo will be eligible for storage in that 50csp component.
__________________
President Elect Shang; Tal-Re Republic of Free Worlds
Welcome to Super Vegeta’s Big Bang Attack… Welcome to OBLIVION!
“Don Panoz made an awesome car and… an incinerator” Bill Auberlen
Reply With Quote
  #378  
Old November 15th, 2006, 03:47 PM
Kana's Avatar

Kana Kana is offline
Captain
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 962
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Kana is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Unit Launch options

Thats what I figured...I guess as long as the 'oversized' unit cant be launched, it would just be taking up cargo space, which I guess is ok. I was just hoping we would be able to mod cargo cap it specific stuff, like troops, population, etc. I guess I will have to add an additional ability to the Barracks component to make it special.
Reply With Quote
  #379  
Old November 15th, 2006, 05:35 PM
President_Elect_Shang's Avatar

President_Elect_Shang President_Elect_Shang is offline
Brigadier General
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: WA
Posts: 1,894
Thanks: 5
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
President_Elect_Shang is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Unit Launch options

Well, let’s take my HAWK Pods for instance. If I wanted to say that you can only store HAWK Pods in a new component called the HP Mag I could give the HP Mag the cargo ability, basically set it up to be the same as any cargo storage component. Then (and I haven’t tested this part) I should be able to add a requirement along these lines to ALL OTHER components that could also potentially store the HAWK Pod.

HAWK Pod Mag
Requirement 1 Description := This component can not be used to store HAWK Pods.
Requirement 1 Formula := Get_Design_Ability_Percentage_Of_Hull_Space("Storage Cargo Space Amount", "HAWK Pod") <= 0

Now I have not tested this! However, if it works and you are willing to add it to all the storage type components it would do what you are looking for.
__________________
President Elect Shang; Tal-Re Republic of Free Worlds
Welcome to Super Vegeta’s Big Bang Attack… Welcome to OBLIVION!
“Don Panoz made an awesome car and… an incinerator” Bill Auberlen
Reply With Quote
  #380  
Old November 15th, 2006, 05:38 PM

Phoenix-D Phoenix-D is offline
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 5,085
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Phoenix-D is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Unit Launch options

Won't work. SE5 only checks the requirements when designing, building or retrofitting a ship.

EDIT: and this is a good thing. Otherwise you'd be unable to make components obsolete.
__________________
Phoenix-D

I am not senile. I just talk to myself because the rest of you don't provide adequate conversation.
-Digger
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2022, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.