.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

The Falklands War: 1982- Save $9.00
winSPMBT: Main Battle Tank- Save $5.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > Illwinter Game Design > Dominions 3: The Awakening

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old November 25th, 2010, 09:01 AM

Dimaz Dimaz is offline
First Lieutenant
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 660
Thanks: 63
Thanked 75 Times in 31 Posts
Dimaz is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Questions

Quote:
But if mage is 1 level below required and spell costs no more then 1 gem
I think there's a mistake here; the right answer is "mage 1 level below the required spell level and the spell cost in gems +1 is less than or equal to mage level in that path". So you can cast level 4 spells that costs 2 gems with level 3 mage ("Living X" spells are an example).
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old November 25th, 2010, 02:38 PM
WingedDog's Avatar

WingedDog WingedDog is offline
First Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Russia, GMT +3
Posts: 623
Thanks: 117
Thanked 57 Times in 45 Posts
WingedDog is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dimaz View Post
Quote:
But if mage is 1 level below required and spell costs no more then 1 gem
I think there's a mistake here
Right, my mistake. 2 gems is the cap.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old November 25th, 2010, 02:59 PM

Redeyes Redeyes is offline
Second Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 539
Thanks: 15
Thanked 43 Times in 34 Posts
Redeyes is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by WingedDog View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dimaz View Post
Quote:
But if mage is 1 level below required and spell costs no more then 1 gem
I think there's a mistake here
Right, my mistake. 2 gems is the cap.
I don't think so, it's supposed to be that mages can spend at most their spell level in gems at a single spell.

A level 3 mage would be able to cast a level 4 spell if it costs 3 gems or less (up to their level in casting + 1 to increase their level for that specific spell), but not a level 4 spell that costs 4 or more.

As I read it your comment should be that "the cap is the caster's level in the path, +1 to increase his effective casting level."; or what Dimaz said.

Am I wrong?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2025, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.