Warning: Illegal string offset 'type' in [path]/includes/class_postbit.php(294) : eval()'d code on line 65
Bug Bug Thread: Discussion - Page 283 - .com.unity Forums
.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

Air Command 3.0- Save $15.00
BCT Commander- Save $8.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > Illwinter Game Design > Dominions 3: The Awakening

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #2821  
Old November 30th, 2009, 12:18 PM

hoo hoo is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 148
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
hoo is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Bug Thread: Discussion

In the summary he was mine. So I'm not sure what when on with me not getting his gear and him on the enemy side of the map.
Reply With Quote
  #2822  
Old December 1st, 2009, 01:18 AM

chrispedersen chrispedersen is offline
BANNED USER
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,075
Thanks: 203
Thanked 121 Times in 91 Posts
chrispedersen is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Bug Thread: Discussion

I've seen this bug as well, 2-3 times.
But nothing recent. Are you on the current version?
Reply With Quote
  #2823  
Old December 1st, 2009, 10:45 AM

Gokufan1988 Gokufan1988 is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Dallas
Posts: 55
Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Gokufan1988 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Bug Thread: Discussion

In a recent MP game I cast Mother Oak and it never started working. There were 4 globals before and after I cast it. I got the message "So and so successfully cast Mother Oak" and the caster didn't die. I lost all the gems, but it never showed up on the global list or took effect.
Reply With Quote
  #2824  
Old December 9th, 2009, 10:11 AM
vfb's Avatar

vfb vfb is offline
General
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Japan
Posts: 3,691
Thanks: 269
Thanked 397 Times in 200 Posts
vfb is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Bug Thread: Discussion

Possible siege behavior bug:

If you are under siege, you can sneak out stealth units. This is not a bug. You cannot click the orders of the unit to change from "Sneak" to "Move (don't sneak)" to attack an adjacent province.

But if you Control-click, orders change from "Sneak" to "Move" and you can attack any province in range out of a besieged castle. Should you be able to do this?
__________________
Whether he submitted the post, or whether he did not, made no difference. The Thought Police would get him just the same. He had committed— would still have committed, even if he had never set pen to paper— the essential crime that contained all others in itself. Thoughtcrime, they called it. Thoughtcrime was not a thing that could be concealed forever.
http://z7.invisionfree.com/Dom3mods/index.php?
Reply With Quote
  #2825  
Old December 9th, 2009, 10:46 AM

thejeff thejeff is offline
General
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 3,327
Thanks: 4
Thanked 133 Times in 117 Posts
thejeff is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Bug Thread: Discussion

Well, it makes sense that if you can sneak out of the castle and into the other province, you could then attack it.

It's a little inconsistent that you can do it one way and not another.
Reply With Quote
  #2826  
Old December 12th, 2009, 08:46 PM

Omnirizon Omnirizon is offline
BANNED USER
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,133
Thanks: 25
Thanked 59 Times in 36 Posts
Omnirizon is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Bug Thread: Discussion

hell, I tried searching for my bug, and this thread comes up, but I don't get forwarded to the exact discussion to see if it is actually the bug I want to post.

So, I post anyway. Sorry if this is a repost.

When in windowed mode, the shift-key doesn't work (ie, can't make uppercase characters, etc). Even when returned back to fullscreen, the problem persists. Have to shut down Dominions, and relaunch to be able to use shift key again.

other keys (alt, cntrl, etc) may also be affected. I didn't test that much.
Reply With Quote
  #2827  
Old December 12th, 2009, 08:59 PM
vfb's Avatar

vfb vfb is offline
General
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Japan
Posts: 3,691
Thanks: 269
Thanked 397 Times in 200 Posts
vfb is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Bug Thread: Discussion

I had this problem when I had to play for a brief time in Windows (XP I think). I fixed it by turning on the "Handicapped" (or whatever -- can't remember exactly what it's called) option that lets you press the Shift key, release it, then press the key you want to capitalize.
__________________
Whether he submitted the post, or whether he did not, made no difference. The Thought Police would get him just the same. He had committed— would still have committed, even if he had never set pen to paper— the essential crime that contained all others in itself. Thoughtcrime, they called it. Thoughtcrime was not a thing that could be concealed forever.
http://z7.invisionfree.com/Dom3mods/index.php?
Reply With Quote
  #2828  
Old December 13th, 2009, 03:34 PM

Loren Loren is offline
First Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 739
Thanks: 1
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Loren is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Bug Thread: Discussion

I have never seen this but I have seen a related bug in Windows that might possibly be responsible.

This bug was all over the place in Windows 98. I have never caught it happening in XP so I don't know if it was fixed or not.

Under 98 at least the system would lose actions involving the special keys (ctrl, alt & shift) that happened during a video mode change, including into/out-of a DirectX game even if the screen size remained the same. (Whether it lost others or not I don't know, it was only these that were apparent as they have meaning while held down rather than when pressed.)

The result would be that the system would believe the key was in a different state than it was and do all sorts of evil to what you typed until you figured it out. Note that the left and right keys are separate as far as this bug is concerned. Thus if you get the right shift stuck down you can bang the left shift until the sun goes old and it won't help. Hit the right shift once and the problem is fixed.

It happened to me enough that my immediate response to wonky keys is to press all 6 special keys.
Reply With Quote
  #2829  
Old December 15th, 2009, 05:07 PM
Squirrelloid Squirrelloid is offline
Major General
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,157
Thanks: 69
Thanked 116 Times in 73 Posts
Squirrelloid is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Bug Thread: Discussion

Weird bug:
Admiral Torgrin attacks my province. I kill the armada, but one of my non-PD commanders who happened to be there runs away.

In the turn the battle was in my messages, I go to look for the commander and the commander has totally disappeared (not in any surrounding provinces). I use 'n' to try to find them with next commander - no luck. I use F1 to look through my commanders to find them (no luck). They are simply not there.

The turn following that the commander has reappeared in a valid province that they could have retreated to.

So, where did they go for one turn? And wha...huh?
Reply With Quote
  #2830  
Old December 15th, 2009, 05:31 PM

Trumanator Trumanator is offline
BANNED USER
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Tacoma WA, USA
Posts: 1,314
Thanks: 103
Thanked 72 Times in 50 Posts
Trumanator is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Bug Thread: Discussion

Was the commander stealthy? I've had that happen with Skaven a lot. I get defeated, all my troops and commanders dissapear, then reappear the next turn in valid retreat provs.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2022, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.