.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

Raging Tiger- Save $9.00
World Supremacy- Save $9.00

Go Back   .com.unity Forums > Illwinter Game Design > Dominions 3: The Awakening

Old October 18th, 2010, 01:56 PM

Second Lieutenant

JonBrave is on a distinguished road
Default A newbie asks...

OK, so (if I may), here are some random complete newb questions which occur to me. I shall add the odd one as I go.
  • When I tell it to generate a small world (a dozen or so provinces, 1 AI opponent) it takes like 5 minutes to complete. Now, I acknowledge I only have 1Gb of RAM and a CPU that's pretty old, but even so... Civ can make a whole world in fraction of the time. OOI, what in the world is it actually doing that could even begin to take that long??
  • When in Battle View, could moving the mouse to the edge of the screen please scroll? I thought I had seen something saying it did this, but I admit it is not listed in the short cuts.
  • In battles, I'm a little confused about casting distance. Do I have to move my casters to the enemy and/or with my troops so as to get them close to enemy/keep up with my guys for effectiveness? If so with what order?

That'll do for now, 'coz it's my first post
Old October 18th, 2010, 11:59 PM
Major General

Foodstamp is on a distinguished road
Default Re: A newbie asks...

Jon,

Welcome to Dominions!

1. The map generation in Dominions is completely processor based. If you have a multicore processor, it will only use one core, and it is uses as much of the processor as it can get it's hands on. Same thing for turn generation.

2. I don't think this is possible. I have always used the arrow keys.