.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

Raging Tiger- Save $9.00
World Supremacy- Save $9.00

Go Back   .com.unity Forums > Illwinter Game Design > Dominions 2: The Ascension Wars

Old February 25th, 2004, 04:13 AM

Private

mlepinski is on a distinguished road
Default Tatics and Melee Commanders

I'm new to the game and I haven't figured out yet how to get good mileage out of melee commanders with good statistics. I've observed that if I put some nice magic weapon/armor on commander, I end up with a pretty impressive melee unit. However, I'm not sure what to do with him in combat.

It seems if I put him behind the troops he commands then he stands around watching while the infantry in front of him get slaughtered. And if I put him in front of the troops he commands then he's likely to be the first person to reach the enemy and he gets surouunds and killed (but at least he takes some of them down with him).

Perhpas what I need to do is put him off to the side? Or perhaps clump all of my melee comanders together so that none of them can be surrouned?

Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks,
- Matt Lepinski :->
Old February 25th, 2004, 04:42 AM

Major General

Saber Cherry is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Tatics and Melee Commanders

Unfortunately, I find melee commanders to be either disposible or invincible. Using multiple forges on disposable commanders (aside from a single elemental resistance / water-breathing / flying / arrow resistance / magic unit command / supply-bonus item, depending on the opponent and troops) is a bad idea. Melee forges like swords, helmets, shields, and armors are excellent on invincible supercombattants, and nearly worthless on mortals. Take your choice - forge logistical items (above) or ranged items like bows, lifelong protections, wands of wildfire, and such for mortal commanders, or melee items for invincible commanders. But never vice-versa.