.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

Bronze- Save $9.00
War Plan Pacific- Save $7.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > Illwinter Game Design > Dominions 3: The Awakening

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old January 3rd, 2012, 09:27 PM
Soyweiser's Avatar

Soyweiser Soyweiser is offline
Colonel
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,735
Thanks: 272
Thanked 120 Times in 93 Posts
Soyweiser is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Global Enchantments

According to trumanator it hits one at random, which can be one of your own. If you try to cast a new global when there are already max slots filled.
__________________
I'm acting like a high school girl /\
Bookmark these links:
http://dom3.servegame.com/wiki/
http://wolfsbane.alwaysdata.net/Spells.html
Test stuff, use the debug mod:
http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/showthread.php?t=36453
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old January 7th, 2012, 03:53 AM

el cid el cid is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 14
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
el cid is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Global Enchantments

Concerning globals,

If a comander that has a global enchantment is charmed/seduced, what happens to the global?

Do you keep it until the comander is slained?

Does it get dispell?

Does your enemgy gets the benefits from that spell?
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to el cid For This Useful Post:
  #13  
Old January 7th, 2012, 02:01 PM
brxbrx's Avatar

brxbrx brxbrx is offline
Second Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Tempe, Az
Posts: 419
Thanks: 38
Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts
brxbrx is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Global Enchantments

Quote:
Originally Posted by el cid View Post
Concerning globals,

If a commander that has a global enchantment is charmed/seduced, what happens to the global?

Do you keep it until the commander is slain?

Does it get dispel?

Does your enemy gets the benefits from that spell?
that is a very good question
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old January 7th, 2012, 02:44 PM

rdonj rdonj is offline
General
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,007
Thanks: 171
Thanked 206 Times in 159 Posts
rdonj is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Global Enchantments

As trumanator/soyweiser said, the global targeted is absolutely random. This can be a huge pain in the *** at times.
__________________
"Easy-slay(TM) is a whole new way of marketing violence. It cuts down on all the red tape and just butchers people. As a long-time savagery enthusiast myself, I'm very excited about the synergies that the easy-slay(TM) approach brings to the entire enterprise." -Dr DrP
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old January 7th, 2012, 02:55 PM

Valerius Valerius is offline
Major General
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,046
Thanks: 83
Thanked 215 Times in 77 Posts
Valerius is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Global Enchantments

Quote:
Originally Posted by el cid View Post
If a comander that has a global enchantment is charmed/seduced, what happens to the global?
The caster's original nation continues to benefit from it - it doesn't automatically get dispelled or transferred to the nation that gained control of the caster. This is the case even if the caster is hit with enslave mind and thus loses commander status.

The interesting thing is if the caster is still a commander and is then killed the global is, as you'd expect, dispelled. But if he's no longer a commander (such as if he was hit with enslave mind) and is killed the global remains up.
Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Valerius For This Useful Post:
  #16  
Old January 8th, 2012, 10:40 AM

Olm Olm is offline
Sergeant
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 272
Thanks: 13
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Olm is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Global Enchantments

Quote:
Originally Posted by Valerius View Post
The interesting thing is if the caster is still a commander and is then killed the global is, as you'd expect, dispelled. But if he's no longer a commander (such as if he was hit with enslave mind) and is killed the global remains up.
In that case: Can you GoR the unit and then send it on a suicide mission to dispel the enchantment?
Would be a pretty weird course of action though.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old January 9th, 2012, 11:14 AM

Kobal2 Kobal2 is offline
Sergeant
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 285
Thanks: 3
Thanked 19 Times in 13 Posts
Kobal2 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Global Enchantments

Why weird ? If you enslaved the mind of a global caster, the global's not on your side of the fence by definition. Better to spend a dozen nature gems than hundreds of pearls to (maybe) dispel it, assuming it actually works.

That being said, I reckon you'd have to be pretty lucky and/or awesome to manage to brain zap an opponent's global caster to begin with.
__________________
Anything wrong ?
Blame it on me - I'm the French.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old January 9th, 2012, 06:37 PM

nordlys nordlys is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 86
Thanks: 4
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
nordlys is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Global Enchantments

Moving it from the Murdering Winter thread to a more suitable one: is there any way to find out caster ID values short of digging into the past turns' debug logs? Let's say, I am trying to dispel an enemy global and cast one of my own the same turn (it's not MP Olympics on Llamaserver so the gem costs are irrelevant), all 5 slots are taken. Would it make sense to try 2 dispels, one by a caster with ID lower than the global's caster ID and one by a higher ID, so one of them will be guaranteed to dispel prior to my global firing? Also, would the second dispel be wasted or in absence of initial target it will affect my new global instead (in other words, is dispel targeted at particular spell or at specific global slot)? Or even a randomly chosen global?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old January 10th, 2012, 06:51 AM

thejeff thejeff is offline
General
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 3,327
Thanks: 4
Thanked 133 Times in 117 Posts
thejeff is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Global Enchantments

You can't find the actual caster ID numbers, but commanders are listed in unit ID order, both in the regular province screen and the army setup screen, so you can know relative order.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2022, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.