.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

Bronze- Save $10.00
winSPMBT: Main Battle Tank- Save $5.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > Shrapnel Community > Space Empires: IV & V > SEV Modders Knowledge Base

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #101  
Old October 11th, 2006, 06:17 AM

Barnacle Bill Barnacle Bill is offline
Sergeant
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Somewhere on the wine-dark sea...
Posts: 236
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Barnacle Bill is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Modding SEV Thread Questions

What governs the availability of an empire to include in a new game?

I created a mod for my own preferences (essentially just settings.txt) and basically copied the Terrans to a new name. OK, I start a new game with my mod and run some cheat codes to look at the state of the galaxy - all the usual suspects are there, even though I did not copy them to the "Empires" folder in my mod. That's not really a problem for what I want to do (except maybe I'd like to turn off the Terrans until I've made my own flags, etc...), but what if I was doing a Star Trek mod or something where I didn't want the stock SE races in the game? Is there a way to turn them off in a mod without editing the standard SE data structure?

Also, one of the neutral empires turned up with the same flag as the Terran one that I'm using (temporarily) on my race. Doesn't it check to see if a flag is already in use?
Reply With Quote
  #102  
Old October 11th, 2006, 08:04 AM
Captain Kwok's Avatar

Captain Kwok Captain Kwok is offline
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 5,623
Thanks: 1
Thanked 14 Times in 12 Posts
Captain Kwok is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Modding SEV Thread Questions

The flag problem was corrected in a patch after the version 1.00 build.

The modinfo.txt file included with a mod can specify whether the default empires are added or not.
__________________
Space Empires Depot | SE:V Balance Mod
Reply With Quote
  #103  
Old October 11th, 2006, 08:24 AM
Q's Avatar

Q Q is offline
Colonel
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,661
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Q is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Modding SEV Thread Questions

What are the minimum files needed for a mod in SE V?
Just the data files?
Reply With Quote
  #104  
Old October 11th, 2006, 09:41 AM
Captain Kwok's Avatar

Captain Kwok Captain Kwok is offline
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 5,623
Thanks: 1
Thanked 14 Times in 12 Posts
Captain Kwok is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Modding SEV Thread Questions

You need a 192x192 image (can just copy the standard one) along with a modinfo.txt file. For the data files, you just need to include the ones you have modified.
__________________
Space Empires Depot | SE:V Balance Mod
Reply With Quote
  #105  
Old October 11th, 2006, 10:14 AM
Q's Avatar

Q Q is offline
Colonel
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,661
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Q is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Modding SEV Thread Questions

Excellent, so you can easily create test-Mods, where you only change a few items.
Thank you for you answer Kwok.
Reply With Quote
  #106  
Old October 11th, 2006, 04:35 PM
Kana's Avatar

Kana Kana is offline
Captain
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 962
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Kana is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Modding SEV Thread Questions

Quote:
Captain Kwok said:
You need a 192x192 image (can just copy the standard one) along with a modinfo.txt file. For the data files, you just need to include the ones you have modified.
What image? Whats it do?
Reply With Quote
  #107  
Old October 11th, 2006, 04:40 PM

Phoenix-D Phoenix-D is offline
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 5,085
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Phoenix-D is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Modding SEV Thread Questions

Its just an icon that shows up when picking a game type in the main screen. You don't actually need it- if its not there SEV uses the default icon.
__________________
Phoenix-D

I am not senile. I just talk to myself because the rest of you don't provide adequate conversation.
-Digger
Reply With Quote
  #108  
Old October 11th, 2006, 04:40 PM
Captain Kwok's Avatar

Captain Kwok Captain Kwok is offline
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 5,623
Thanks: 1
Thanked 14 Times in 12 Posts
Captain Kwok is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Modding SEV Thread Questions

It's the image displayed when choosing "Game Type". If you don't include one it might just use the default but I've never tried it.
__________________
Space Empires Depot | SE:V Balance Mod
Reply With Quote
  #109  
Old October 11th, 2006, 04:45 PM

Phoenix-D Phoenix-D is offline
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 5,085
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Phoenix-D is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Modding SEV Thread Questions

A few modding tricks:
If you have a lot of components, some of them might be obselete at high tech levels, and unlike SE4 it doesn't seem like you can get rid of them.

But this isn't correct. All components take formulas for their requirements, and those accept "less than" as an option. So you can make a component that disappears once some research level is reached, and a better replacement becomes available.

Say you want the Cannon to appear from levels 1-5 in Projectile Weapons, where its replaced by the DUC. You'd put this in the requirement field:
(Get_Empire_Tech_Level("Projectile Weapons") >= 1) AND (Get_Empire_Tech_Level("Projectile Weapons") <= 5)

the (s are important- they let SEV know where a funtion like Get_Empire_Tech_Level ends.
__________________
Phoenix-D

I am not senile. I just talk to myself because the rest of you don't provide adequate conversation.
-Digger
Reply With Quote
  #110  
Old October 11th, 2006, 05:34 PM
Kana's Avatar

Kana Kana is offline
Captain
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 962
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Kana is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Modding SEV Thread Questions

Quote:
Phoenix-D said:
A few modding tricks:
If you have a lot of components, some of them might be obselete at high tech levels, and unlike SE4 it doesn't seem like you can get rid of them.

But this isn't correct. All components take formulas for their requirements, and those accept "less than" as an option. So you can make a component that disappears once some research level is reached, and a better replacement becomes available.

Say you want the Cannon to appear from levels 1-5 in Projectile Weapons, where its replaced by the DUC. You'd put this in the requirement field:
(Get_Empire_Tech_Level("Projectile Weapons") >= 1) AND (Get_Empire_Tech_Level("Projectile Weapons") <= 5)

the (s are important- they let SEV know where a funtion like Get_Empire_Tech_Level ends.
If I understand how this is working...

Do you think you could do this in the Vehicle Size file, in conjunction with other vehicle models...?

So basically for example, you have a Original series Star Treck Constitution class ship, and then when you get to a certain level of ship construction, you could upgrade to the Movie era ship image, yet they are all in the say class level of ship?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2022, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.