|
|
|
 |

January 19th, 2008, 10:39 PM
|
 |
Major General
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 2,204
Thanks: 67
Thanked 49 Times in 31 Posts
|
|
Re: Can a Mage be Both Communion Slave *and* Maste
Quote:
DryaUnda said:
Quote:
Jazzepi said:
If your combat order looks like this
SLAVE A
SLAVE B
MASTER C
SLAVE D
Then slave A/B will be able to freely cast spells each round. Master C will then cast a spell. And slave D will sit around soaking up fatigue and looking stupid.
|
What happens if slave A is also a master?
|
If A is a master then B/D will be unable to cast spells, but C will be just fine. Masters never interfere with each other.
Jazzepi
|

January 19th, 2008, 10:42 PM
|
BANNED USER
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 5,463
Thanks: 165
Thanked 324 Times in 190 Posts
|
|
Re: Can a Mage be Both Communion Slave *and* Maste
What if you set A and B to hold for one turn, then cast slave?
Will they still cast spells each round because they are before the master, or not?
|

January 19th, 2008, 10:46 PM
|
 |
Major General
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 2,204
Thanks: 67
Thanked 49 Times in 31 Posts
|
|
Re: Can a Mage be Both Communion Slave *and* Maste
Quote:
Sombre said:
What if you set A and B to hold for one turn, then cast slave?
Will they still cast spells each round because they are before the master, or not?
|
AFAIK the only thing that matters is not /when/ a particular unit becomes a master or a slave, only that ~in a given turn~ if a slave comes before a master in turn order, he will be able to cast.
So I'm 99% certain that a slave that becomes a slave from a matrix before the battle, or one becoming a slave on turn one, or on turn 20, will all be the same way. The next turn after they become a slave, and every turn after that, all that matters is that they come before whatever communion masters you might have.
Jazzepi
|

January 19th, 2008, 10:50 PM
|
BANNED USER
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 5,463
Thanks: 165
Thanked 324 Times in 190 Posts
|
|
Re: Can a Mage be Both Communion Slave *and* Maste
That's pretty annoying.
I never really used communions much and stuff like that isn't encouraging me to.
|

January 19th, 2008, 11:04 PM
|
 |
General
|
|
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Japan
Posts: 3,691
Thanks: 269
Thanked 397 Times in 200 Posts
|
|
Re: Can a Mage be Both Communion Slave *and* Maste
It's not all bad ... it's sometimes possible to micro your casters so that depending on what you are doing, you can have the slaves just soak up fatigue, by having slaves last intentionally (Sauromatia Enarie communion for eternal skelly spam); or contribute to a communion for a boost, but also participate, by having slaves first intentionally (S2 Communion for an Antimagic and some Soul Slays, with the slaves casting Mind Burn or Paralyze).
Sometimes it's tough to get what you want because your communion units are non-homogeneous and you may prefer to have your slaves not casting. They'll usually behave themselves for the 1st to 5th turns at least if you script (Comm Slave, 4*Hold).
It's only when you do want your slaves to cast but they are after your masters (in battle order) that you are really out of luck.
__________________
Whether he submitted the post, or whether he did not, made no difference. The Thought Police would get him just the same. He had committed— would still have committed, even if he had never set pen to paper— the essential crime that contained all others in itself. Thoughtcrime, they called it. Thoughtcrime was not a thing that could be concealed forever.
http://z7.invisionfree.com/Dom3mods/index.php?
|

January 19th, 2008, 11:41 PM
|
Second Lieutenant
|
|
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 434
Thanks: 16
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
|
|
Re: Can a Mage be Both Communion Slave *and* Maste
Quote:
Jazzepi said:
If A is a master then B/D will be unable to cast spells, but C will be just fine. Masters never interfere with each other.
|
And if master C is also a slave?
|

January 19th, 2008, 11:53 PM
|
 |
National Security Advisor
|
|
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Eastern Finland
Posts: 7,110
Thanks: 145
Thanked 153 Times in 101 Posts
|
|
Re: Can a Mage be Both Communion Slave *and* Maste
C won't cast, because he is a slave, and a master has already casted a spell that turn.
|

January 20th, 2008, 05:53 AM
|
 |
Major General
|
|
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Scotland
Posts: 2,066
Thanks: 109
Thanked 162 Times in 118 Posts
|
|
Re: Can a Mage be Both Communion Slave *and* Maste
So basically, a master can also be a slave but the limitations of slave status still apply, often to the caster's detriment.
And the opponent's amusement.
|
Thread Tools |
|
Display Modes |
Hybrid Mode
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is On
|
|
|
|
|