ATF: Armored Task Force- Save $8.00
War Plan Pacific- Save $8.00

Go Back   .com.unity Forums > Shrapnel Community > Space Empires: IV & V

Old November 24th, 2002, 09:20 PM

Private

doctahg is on a distinguished road
Default Newbie has questions!

Hi everyone,
I'm new to this sort of game so had a few questions...Everyone says populate your own galaxy as much as possible...since there's only 1 oxygen planet should I research Gas and ice colonization first? These take forever! I'm totally lost on research..I understand it BUT I have no clue where to start. I read a FAQ, but it's all encompassing and it doesn't really help with the first 50 or so turns. SHould I populate mining colonies with more people? Does that do anything? I thought settling on a nonoxygen colony is under a dome? DO you need to research the gas/ise first for this to work? and so on...a few pointers would be helpful!
Thanks for any help!
Doc
Old November 24th, 2002, 09:28 PM

National Security Advisor

geoschmo is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Newbie has questions!

http://www.shrapnelgames.com/cgi-bin...3;t=000570;p=2

or the same thread, in reverse order. (More comfortable for some people.)

http://www.shrapnelgames.com/cgi-bin...;f=23;t=000570

and

http://www.shrapnelgames.com/cgi-bin...;f=23;t=005518

[ November 24, 2002, 19:30: Message edited by: geoschmo ]
Old November 24th, 2002, 09:42 PM

Sergeant

Desdinova is on a distinguished road

if you have encountered any races i would suggest trading technology to get the diferent colonization techs.
Old November 24th, 2002, 11:31 PM

General

capnq is on a distinguished road

Quote:
should I research Gas and ice colonization first? These take forever!
This is a good place to use Divide Points Evenly. Put a cheaper tech in the queue, add one of the colonization techs, and turn off Divide Points Evenly when you can complete the cheaper tech in one turn.