.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

Bronze- Save $10.00
winSPMBT: Main Battle Tank- Save $5.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > Shrapnel Community > Space Empires: IV & V

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old February 17th, 2008, 07:18 PM

Sardia Sardia is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 115
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Sardia is on a distinguished road
Default Random Questions

Can someone explain to me what each kind of scanners do? What is the difference among basic, tachyon, long range etc etc.? Can I drop the basic sensors after I get some of these?

P.S. There is this annoying bug; if you select drop troops, you can't unselect if you hit it by mistake. Very annoying if you want to do something else, like capture a ship. Also stops you from selecting other ships, I think.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old February 17th, 2008, 11:40 PM
Randallw's Avatar

Randallw Randallw is offline
Major General
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Posts: 2,325
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Randallw is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Scanners and Jammers

Well there's a difference between sensors and scanners.

There's basic sensors which show the surrounding area. They're not specialised and their strength goes up slowly. They focus on range.

Then you get sensors that focus on strength but have slightly less range. If the enemy has cloaking devices, hides in a storm or asteroid field they are concealed to a certain level. basic sensors aren't made to see them, although a level 1 cloak might be visible to level 10 basic sensors. You need advanced sensors to detect cloaked ships. There are just different paths. Depending on what path you follow, temporal, psychic, etc, you use different technology. I'm not sure but possibly psychic sensors might be slightly more efficient.

Long range scanners are supposed to allow you to see what a ship is made along with what cargo they carry

Jammers stop that sort of thing.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old February 18th, 2008, 06:20 AM

Sardia Sardia is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 115
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Sardia is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Scanners and Jammers

Ok, now here's another:

How do I make a ringworld/dyson sphere? The biggest ships are 1800kt but the smallest item to make above items are 2000kt each. Any ideas?

Also, if you use the cheat to get all the techs, it does not give racial only but more importantly; it corrupts your empire by permanently giving all techs to the empire. Anyway to disable the cheat?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old February 18th, 2008, 08:26 AM
Randallw's Avatar

Randallw Randallw is offline
Major General
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Posts: 2,325
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Randallw is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Scanners and Jammers

I know of no way to disable full tech once you choose it. I only use full tech to gain access to descriptions of everything after I save a game so I can plan how to reach certain tech.

As for ringworlds and dyson spheres the idea is to build several starbases with the components. These are destroyed when you create the artificial world.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old February 18th, 2008, 09:00 AM

Sardia Sardia is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 115
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Sardia is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Scanners and Jammers

Sardia said:
Ok, now here's another:

How do I make a ringworld/dyson sphere?
Quote:
The biggest ships are 1800kt but the smallest item to make above items are 2000kt each.
Any ideas?

No, turn on the alltech cheat and check out the stats. I can only use the stock mod in order to build a ringworld/sphereworld. In the balance mod, a cable or plating has 2000kt but the largest ship, which is a base ship has only 1800kt worth of space. Probably oversight due to rarity of occurrence.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old February 18th, 2008, 09:09 AM
Arkcon's Avatar

Arkcon Arkcon is offline
Colonel
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,518
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Arkcon is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Scanners and Jammers

Sardia said:

No, turn on the alltech cheat and check out the stats. I can only use the stock mod in order to build a ringworld/sphereworld. In the balance mod, a cable or plating has 2000kt but the largest ship, which is a base ship has only 1800kt worth of space. Probably oversight due to rarity of occurrence.


I'd built ring- and sphere-worlds in past versions of the Balance Mod using the starbases. This may be a new sizes bug that's crept into this version. Or the alltech cheat is doing something freaky with the Balance Mod's tech tree.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old February 18th, 2008, 12:22 PM
Captain Kwok's Avatar

Captain Kwok Captain Kwok is offline
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 5,623
Thanks: 1
Thanked 14 Times in 12 Posts
Captain Kwok is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Scanners and Jammers

It's not an oversight, I made it like SE4. The plating and cables have to be on starbases, and only the generator needs to be placed on a baseship since it needs a movement point to work.
__________________
Space Empires Depot | SE:V Balance Mod
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old February 19th, 2008, 01:27 AM

Sardia Sardia is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 115
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Sardia is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Scanners and Jammers

Starbases are bigger than baseships? I thought it was the other way around, thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old February 19th, 2008, 01:45 AM
Fyron's Avatar

Fyron Fyron is offline
Shrapnel Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Southern CA, USA
Posts: 18,394
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 10 Posts
Fyron is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Scanners and Jammers

Baseships are smaller, portable starbases.
__________________
It's not whether you win or lose that counts: it's how much pain you inflict along the way.
--- SpaceEmpires.net --- RSS --- SEnet ModWorks --- SEIV Modding 101 Tutorial
--- Join us in the #SpaceEmpires IRC channel on the Freenode IRC network.
--- Due to restrictively low sig limits, you must visit this link to view the rest of my signature.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old February 23rd, 2008, 05:15 PM

Sardia Sardia is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 115
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Sardia is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Scanners and Jammers

What does computer player bonus and technology cost do for the game?

Oh, and what settings do you guys prefer?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2022, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.