.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

Raging Tiger- Save $8.00
winSPMBT: Main Battle Tank- Save $5.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > The Camo Workshop > WinSPMBT
Notices


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old November 5th, 2011, 08:06 PM
EOT's Avatar

EOT EOT is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 53
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
EOT is on a distinguished road
Bug IED bug?

Scenerio: I had a scouting motorized unit move up a road to recce in advance of my lead formation. Once I was close enough I unloaded my foot patrol to screen ahead of my scout vehicle. My 4 man patrol than was hit by road IED. Instead of my foot patrol taking the damage from the IED my scout vehicle was blown to bits. My scout vehicle was 300m away from the IED contact. This has happened numerous times while playing battles with Taliban insurgents.

Has anybody else had this happened to them?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old November 5th, 2011, 08:53 PM
Mobhack's Avatar

Mobhack Mobhack is online now
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dundee
Posts: 5,379
Thanks: 110
Thanked 1,343 Times in 924 Posts
Mobhack is on a distinguished road
Default Re: IED bug?

Quote:
Originally Posted by EOT View Post
Scenerio: I had a scouting motorized unit move up a road to recce in advance of my lead formation. Once I was close enough I unloaded my foot patrol to screen ahead of my scout vehicle. My 4 man patrol than was hit by road IED. Instead of my foot patrol taking the damage from the IED my scout vehicle was blown to bits. My scout vehicle was 300m away from the IED contact. This has happened numerous times while playing battles with Taliban insurgents.

Has anybody else had this happened to them?
If it was a fertiliser bomb IED, then that has quite a large blast radius - so your vehicle may well have been inside that (depending where the bomb was)?.

I have not let one off with the blast circles feature turned on for some time now - but 6 hexes may well be the case for it.

So - I set up a simple test, buying zillions of the large IED for Mujadeen and set blast radius on after auto-deploying. Blast circle is in the 5-6 hex range, so your vehicle (esp if soft) may well have just been in the blast zone, depending where the IED was in relation to your patrol when it went off.

Cheers
Andy
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Mobhack For This Useful Post:
  #3  
Old November 5th, 2011, 10:41 PM
EOT's Avatar

EOT EOT is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 53
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
EOT is on a distinguished road
Default Re: IED bug?

I didn't realize the IED warhead size was a 96! Your right the blast radius was 4-6 hex. My LAV was not moving at the time of the blast.
No wonder alot of energy and research are being spent on upgrading vehicles against IED's attacks or detecting them.


On the flip side can IED's and booby traps be command detonated by Mujadeen OB or is this an automatic game feature?

Thanks Andy
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old November 6th, 2011, 12:12 AM
Mobhack's Avatar

Mobhack Mobhack is online now
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dundee
Posts: 5,379
Thanks: 110
Thanked 1,343 Times in 924 Posts
Mobhack is on a distinguished road
Default Re: IED bug?

Command detonated (F key), if in radio contact (and the AI has code to do so if enemy is spotted near one).

Andy
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Mobhack For This Useful Post:
  #5  
Old November 6th, 2011, 10:08 AM
Suhiir's Avatar

Suhiir Suhiir is offline
Major General
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 2,395
Thanks: 320
Thanked 563 Times in 434 Posts
Suhiir is on a distinguished road
Default Re: IED bug?

I personally modified the OOB's so "IED" is now "Fertiliser Bomb" and left them in trucks and created a new IED with a warhead = 24 and HE Kill = 48.

In reality most IEDs are a merely an old artillery shell not a huge Fertiliser Bomb. WinSPMBT currently assumes every IED is a truck bomb so if you attempt to play vs the AI you will get dozens of them every battle. By cutting them down to a reasonable size they're still deadly but no longer destroying entire platoons with each and every blast.

That's my solution to the "issue" and NOT official policy.
__________________
Suhiir - Wargame Junkie

People should not be afraid of their governments. Governments should be afraid of their people.

"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe." - Albert Einstein
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Suhiir For This Useful Post:
  #6  
Old November 6th, 2011, 10:14 AM
EOT's Avatar

EOT EOT is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 53
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
EOT is on a distinguished road
Default Re: IED bug?

Just when you think you've mastered SPMBT, you discover new features to challenge your tactics! Slow $ Easy I guess

Thanks Andy

Rick
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old November 6th, 2011, 10:25 AM
EOT's Avatar

EOT EOT is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 53
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
EOT is on a distinguished road
Default Re: IED bug?

Suhiir, I modified a suicide bomber into motorcycle unit with an explosive vest. I didn't modify the weapon values because some of these IED's are huge.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old November 6th, 2011, 11:16 AM
Suhiir's Avatar

Suhiir Suhiir is offline
Major General
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 2,395
Thanks: 320
Thanked 563 Times in 434 Posts
Suhiir is on a distinguished road
Default Re: IED bug?

I've spent some time playing with explosion effects in WinSPMBT trying to come up with values that seem to work (in my opinion) better.

Warhead while it effects destructive power seems to primarily determine blast radius.

HE (or AP) Kill is primarily destructive power and has little to no effect on blast radius.

I'm thinking that a smaller Warhead value with probably a larger HE/AP Kill may better simulate IEDs. And on occasion I make and test new versions trying to find the right values to generate the effect I'm looking for.
__________________
Suhiir - Wargame Junkie

People should not be afraid of their governments. Governments should be afraid of their people.

"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe." - Albert Einstein
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old November 6th, 2011, 01:32 PM
DRG's Avatar

DRG DRG is offline
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: GWN
Posts: 9,971
Thanks: 2,072
Thanked 3,103 Times in 1,565 Posts
DRG will become famous soon enough
Default Re: IED bug?

IED's have already been adjusted in the OOB's for next years release


Don
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to DRG For This Useful Post:
  #10  
Old November 12th, 2011, 11:33 PM

cbreedon cbreedon is offline
Sergeant
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 314
Thanks: 177
Thanked 19 Times in 18 Posts
cbreedon is on a distinguished road
Default Re: IED bug?

I thought I had read somewhere that you could target IED's and trigger their explosion. I haven't been able to do that. Did I miss-read something or is there a way to take out IED's before they explode?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
bug, ied

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2020, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.