.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

Bronze- Save $9.00
War Plan Pacific- Save $7.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > Illwinter Game Design > Dominions 3: The Awakening

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old November 13th, 2011, 05:43 PM

JonBrave JonBrave is offline
Second Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 546
Thanks: 100
Thanked 10 Times in 8 Posts
JonBrave is on a distinguished road
Default Mage/Commander Numbering Questions

I believe each Mage/Commander has a number, and during battle rounds they act in increasing number order (hope that bit is right...)

When I plan in the army screen, are the leaders shown in that order, i.e. the order they will act each round?
If I do the 'Y' key for combined attacks, are they also shown there in action order?
Does every new leader born get an incrementing number, or is there any wrap-around?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old November 13th, 2011, 06:09 PM
Anaconda's Avatar

Anaconda Anaconda is offline
First Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 678
Thanks: 67
Thanked 19 Times in 17 Posts
Anaconda is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Mage/Commander Numbering Questions

every unit has an id nro, even non-commander troops. Otherwise it would not be possible to keep track on their unique stats, like afflictions.
__________________
"Mikään ei voita reipasta sotilaallista meininkiä, paitsi vieläkin reippaampi sotilaallinen meininki."

Anaconda blogi: voimasta _ ja _ kunniasta
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old November 13th, 2011, 06:21 PM

JonBrave JonBrave is offline
Second Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 546
Thanks: 100
Thanked 10 Times in 8 Posts
JonBrave is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Mage/Commander Numbering Questions

I'm trying to understand if the order leaders are shown on map and in army screen is the same as their number/order they will act in battle.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old November 13th, 2011, 06:55 PM

thejeff thejeff is offline
General
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 3,327
Thanks: 4
Thanked 133 Times in 117 Posts
thejeff is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Mage/Commander Numbering Questions

Yes. They are shown in order, even for combined attacks.

The numbers for new units are not strictly incremented. I believe dead units numbers are reused, except for those who can be brought back, like pretenders and Hall of Famers.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to thejeff For This Useful Post:
  #5  
Old November 14th, 2011, 03:46 AM
Edi's Avatar

Edi Edi is offline
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 5,425
Thanks: 174
Thanked 695 Times in 267 Posts
Edi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Mage/Commander Numbering Questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by thejeff View Post
Yes. They are shown in order, even for combined attacks.

The numbers for new units are not strictly incremented. I believe dead units numbers are reused, except for those who can be brought back, like pretenders and Hall of Famers.
This is correct.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old November 14th, 2011, 08:44 AM
Chazar's Avatar

Chazar Chazar is offline
Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: within 200km of Ulm
Posts: 919
Thanks: 27
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Chazar is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Mage/Commander Numbering Questions

I thought that throughout a battle, the ids are traversed either increasing or decreasing (but the order is kept throughout a specific battle).

At least I think there is a recommendation to have all Communion Masters shown close together in the middle and Communion Slaves in front and after the masters, so that at least half the slaves can still act for themselves (Communion Slaves only act if no Communion Master has acted yet in that Battle round).

If the order would always be increasing, then one would prefer Communion Masters always to be at the end or start (depending on whether it is desired to have the Communion Slaves acting on their own).
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old November 14th, 2011, 09:23 AM

Korwin Korwin is offline
Second Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 450
Thanks: 28
Thanked 11 Times in 9 Posts
Korwin is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Mage/Commander Numbering Questions

In battle the order is always top to bottom.
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Korwin For This Useful Post:
  #8  
Old November 14th, 2011, 02:11 PM
Amhazair's Avatar

Amhazair Amhazair is offline
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ghent, Belgium
Posts: 1,333
Thanks: 39
Thanked 59 Times in 43 Posts
Amhazair is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Mage/Commander Numbering Questions

Confirm that the order commanders act in battle is allways from top to bottom. (So for communions you can allways be completely certain who will still get to act and who doesn't.)

It is during ritual spellcasting that casting order can start either at the top or bottom, which might be where Chazar's confusion comes from? This is occasionally important if you want to nail (a) teleporting unit(s) with mind hunts or other remote attack spells.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Amhazair For This Useful Post:
  #9  
Old November 14th, 2011, 05:02 PM

JonBrave JonBrave is offline
Second Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 546
Thanks: 100
Thanked 10 Times in 8 Posts
JonBrave is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Mage/Commander Numbering Questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amhazair View Post
Confirm that the order commanders act in battle is allways from top to bottom. (So for communions you can allways be completely certain who will still get to act and who doesn't.)

It is during ritual spellcasting that casting order can start either at the top or bottom, which might be where Chazar's confusion comes from? This is occasionally important if you want to nail (a) teleporting unit(s) with mind hunts or other remote attack spells.
I believe there was a discussion on this, and this is indeed correct. It is the "ritual spells" which can have forward or backward order.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old November 14th, 2011, 05:08 PM

JonBrave JonBrave is offline
Second Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 546
Thanks: 100
Thanked 10 Times in 8 Posts
JonBrave is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Mage/Commander Numbering Questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by thejeff View Post
Yes. They are shown in order, even for combined attacks.

The numbers for new units are not strictly incremented. I believe dead units numbers are reused, except for those who can be brought back, like pretenders and Hall of Famers.
Great concise answer!

So, bear with me... I would like my Battlefield "Storm" spell to come as early as possible, so that subsequent mages can help themselves to "Storm Power" first round.

In practice, that tends to mean it works best with the "Storm"-casting mage being one of the very earliest guys I built. If I build a powerful mage later on, he's more likely to be stuck number-wise behind other built guys.

Is that about right?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2022, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.