.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

ATF: Armored Task Force- Save $8.00
War Plan Pacific- Save $7.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > Illwinter Game Design > Dominions 3: The Awakening

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31  
Old April 27th, 2010, 09:52 AM
FAJ's Avatar

FAJ FAJ is offline
First Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: East Norriton, PA
Posts: 744
Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
FAJ is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Another quick on on astral Corruption...

I had to try it

out of 8 lessers sent, 3 turned into larger horrors. I don't know if the percentage has anything to do with the level of the blood caster. About half the casters were B5 or higher.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old April 27th, 2010, 11:56 AM

chrispedersen chrispedersen is offline
BANNED USER
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,075
Thanks: 203
Thanked 121 Times in 91 Posts
chrispedersen is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Another quick on on astral Corruption...

Quote:
Originally Posted by vfb View Post
Chris, if you leave the dome up, how do you prevent the mages researching in the domed province from being eaten by horrors? If you let the dome expire, how do you prevent the magic scale in the province from reverting to your dominion scale? If you do not have positive dominion in the province, your researchers will not get positive benefit from any scale.
I don't vfb. No mages (or few mages) in the province I cast it in. Sometimes two - one to cast the spell, the other to destroy the lab (although I forget if I have to do that the next turn or not).



Castle DomeProvince Enemy.

So, suppose you've sent horrors, or previously horrormarked some enemies... you know he is going to hit the province.
Casting dome.. may well way more horrors than you could afford to cast directly.

its highly situational.. but where's the downside. If you cast it for 12 or 20 turns.. usually end up with magic 3.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old April 29th, 2010, 01:41 AM
vfb's Avatar

vfb vfb is offline
General
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Japan
Posts: 3,691
Thanks: 269
Thanked 397 Times in 200 Posts
vfb is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Another quick on on astral Corruption...

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrispedersen View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by vfb View Post
Chris, if you leave the dome up, how do you prevent the mages researching in the domed province from being eaten by horrors? If you let the dome expire, how do you prevent the magic scale in the province from reverting to your dominion scale? If you do not have positive dominion in the province, your researchers will not get positive benefit from any scale.
I don't vfb. No mages (or few mages) in the province I cast it in. Sometimes two - one to cast the spell, the other to destroy the lab (although I forget if I have to do that the next turn or not).



Castle DomeProvince Enemy.

So, suppose you've sent horrors, or previously horrormarked some enemies... you know he is going to hit the province.
Casting dome.. may well way more horrors than you could afford to cast directly.

its highly situational.. but where's the downside. If you cast it for 12 or 20 turns.. usually end up with magic 3.
You end up with Magic-3 where? In the domed province where you don't have a lab? What is the benefit of having Magic-3 in a province without a lab?

Are you trolling?
__________________
Whether he submitted the post, or whether he did not, made no difference. The Thought Police would get him just the same. He had committed— would still have committed, even if he had never set pen to paper— the essential crime that contained all others in itself. Thoughtcrime, they called it. Thoughtcrime was not a thing that could be concealed forever.
http://z7.invisionfree.com/Dom3mods/index.php?
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old April 29th, 2010, 02:07 AM

chrispedersen chrispedersen is offline
BANNED USER
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,075
Thanks: 203
Thanked 121 Times in 91 Posts
chrispedersen is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Another quick on on astral Corruption...

Its a niche spell that has several uses.

The first, it can act in a manner similiear to a well of pestilence. Even passing through the province will horror mark enough units usually to make summoning horrors safe in an ensuing combat.

Secondly, if you have dominion sculpting, like I said in my original comment, goingn from drain 2 to magic 3 is well worth the cost of losing one turn of research for each mage.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old April 29th, 2010, 03:35 AM
vfb's Avatar

vfb vfb is offline
General
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Japan
Posts: 3,691
Thanks: 269
Thanked 397 Times in 200 Posts
vfb is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Another quick on on astral Corruption...

The "going from drain 2 to magic 3 plus dominion sculpting" is the thing I don't understand.

You are going to magic-3 scales only in the province that has the dome, right?

Either:

1) you are researching while the dome is up, your mages inside get eaten.

or

2) you wait until the dome is down, but your dominion scales kill the magic-3, if you have positive dominion

or

3) you wait until the dome is down, but you don't benefit from the magic-3, because you don't have dominion


Is there some alternative that I'm just not seeing?
__________________
Whether he submitted the post, or whether he did not, made no difference. The Thought Police would get him just the same. He had committed— would still have committed, even if he had never set pen to paper— the essential crime that contained all others in itself. Thoughtcrime, they called it. Thoughtcrime was not a thing that could be concealed forever.
http://z7.invisionfree.com/Dom3mods/index.php?
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old April 29th, 2010, 03:55 AM

chrispedersen chrispedersen is offline
BANNED USER
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,075
Thanks: 203
Thanked 121 Times in 91 Posts
chrispedersen is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Another quick on on astral Corruption...

Quote:
Originally Posted by vfb View Post
The "going from drain 2 to magic 3 plus dominion sculpting" is the thing I don't understand.

You are going to magic-3 scales only in the province that has the dome, right?

Either:

1) you are researching while the dome is up, your mages inside get eaten.

or

2) you wait until the dome is down, but your dominion scales kill the magic-3, if you have positive dominion

or

3) you wait until the dome is down, but you don't benefit from the magic-3, because you don't have dominion


Is there some alternative that I'm just not seeing?

Yes. With one candle of dominion your chances of having a scale flip are small. Several nations can easily get one candle of dominion, mictlan, lapythium, ea arco. I've lasted 22 turns at a go without losing one scale.

Even if lose dominion in the province, you still lose your penalty (in this case) of -2 drain.

Finally (and this is a tiny bonus)... many events seem to key off scale not dominion.
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old April 29th, 2010, 08:17 AM
Stavis_L's Avatar

Stavis_L Stavis_L is offline
Second Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 466
Thanks: 35
Thanked 95 Times in 60 Posts
Stavis_L is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Another quick on on astral Corruption...

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrispedersen View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by vfb View Post
The "going from drain 2 to magic 3 plus dominion sculpting" is the thing I don't understand.

You are going to magic-3 scales only in the province that has the dome, right?

[[other options deleted]]

3) you wait until the dome is down, but you don't benefit from the magic-3, because you don't have dominion

Yes. With one candle of dominion your chances of having a scale flip are small. Several nations can easily get one candle of dominion, mictlan, lapythium, ea arco. I've lasted 22 turns at a go without losing one scale.

Even if lose dominion in the province, you still lose your penalty (in this case) of -2 drain.

Finally (and this is a tiny bonus)... many events seem to key off scale not dominion.
Actually, do you need to have positive dominion to get the benefit of the scales, or will neutral dominion (no candles of either color) suffice? Because if you've got heretics/stone idols, getting zero candles is (relatively) easy.

I could maybe see doing this if you had side-by-side castles, and were willing to leave a low value commander or two in the horror domed province to prevent someone sneak-popping your lab.

But it's a lot of micro.
__________________
A nation mod I created:
Mistica: A Magocratic Police State
Micro-mods by me you might find useful:
Brainless Soulless - a fix for Life after Death/Ankh "exploit", Bogarus Scout Fix
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old April 29th, 2010, 02:54 PM

chrispedersen chrispedersen is offline
BANNED USER
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,075
Thanks: 203
Thanked 121 Times in 91 Posts
chrispedersen is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Another quick on on astral Corruption...

you need one candle, except for growth.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2021, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.