.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

BCT Commander- Save $5.00
winSPWW2- Save $5.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > ProSimCo > BCT, ATF, AATF and Battle Group Commander Series
Notices


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old October 4th, 2010, 08:15 AM

stepheng98 stepheng98 is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 49
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 3 Posts
stepheng98 is on a distinguished road
Question Platoons, companies etc.

Hello all.
It may sound like a simple question, but is the company 'marker' just that, a marker or is it a functional unit ? As an example, taking the DMZ Sweep II scenario from Raging Tiger and the US force. Moving the platoons on their own is no problem but obviously this leaves the company 'marker' behind. If I want to move the company 'marker' then that's easy to do but it of course selects the entire company for movement too. I release I could detach a platoon to move it on its own so that solves the problem but if I don't move the company 'marker' will this create problems for command etc. ?

Regards

Stephen Gray
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old October 6th, 2010, 11:51 AM
Patrick Proctor's Avatar

Patrick Proctor Patrick Proctor is offline
Brigadier General
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Manhattan, KS, USA
Posts: 1,909
Thanks: 0
Thanked 21 Times in 12 Posts
Patrick Proctor is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Platoons, companies etc.

The company marker sits on the company commander, who is a physical unit in the game. And you CAN give orders to the whole company, just as you can to a platoon.
__________________
PAT PROCTOR
ProSIM Company
http://www.prosimco.com/writing
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old October 6th, 2010, 12:08 PM

stepheng98 stepheng98 is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 49
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 3 Posts
stepheng98 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Platoons, companies etc.

OK, thanks. How do I move the commander without affecting all the other units for example ? i.e I want to move the platoons to their final destination and then move the commander without then affecting the movement orders of the platoons.

SPG
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old October 6th, 2010, 12:48 PM

Shorty Shorty is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts: 169
Thanks: 1
Thanked 28 Times in 4 Posts
Shorty is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Platoons, companies etc.

You will have to detach the platoons that you want to move idependantly.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old October 6th, 2010, 01:40 PM

stepheng98 stepheng98 is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 49
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 3 Posts
stepheng98 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Platoons, companies etc.

OK, understood. Getting there !

SPG
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2021, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.