.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

Raging Tiger- Save $9.00
World Supremacy- Save $9.00

Go Back   .com.unity Forums > Illwinter Game Design > Dominions 3: The Awakening

Old June 1st, 2008, 12:12 AM

Corporal

Raiel is on a distinguished road
Default How weak is the AI... really?

I've been playing Dominions for about 4 years, now... and my preferred settings have always been:

Orania
Very Difficult Research
Maximum Number of AIs (Defensive)
All AIs Impossible

Now, I've been lurking for a few months and I understand that performance against the AI is not a good measure of multi-player skill. I consistently win against the above set-up with the following races:

EA:
Ulm
Sauromatia
Abysia
Caelum
Pangea
Agartha
Tir
Fomoria
Vans
Kailasa
Yomi

MA:
Pythium
Marignon
Pangea
Vans
Bandar Log
R'lyeh

And a couple from LA...

I am frequently beaten with any other race, though. Are these setting insane, or do I really have that much more to learn?
Old June 1st, 2008, 12:24 AM

General

Lingchih is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How weak is the AI... really?

Well, the AI does not do things that real live players will do. There is really no comparison between AI games and MP games. The things that you have learned playing the AI are helpful, but in MP all that goes out the window.

I occasionally post something useful.
Old June 1st, 2008, 12:29 AM

Major General

Jazzepi is on a distinguished road

The AI is garbage. It doesn't manage its troops properly. It doesn't research properly. It doesn't have any concept of strategy beyond "attack province". Blood nations often times die because they can't feed their own domininon.

Their biggest weakness is the absolute inability to deal with SCs or thugs. But in general, almost nothing from SP translates into real MP.

Jazzepi
Old June 1st, 2008, 12:39 AM

Corporal

Raiel is on a distinguished road

I'm actully glad to hear that about MP... but that was the impression I had already.