This Month's Specials

Raging Tiger- Save $9.00
World Supremacy- Save $9.00

Go Back   .com.unity Forums > Shrapnel Community > Space Empires: IV & V

Old October 8th, 2004, 02:32 AM

Private

bbq is on a distinguished road
Default Obscure, unintuitive and unforgiving

First let me say I have enjoyed many aspects of this game since I started playing a month ago. But I'm not posting about that, I want to share a major gripe I have in a constructive manner which I hope the developers will listen.

So what's the problem? Well, I really dislike part of the mechanics of the game, its lack of documentation and the unforgiving nature of the interface itself. Let me give an example.

In my most recent game I wanted to explore what it would be like to create new planets from scratch. So I researched all the Stellar Manipulation technologies. Now, I'm sure most of you know that there is very little information in the manual as well as the help file itself. It took me a LONG time to figure out that I need to build 41 starbases, load them with the materials and components before I make it.

So I bit the bullet and started building and building. It took me a long time to put it all together. Imagine my surprise when I tried to activate the component to create the Sphere World I was informed that there was "No Sun in sector". So I said fine, I'll make another ship and create a sun in that spot. But as you probably guessed, there was already a sun on the map elsewhere and it said I couldn't do it. Now, WHY THE HECK NOT? I have seen systems with more than one sun in it. So why can't I do that?

Furthermore, the component to create a Sphere World states that "it will create a sphere world AROUND a sun". Where does it say anywhere on the components or manual or help file that you need to create all the material ON the sun itself???