.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

ATF: Armored Task Force- Save $8.00
War Plan Pacific- Save $7.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > Illwinter Game Design > Dominions 3: The Awakening

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old March 23rd, 2009, 04:16 PM

AZ_ AZ_ is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 12
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts
AZ_ is on a distinguished road
Question Windows 7 + Dominions 3

Hi,

I installed win7 and dominions runs very sluggish. There is black background during the menu, and battles are extremity slow. Other Direct3d and opengl games run fine. I tried compatibility mode (xp, and vista) but nothing is better.

I use a Thikpad x60s, dom3 worked fine whit xp.

Please help if you have any ideas

AZ
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old March 23rd, 2009, 04:39 PM

Zeldor Zeldor is offline
General
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 3,414
Thanks: 26
Thanked 73 Times in 49 Posts
Zeldor is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Windows 7 + Dominions 3

Drivers? Have you tried watching movies? Tried using usb stick with dom3 installed already [under XP for example]?
__________________
谋事在人,成事在天。

LA Agartha guide
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old March 23rd, 2009, 04:54 PM

AZ_ AZ_ is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 12
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts
AZ_ is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Windows 7 + Dominions 3

Everything works fine except Dom3
Can I run the game from an usb stick?

I stalled a few games like Quake3, UT 2004 and they work fine. Movies run fine too.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old March 23rd, 2009, 05:06 PM

AZ_ AZ_ is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 12
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts
AZ_ is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Windows 7 + Dominions 3

I'm the first one trying Dom3 under win7?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old March 23rd, 2009, 05:53 PM

Zeldor Zeldor is offline
General
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 3,414
Thanks: 26
Thanked 73 Times in 49 Posts
Zeldor is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Windows 7 + Dominions 3

Yep, you can run it from usb stick.

And you are probably first one to try it on win7

I wonder if anyone tried to run it on smartphone with Windows Mobile... might be not possible till ones with Tegra chip come to the market.
__________________
谋事在人,成事在天。

LA Agartha guide
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old March 23rd, 2009, 06:02 PM
Edi's Avatar

Edi Edi is offline
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 5,425
Thanks: 174
Thanked 695 Times in 267 Posts
Edi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Windows 7 + Dominions 3

To my knowledge, nobody has tried to run Dom3 on Windows 7 yet. It's not tested, so problems like this can be expected. The most important factor is probably the OpenGL support of your graphics drivers. Or more precisely, their probable lack of it. If there's crappy OGL support, Dominions will run slow as molasses.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old March 23rd, 2009, 07:32 PM
Dedas's Avatar

Dedas Dedas is offline
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Lund, Sweden
Posts: 1,377
Thanks: 72
Thanked 25 Times in 20 Posts
Dedas is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Windows 7 + Dominions 3

I've tried it just for kicks and as expected it runs veeeeery slow.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old March 23rd, 2009, 09:30 PM

AZ_ AZ_ is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 12
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts
AZ_ is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Windows 7 + Dominions 3

Quake3 runs pretty fast whit opengl.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old March 23rd, 2009, 11:37 PM
Foodstamp's Avatar
Foodstamp Foodstamp is offline
Major General
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Tennessee USA
Posts: 2,059
Thanks: 229
Thanked 106 Times in 71 Posts
Foodstamp is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Windows 7 + Dominions 3

I run it flawless on windows 7
__________________
BLAH BLAH BLAH BLAH NEXT TURN.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old March 23rd, 2009, 11:47 PM

AZ_ AZ_ is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 12
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts
AZ_ is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Windows 7 + Dominions 3

Please post your comp conf, and win version.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
win7, windows 7

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2021, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.