.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

Air Assault Task Force- Save $8.00
Air Command 3.0- Save $12.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > The Camo Workshop > WinSPWW2
Notices


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old April 20th, 2011, 10:15 AM
manteuffel's Avatar

manteuffel manteuffel is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 32
Thanks: 12
Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
manteuffel is on a distinguished road
Confused SHPedit Help Needed

I almost have SHPedit working but I keep getting stuck at one part when I want to incorporate my new shapefile into the game. This is what typically happens...

-I load palette, upload shapefile, view shapefile "Icon0095" to determine number to edit "43", download it as a bitmap, edit it, upload the new bitmap,

[here is where it gets tricky for me] change that bitmap into a shapefile "the bitmap gray background turns to light blue", then I select "replace old shp with new" button...

So now I am a little lost. I've tried to rename both "bignew" and "newshp" but 1.] Can't find them in regular windows (when not in SHPedit) and 2.] When I rename them in SHPedit they become an icon with a lock next to it.

ANY help would be awesome and I can be more detailed if you need it.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old April 20th, 2011, 12:02 PM
Roman's Avatar

Roman Roman is offline
Second Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Córdoba-Argentina
Posts: 518
Thanks: 30
Thanked 35 Times in 30 Posts
Roman is on a distinguished road
Default Re: SHPedit Help Needed

Ask Cross that he knows much about it. Cross has a tutorial on Winspmbt.
http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/showthread.php?t=47320
__________________
Greeting
Roman.
Argentina 2014 World Cup champion
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Roman For This Useful Post:
  #3  
Old April 20th, 2011, 01:56 PM
manteuffel's Avatar

manteuffel manteuffel is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 32
Thanks: 12
Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
manteuffel is on a distinguished road
Default Re: SHPedit Help Needed

Thanks a lot I will check this out!
__________________
“You cannot be disciplined in great things and indiscipline in small things. Brave undisciplined men have no chance against the discipline and valor of other men. Have you ever seen a few policemen handle a crowd?”
-General George S. Patton Jr
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old April 21st, 2011, 07:58 AM
DRG's Avatar

DRG DRG is offline
Shrapnel Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: GWN
Posts: 10,200
Thanks: 2,194
Thanked 3,379 Times in 1,678 Posts
DRG will become famous soon enough
Default Re: SHPedit Help Needed

Once you add a new SHP, BIGNEW.shp is created. If you have further editing you use that NOT the original SHP. When you are done normally you delete the old shp and rename BIGNEW to that deleted SHP's name but when starting out I would recommend you simply rename Icon0095.shp to XIcon0095.shp then rename BIGNew as Icon0095.shp as a safely.

Ignore NEWSHP

BIGNew gets created in the SHP folder of the file you are editing. I've never seen this lock issue

Don
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to DRG For This Useful Post:
  #5  
Old April 23rd, 2011, 11:08 AM
manteuffel's Avatar

manteuffel manteuffel is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 32
Thanks: 12
Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
manteuffel is on a distinguished road
Default Re: SHPedit Help Needed

Okay guys ran into another error. I used the tutorial on how to edit icons
http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/showt...highlight=icon
but I got stuck at step 7. I think this is the problem.

When I search for the new shp file named BIGNEW it is not there however I can see the regular program shp files just fine.

I researched the "locked icon" and it probably has something to do with access permission because every time I mess with a shp file it needs my administrator permission. As soon as an icon's data is changed the lock appears. This doesn't happen if I simply rename an icon file (ex: Icon0095.shp to XIcon0095). Any advise?

If I can't figure out how to get the locks off would someone be willing to simply change some bitmaps into shp files for me?
__________________
“You cannot be disciplined in great things and indiscipline in small things. Brave undisciplined men have no chance against the discipline and valor of other men. Have you ever seen a few policemen handle a crowd?”
-General George S. Patton Jr
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old April 23rd, 2011, 12:39 PM
Mobhack's Avatar

Mobhack Mobhack is offline
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dundee
Posts: 5,436
Thanks: 130
Thanked 1,371 Times in 942 Posts
Mobhack is on a distinguished road
Default Re: SHPedit Help Needed

Quote:
Originally Posted by manteuffel View Post
Okay guys ran into another error. I used the tutorial on how to edit icons
http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/showt...highlight=icon
but I got stuck at step 7. I think this is the problem.

When I search for the new shp file named BIGNEW it is not there however I can see the regular program shp files just fine.

I researched the "locked icon" and it probably has something to do with access permission because every time I mess with a shp file it needs my administrator permission. As soon as an icon's data is changed the lock appears. This doesn't happen if I simply rename an icon file (ex: Icon0095.shp to XIcon0095). Any advise?

If I can't figure out how to get the locks off would someone be willing to simply change some bitmaps into shp files for me?
Since you are talking about the O/S moaning at you for permissions, then you have either Windows Vista or Seven?.

If so - have you got the programmes installed in the /program files/ managed hierarchy?. if so, those Operating Systems will try to "nanny" your files. Some that it thinks are data files will be squirrelled away under your user profile instead of being put into the correct game working folders etc.

The cure is to reinstall to a folder entirely outside of /program files/, when the nanny functions will not get in the way.

That works for any programmes written before Windows Vista arrived - not just this game.

Cheers
Andy
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Mobhack For This Useful Post:
  #7  
Old April 23rd, 2011, 02:31 PM
manteuffel's Avatar

manteuffel manteuffel is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 32
Thanks: 12
Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
manteuffel is on a distinguished road
Default Re: SHPedit Help Needed

Thanks for that. Cross was talking to me earlier about that and I can't believe that windows 7 could mess my stuff up that bad! I was going crazy because the manual on SHPedit didn't mention "hidden files."

Now I have another question. After moving everything I was able to save my shp file edits and they are actually changed. So I load my new Icon0095 and expect to see a new flag there...nope! Its the old flag still with no Icon0095 supporting that flag. Nuts! I feel so close and so far.
__________________
“You cannot be disciplined in great things and indiscipline in small things. Brave undisciplined men have no chance against the discipline and valor of other men. Have you ever seen a few policemen handle a crowd?”
-General George S. Patton Jr
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old April 23rd, 2011, 05:38 PM
Mobhack's Avatar

Mobhack Mobhack is offline
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dundee
Posts: 5,436
Thanks: 130
Thanked 1,371 Times in 942 Posts
Mobhack is on a distinguished road
Default Re: SHPedit Help Needed

Quote:
Originally Posted by manteuffel View Post
Thanks for that. Cross was talking to me earlier about that and I can't believe that windows 7 could mess my stuff up that bad! I was going crazy because the manual on SHPedit didn't mention "hidden files."

Now I have another question. After moving everything I was able to save my shp file edits and they are actually changed. So I load my new Icon0095 and expect to see a new flag there...nope! Its the old flag still with no Icon0095 supporting that flag. Nuts! I feel so close and so far.
Don't move your files to a new folder - since Windows vista/seven has squirrelled some files in weird places then they will be lost (or the links to them) if you do so.

Copy any working files to a safe place, then reinstall from scratch to a folder outside of /program files/. Then copy over any saved working files.

All that is covered in the sticky re windows seven and vista installation at the top of the forum, already.


Andy
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old April 26th, 2011, 03:05 AM
manteuffel's Avatar

manteuffel manteuffel is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 32
Thanks: 12
Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
manteuffel is on a distinguished road
Confused Re: SHPedit Help Needed

Weird. I relocated all shrapnel files outside of "program files" and it solved the lock errors but I'm still having a bit of a weird problem.

-The shp file I changed was edited using the palette for spww2.
-The original shp name was changed to OLDIcon0095.shp.
-The new shp is named Icon0095.
-When I was done editing I restarted the computer (Just because).

-I launched the program annnnnnd...no changes

What is weird is the program is using the old icon file when the old icon file isn't even there.
__________________
“You cannot be disciplined in great things and indiscipline in small things. Brave undisciplined men have no chance against the discipline and valor of other men. Have you ever seen a few policemen handle a crowd?”
-General George S. Patton Jr
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old April 26th, 2011, 07:16 AM
Cross's Avatar

Cross Cross is offline
Captain
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: UK / USA
Posts: 895
Thanks: 32
Thanked 279 Times in 123 Posts
Cross is on a distinguished road
Default Re: SHPedit Help Needed

Quote:
Originally Posted by manteuffel View Post
-The original shp name was changed to OLDIcon0095.shp.
-The new shp is named Icon0095.
-When I was done editing I restarted the computer (Just because).

-I launched the program annnnnnd...no changes

What is weird is the program is using the old icon file when the old icon file isn't even there.
Are you sure you edited the icon/icons that you think you edited?

Icon0095 is flags. Are you editing menu flags, or battle ID Tag flags?

Cross
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
bignew, edit, shp, shpedit

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2020, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.