.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

ATF: Armored Task Force- Save $8.00
War Plan Pacific- Save $7.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > Illwinter Game Design > Dominions 3: The Awakening > Scenarios, Maps and Mods

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old May 27th, 2009, 04:42 PM
Hoplosternum's Avatar

Hoplosternum Hoplosternum is offline
Second Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Romford, England
Posts: 445
Thanks: 95
Thanked 13 Times in 9 Posts
Hoplosternum is on a distinguished road
Default Scenario nearly working. But not quite....

I have been working on a scenario that is intended for a one off themed mp game on the Llamaserver.

Some of you helped answer some questions on modding and map commands that I have used developing this. So I am coming back for some more advice.

The mod and the map are now being tested by myself and some things are working well and others are not. I have also noticed some quirks which I can live with but wonder if they are caused by my msitakes or are as designed by the game? And I am still frustrated by some of the things I either can't change or don't know how the things are now in order to make changes.

The stuff that works include:

In the Mod:
Changes to monsters and new monsters such as:

-Sagittarian
#newmonster 2902
#copystats 706
#copyspr 706
#name "Sagattarian"
#descr "Certain Pans have perfected their martial prowess instead of developing their skills of Earth and Nature. These holy warriors have varied magic and greater martial skills than their Pan brothers"
#clearmagic
#magicskill 6 1
#magicskill 3 1
#magicskill 51 1
#magicskill 52 1
#magicskill 8 1
#holy
#str 18
#att 13
#def 18
#prec 11
#hp 36
#regeneration 10
#researchbonus -3
#gcost 360
#end

#selectnation 61
#addreccom 2902 -- Sagittarian
#end

*Kala-Mukha Warrior* -- BALANCE
#selectmonster 1763
#gcost 50
#end

All works well And it seems to accept changes made to the mod during the game! As my Sagittarians were recruitable by Atlantis at the start of one of my test games But then switched where they could be recruited later!

Lots of changes to the map file. Most of which work.

#dom2title End_Of_Days
#imagefile End_Of_Days.rgb
#domversion 321
#defaultmapzoom 1.510305
#scenario
#features 50
#description "This map has been adapted from Gandalf Parker's randomly created map M_01_04Mar09 for The End of Days MP game."
#allowedplayer 49

So scenario details works But can I set independent strength here?

#specstart 49 178 -- Arcoscephale Capital


Setting starts works

#setland 159
#owner 49
#defence 25
#temple

And lands ownership works Although these were all attacked by independents on turn 2??? The indies, even if they won, never tried to storm even empty castles though despite getting 'breaches'....

#setland 66 -- Pangaea Capital
#commander 706 // Pan
#comname "Faunicles"
#clearmagic
#mag_nature 3
#mag_earth 1
#mag_astral 2
#mag_fire 2

Plus giving some customised bonus leaders saving me the trouble of adding loads of heroes works

#commander 858 // Tuatha
#randomequip 3
#units 20 849 // Daoine Sidhe
#units 30 1785 // Firbolg Axe
#units 30 1779 // Milesian Slinger

Adding some independents works

But the special sites I made don't appear

-- Eriu
#land 96
#killfeatures
#knownfeature "Tuathan Rememberance"
#knownfeature "Daoine Glade"
#lab
#population 20000

So this isn't working Well the population and the lab appears but the sites don't appear

In the mod (where the mistake may be) these sites appear as for example:

#newsite 851
#Name "Daoine Glade"
#path 6 -- Nature
#level 0
#rarity 4
#gems 6 1
#mon 849 -- Daoine Sidhe (Sacred)
#com 850 -- Sidhe Champion (Sacred)
#gold 60
#decscale 5 -- Magic
#end

What am I doing wrong? It does not seem to work if I add the site numbers rather than the names either.

Also I wanted to make a few other changes. Changing Ashen Empires domkill with the #domkill command. But I don't know what the default is so it's difficult to know what to set it as?

I also wanted to add some extra heroes but found I could not find a listing of the existing heroes. I can see the new additions from Worthy Heroes but I don't know in many cases what I would be removing if I added extra heroes or have a listing of the originals powers. I know the stats are probably in Edi's DB spreadsheet but I can't identify which are the LA Abysian heroes for example. Is there a listing anywhere?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old May 30th, 2009, 11:30 AM
Endoperez's Avatar

Endoperez Endoperez is offline
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Eastern Finland
Posts: 7,110
Thanks: 145
Thanked 153 Times in 101 Posts
Endoperez is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Scenario nearly working. But not quite....

Indy attack on turn 2:
#setland, #owner doesn't get rid of the defenders and it doesn't change them away from nation 25, either. Use #land instead.


The map is probably read before mod. Since the sites don't exist when the map is read, nothing is added.

Instead of #newsite, try using #selectsite and replace/rewrite Eriu's original starting sites.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Endoperez For This Useful Post:
  #3  
Old May 30th, 2009, 12:01 PM

llamabeast llamabeast is offline
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 5,921
Thanks: 194
Thanked 855 Times in 291 Posts
llamabeast will become famous soon enoughllamabeast will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Scenario nearly working. But not quite....

Have you tried just starting the game twice without exiting? Sounds funny but it may be to do with when the mod is read I guess, and like Endo says it may be after the map is read.

If you want to, try it out on LlamaServer. It loads mods and stuff slightly differently because it's all done by the command line which isn't in fact quite the same as doing it via the GUI.
__________________
www.llamaserver.net
LlamaServer FAQ
My mod nations: Tomb Kings and Vampire Counts
A compilation of high quality mod nations: Expanded Nations Packs
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to llamabeast For This Useful Post:
  #4  
Old June 1st, 2009, 07:04 AM
Hoplosternum's Avatar

Hoplosternum Hoplosternum is offline
Second Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Romford, England
Posts: 445
Thanks: 95
Thanked 13 Times in 9 Posts
Hoplosternum is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Scenario nearly working. But not quite....

I will try the #land command but I still wanted some of these to have recruitable units there (not all have castles and some are underwater but belong to land races).

I have found out what is wrong with my sites It's the capitalisation....

#Name "Daoine Glade" doesn't work. But #name "Daoine Glade" does. Any capitalisation seems to not be recognised so #Com fails too etc.

Anyway thanks for your help!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old June 1st, 2009, 05:04 PM
lch's Avatar

lch lch is offline
General
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: R'lyeh
Posts: 3,861
Thanks: 144
Thanked 403 Times in 176 Posts
lch is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Scenario nearly working. But not quite....

Capitalization doesn't work, the commands are case sensitive, yes.
__________________
Come to the Dom3 Wiki and help us to build the biggest Dominions-centered knowledge base on the net.
Visit my personal user page there, too!
Pretender file password recovery
Emergency comic relief
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2021, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.