This Month's Specials

Raging Tiger- Save $9.00
World Supremacy- Save $9.00

Go Back   .com.unity Forums > Shrapnel Community > Space Empires: Starfury

Old November 17th, 2005, 11:46 PM

Private

SupaJames is on a distinguished road
Default A Serenity/Firefly Mod

Well, I'm still new to the game, but I've already got the 'verse mapped out pretty well. Now I'm working on some components, and I'm wondering if anyone has a better idea on how I might do this than I do: I was hoping to implement a "crybaby," which is essentially a decoy that emitted a distress signal of the same kind as an attacking ship, with the intended effect of the attacker breaking off his attack to "rescue" the distressed ship. I was hoping there'd be some way to make your ship untargetable to the enemy (unless you fired upon them or something of that sort) or to send the enemy after the crybaby, which would be a satelite launched elsewhere in the system. Anyone have any thoughts on this, or want to lend their expertise to a Firefly mod?
Old November 18th, 2005, 07:19 AM

Second Lieutenant

Hugh Manatee is on a distinguished road
Default Re: A Serenity/Firefly Mod

Well, I have 2 untextured Reaver Ships about 90% complete, you can have em when I'm done.
Old November 18th, 2005, 03:11 PM

Captain

bearclaw is on a distinguished road

IIRC the only type of unit you can launch are mines and fighters. I would imagine that you could have a specialized fighter that would do the same thing. Only, to get anything to "rescue" it, they would have to actually target and fire on it. AFAIK, you can't do much of anything to affect friendly ships.

Although... it may be possible that if the 'crybaby' fighter had an illigal component on it that may do the trick for friendlies. Although it may also register as you carrying illigal cargo as well which would defeat the whole point... Worth testing though.
A+ Se+++ GdY $++ Fr- C+ Csp Sf* AuO M++ MpTFdAM St RTNH Pw++ Fq++ Nd++ Rp++ G++ Mm++ Bb++ L+ Tcp-