.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

Raging Tiger- Save $9.00
World Supremacy- Save $9.00

Go Back   .com.unity Forums > Illwinter Game Design > Dominions 2: The Ascension Wars

Old May 11th, 2004, 09:03 PM

Private

DeaconBone is on a distinguished road
Default Combat Process Spelled Out Anywhere?

Greetings

I really liked the demo so now I bought this game.

I am just learning the game (I just got it in the mail)as time allows. Forgive me if this is answered elsewhere. Is there anywhere that spells out what actually just took place in each combat session? Like who hit what and did what to whom and what they rolled. I would really like to see detailed reports.

Also, if you have any tips to help me learn this game, let me know.
Old May 13th, 2004, 07:55 PM

Private

Default Re: Combat Process Spelled Out Anywhere?

In addition to my first question I want to say that I am having fun learning to play even though I am getting beat up really bad by the AI on Easy! I am in my 3rd game this time as Atlantis with all other races activated. Doing a bit better each game.....
Old May 13th, 2004, 10:16 PM

General

Kristoffer O is on a distinguished road

There is no spelling out what happens during a turn. Some people have wished this, but we have decided against it. Even the smallest battle would give you pages of rolls and numbers.

There is a good walkthru by Bruce Geryk http://www.illwinter.com/dom2/walkthru.html

Asking here is also a good way of getting tips. People are generally friendly and will quickly answer most questions.

Avoid questions like: 'what is the best...', 'what should I research'. This kind of questions tend to generate answers like: 'it depends ... blah ... blah...'
Might be informative, but is often more confusing I'd say.

'What is...', 'how do I...' and 'what should I do in this situation' is probably better questions.

[ May 13, 2004, 21:17: Message edited by: Kristoffer O ]