.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

Raging Tiger- Save $9.00
World Supremacy- Save $9.00

Go Back   .com.unity Forums > Illwinter Game Design > Dominions 3: The Awakening

Old July 2nd, 2007, 12:54 PM

National Security Advisor

llamabeast will become famous soon enoughllamabeast will become famous soon enough
Default \'Heim nerf mod?

It seems like there is still a lot of strong feeling that Vanheim is still overpowered and not really fun to play against. So, as has been suggested a number of times, why don't we make a mod to slightly nerf them for MP play?

Nations that might need some amount of nerfing:

MA Vanheim
EA Helheim
EA Vanheim
EA Niefelheim (considered less of a problem apparently, but still miserable to try to stop early game to my mind)

Now, I'm not an expert on any of these nations, but I'd be happy to put a mod together, being as it's a tiny job once we work out what changes we'd like.

So, questions for the community:

- Is my list of races correct? (especially Niefelheim, perhaps there are good counters I never worked out?)
- Would people be happy to use a mod in MP?
- What changes would you suggest?

I'd be very much inclined to err on the side of subtlety, rather than ending up making these nations weak. These nations are after all meant to be strong bless nations. My goal would be to leave them strong, but make it such that players fighting would feel they had some chance if they were skillful and came up with a good strategy. So I'd imagine something like knocking off a couple of points of defence on the Vans, a couple of points of protection off the giants, or other small changes along those lines.

As I say I have very little experience with any of these nations, so I'm completely relying on the community to guide me. I expect there will be controversy - I'll try to take the average view!
A compilation of high quality mod nations: Expanded Nations Packs
Old July 2nd, 2007, 01:00 PM

General