Raging Tiger- Save $9.00
World Supremacy- Save $9.00

Go Back   .com.unity Forums > The Camo Workshop > WinSPWW2
Notices

Old October 9th, 2007, 08:51 AM

Private

17pounder is on a distinguished road
Default Post patch crash and uninstall problem

Hi, I'm a newbie using the CD version of WINSPWW2.
My game ran fine on a direct install from the CD until I patched it. I applied the patches in order and shutting down and restarting PC after each, to allow things to settle. So I install 1.1B, 2 and 2.5, and then find that, after launching the program, I press on "Play SPWW2" it crashes straight to Desktop.
Several tries after reboot come to the same result. My drive has no errors,recently defragged and cpu/system temperature all ok.
As the game won't run, I decide to uninstall and reinstall. The uninstall program starts and stops with an error message about insufficient memory to perform the task (I have 768MB RAM, and at least 80% free so this is wierd!)All the uninstaller seems to have done is remove the uninstall shortcut from the WINSPWW2 folder in "Start/Programs"!
I think my only way forward is to manually delete the WINSPWW2 folder and its contents and try a reinstall adding one patch at a time to verify it still works. Any advice much appreciated! (Has anyone else tried the uninstaller after patching with all 3 patches?)

Thanks,

17 Pounder
Old October 9th, 2007, 09:51 AM

Shrapnel Fanatic

Thanked 5,438 Times in 2,698 Posts
DRG will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Post patch crash and uninstall problem

One of your patches is either corrupted or was intalled in the wrong place so yes, deleting the WINSPWW2 folder then re-installing everything one patch at a time and verifying the game runs for you after every upgrade would seem the best course of action.

Don

If you find you are constantly reacting to your enemy's tactics instead forcing the enemy to react to yours, you are losing the battle....
Old October 9th, 2007, 07:21 PM

Private