.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

Air Assault Task Force- Save $9.00
Bronze- Save $9.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > Illwinter Game Design > Dominions 3: The Awakening

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old November 5th, 2007, 10:26 PM

Lord_Drakken Lord_Drakken is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Lord_Drakken is on a distinguished road
Default A holy diplomacy question?

My fist few games I played as Ulm. so when I tried a new nation I was surprised to see the holy limit on unit building. My question is can you raise this limit or is it set?

Second is there any diplomacy or do you stay at war with someone for the entire game?

thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old November 5th, 2007, 10:32 PM

Shovah32 Shovah32 is offline
Brigadier General
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 1,923
Thanks: 2
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Shovah32 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: A holy diplomacy question?

The holy limit applies to sacred units only(which you probably know). It is equal to the amount of dominion you picked for your pretender and is raised by 1 for every 5 temples you build.
There is no diplomacy when fighting against the ai. They may declare war against you without warning(you will recieve a message) and sometimes they will stop the fighting without a message.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old November 5th, 2007, 10:35 PM

Lord_Drakken Lord_Drakken is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Lord_Drakken is on a distinguished road
Default Re: A holy diplomacy question?

Thanks for the information. wierd that there is no peace message?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old November 5th, 2007, 10:50 PM

llamabeast llamabeast is offline
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 5,921
Thanks: 194
Thanked 855 Times in 291 Posts
llamabeast will become famous soon enoughllamabeast will become famous soon enough
Default Re: A holy diplomacy question?

Indeed, it is weird.
__________________
www.llamaserver.net
LlamaServer FAQ
My mod nations: Tomb Kings and Vampire Counts
A compilation of high quality mod nations: Expanded Nations Packs
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old November 6th, 2007, 03:48 AM
Lingchih's Avatar

Lingchih Lingchih is offline
General
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 3,207
Thanks: 54
Thanked 60 Times in 35 Posts
Lingchih is on a distinguished road
Default Re: A holy diplomacy question?

You do indeed stay at war for the entire game. The AI bases it's war declarations on how many troops you have. If you have less than it, it may declare war. If you later build up a superior force to the AI, then it may not attack you again, although you are still at war. You can sometimes ignore an AI nation that you have totally overpowered, even if it has declared war, since it will most likely not attack you again.
__________________
Be forewarned, anything I post is probably either 1) Sophomoric humor, 2) Satire, 3) A gross exaggeration of the power I currently possess, 4) An outright lie, or 5) Drunken ramblings.

I occasionally post something useful.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old November 6th, 2007, 01:07 PM
Edratman's Avatar

Edratman Edratman is offline
First Lieutenant
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Reading, PA
Posts: 724
Thanks: 93
Thanked 37 Times in 27 Posts
Edratman is on a distinguished road
Default Re: A holy diplomacy question?

I find the AI declares war often when I haven't even found a single province of that nation. I have noticed that I usually soon find that nation with a scout so that means that the AI sees my scout in some manner. It is also common that the AI nation is well removed from my provinces.

I put AI declarations of war into 2 categories:
1. When they are adjacent I get the declaration of war on the same turn they attacked my provinces. Sort of like Pearl Harbor.
2. The declaration of war occurs when they are not even close. When we do end up having adjacent provinces they don't attack until they have assembled a large force, which sometimes never happens.
__________________
Men do not quit playing because they grow old; they grow old because they quit playing.
Oliver Wendell Holmes
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old November 6th, 2007, 02:44 PM

konming konming is offline
Second Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 525
Thanks: 17
Thanked 17 Times in 10 Posts
konming is on a distinguished road
Default Re: A holy diplomacy question?

AI delcarations of war expires when you do not face each other (i.e. have no adjacent provinces). Scout does not count.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old November 9th, 2007, 12:40 PM

Lord_Drakken Lord_Drakken is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Lord_Drakken is on a distinguished road
Default Re: A holy diplomacy question?

Wow konming that is some useful information to say the least...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old November 9th, 2007, 12:49 PM

thejeff thejeff is offline
General
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 3,327
Thanks: 4
Thanked 133 Times in 117 Posts
thejeff is on a distinguished road
Default Re: A holy diplomacy question?

It's not that simple, I think.

I've had AIs who don't border me declare war and send remote attacks. Then send another remote attack later without a new declaration.

I've also had AIs I've bordered declare war, then after awhile with no conflict, declare it again. (The case I'm remembering our border was a coast, so he couldn't effectively attack me and I had other priorities.)

I think it's just some number of turns without conflict. Which is more likely if you don't share a border.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old November 9th, 2007, 02:20 PM
NTJedi's Avatar

NTJedi NTJedi is offline
General
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: az
Posts: 3,069
Thanks: 41
Thanked 39 Times in 28 Posts
NTJedi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: A holy diplomacy question?

Quote:
thejeff said:
It's not that simple, I think.

I've had AIs who don't border me declare war and send remote attacks. Then send another remote attack later without a new declaration.

I've also had AIs I've bordered declare war, then after awhile with no conflict, declare it again. (The case I'm remembering our border was a coast, so he couldn't effectively attack me and I had other priorities.)

I think it's just some number of turns without conflict. Which is more likely if you don't share a border.
thejeff is right... the AI can attack during the same turn as declaring war, the turn after or not declare war at all yet still attack.
After the AI declares war even if it doesn't have a neighboring province it will attack via spells for several turns. The spells might hurt population, unrest, be an attacking army or something else.

The AI is less likely to go to war if it's already battling a strong opponent and you are at equal level or higher.
__________________
There can be only one.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2019, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.