.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

Raging Tiger- Save $9.00
World Supremacy- Save $9.00

Go Back   .com.unity Forums > Illwinter Game Design > Dominions 3: The Awakening > Scenarios, Maps and Mods

Old August 25th, 2007, 05:48 PM

Sergeant

Zylithan is on a distinguished road
Default Idiot\'s Guide to Making Custom Maps?

Short Version:
Is there such a thing? I can't find one on the forums or the docs coming with the game...

Longer Version:
Apologies for my ignorance.. I am trying to learn how to make some custom maps for Dom3. I'm a noob to playing, and even worse at making maps. I looked through the stickies and forums, and can't find an Idiot's guide. I made some pretty map pictures, and I drew lines on them, and I put white dots in the middle of each province, then I load them into the map editor. And it usually recognizes all the provinces I marked with dots. But there is no or little neighbor connectivity. From the game docs, I gather I could use text editor to fix all of this - but I like GUIs and this seems slow. Is there any way using the map editor? It seems like right and left clicking on the flags help me make neighbors, but they always seem to get erased when I move on to do other provinces. If anyone could help I promise to try to make it worthwhile by making some maps...
If I missed something obvious, apologies!

Thanks!
Old August 25th, 2007, 06:41 PM

Shrapnel Fanatic

Gandalf Parker is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Idiot\'s Guide to Making Custom Maps?

In the map editor :
Left-click will make a neighbor.
Ctrl-click wilol remove a neighbor.
Right-click will shift your attention to another province.

Moving to another province shows its neighbors only. If you move back to one you already did then you will see that it has remembered the neighbors you gave it.

I recommend that you save often.

Gandalf Parker