PDA

View Full Version : Defense: sats and stations

stoicFaux
October 15th, 2000, 07:24 PM
Total newbie here. Just started playing SEIV .99 demo and have a few questions.

I ran a few satellites and space stations in the simulator and the defending planet got creamed. (We're talking CSM level 2.)

The placement of satellites and space stations seems totally inadequate for planetary protection. Either I'm missing something or I'd better use ships and weapon platforms for defense.

I was hoping that sats and stations would be a nice, cheap, and quick means of putting up a defense around a planet w/o having to shuffle and pay maintenance on a fleet of ships.

And where can I get more info on the game? The tutorial was short, and there are no doc files. :-(

Taqwus
October 15th, 2000, 08:00 PM
If you must defend a planet... hrm.

Your options are something like the following, all with good / bad points.

- Ships. Extremely expensive (maintenance is something like 20% base cost per turn, IIRC). But mobile and you may be able to engage attackers far enough away so they don't hit the planet itself.

- Bases. A large, immobile ship variant. Expensive (again, 20% IIRC), and randomly placed, so with only one unless you have a range advantage the attacker can hit the planet from the other side. Benefit can be that it's hard to kill (shields now regenerate fully between battles on the same turn), and can have Massive weapons, but again, you need numbers... which gets expensive.

- Weapon platforms. Big (even the small ones are 200kt, and they don't need engines, life support, etc), but immobile. So you need a mix of something like point defense (to shoot down incoming missiles, as the planet cannot run away...), missiles and good beam weapons (for the enemies who bring enough PD to shoot down your missiles, or are fast enough to simply dodge them). They might be able to chew up many bomber and troop transport designs, however, so at least you might be able to avoid those.