.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

The Falklands War - Save $7.00
War Plan Pacific - Save $5.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > Shrapnel Community > The Honorably Discharged > Thunder Pack Platinum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old December 22nd, 2002, 07:19 AM

DarkStar DarkStar is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: South Pasadena, CA
Posts: 153
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
DarkStar is on a distinguished road
Default A Bug and Question

I have been trying the Interstellar Trader demo. I did have a question, and some comments.

It seems that once you buy something from one planet, and go back the same items are not for sale. If this is the case is it just luck that you can make money? You never seem to know what is going to be for sale so how can you plan what you are going to buy? Why does the inventory change so fast?

So far in the games I have played the pirates take all my stuff and kill all my ships. I can't seem to get enough money to buy ships to protect myself.

I did find a bug. When the demo ended it didn't change my screen rez back to the one I had before I started the game. I guess it's not really a bug but is kinda a pain in the butt when all your desktop icons move and you have to change it back by hand. I guess it might be fixed if and when a patch is released.

Also if you don't mind me asking, how are sales so far? I saw on your website you are working on Version 2 of this game. What new things are you going to add and change?

Overall the games are pretty fun. The only downfall I see is that people that want 'eye candy' are not going to like these games. Even some simple animation might help. There is alot of gameplay, which is what counts (IMHO).
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old December 23rd, 2002, 02:36 AM

Taz-in-Space Taz-in-Space is offline
First Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: SE Pennsylvania
Posts: 722
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Taz-in-Space is on a distinguished road
Default Re: A Bug and Question

Darkstar, I have downloaded the demo and found that buying protection from the pirates is worth a lot in the beginning. You can still get attacked, but the rate is much less.
Also visit the Planetary Governers, sometimes they will give you money and other stuff.
One Last tip: save your loose cash in the bank before leaving a planet - pirates can't take the cash if it's in the bank!
__________________
Gaze upon Taz-in-Space and TREMBLE!

<img src=http://imagemodserver.mine.nu/other/MM/SE4/warning_labels/inuse/taz.jpg alt= - /]
WARNING: Always count fingers after feeding the Tazmanian Devil!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old December 23rd, 2002, 04:37 AM

DarkStar DarkStar is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: South Pasadena, CA
Posts: 153
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
DarkStar is on a distinguished road
Default Re: A Bug and Question

Thanks for the tips, Taz-In-Space. I will give them a try on my next game.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old December 23rd, 2002, 05:34 AM

StormcloudCreations StormcloudCreations is offline
Sergeant
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: California
Posts: 265
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
StormcloudCreations is on a distinguished road
Default Re: A Bug and Question

DarkStar: The inventory on a planet does change just about every turn. It isn't just luck, though; rates on average for an item can vary quite a bit from planet to planet. Look for planets with single digit prices to buy at, and higher selling prices to sell at.

Ships can help early on, as can Pirate Contracts early on (mentioned by Taz), which will greatly lessen pirate attacks, and also as Taz said, pirates can't steal money in the bank (one of its purposes aside from the interest) until you can build a defense. Of course, you can count this a risk of doing business, and save that money for quick ship upgrades and items. There are many paths and strategies you can use.

Yes, there is a bug on some systems with the Trader demo that can cause it not to switch res's back properly. I believe the full Version fixes this problem, and all of the other demos shouldn't have this problem.

Sales here on Shrapnel? Not sure, though i've gotten lots of e-mails and compliments from people here, so I assume interest at least is fairly high. I hope anyway.

I think there's just enough eye candy in the games to where people won't dismiss them outright because of POOR graphics at least, especially for the kind of price the Thunder Pack features. I've actually been complimented on the graphic design and look of the games a lot of times. I'ts true there no fancy 3D cut-scenes or anything like that, which IMHO, eats up disk space and most people end up skipping it after the first time viewing it.

And yep (especially on Shrapnel), gameplay is what really counts in the end.

Thanks for your thoughts! If you have any other gameplay questions, write me here or e-mail me and i'll be happy to help out.
__________________
Derek
Stormcloud Creations
http://www.stormcloudcreations.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old December 23rd, 2002, 05:46 AM

StormcloudCreations StormcloudCreations is offline
Sergeant
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: California
Posts: 265
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
StormcloudCreations is on a distinguished road
Default Re: A Bug and Question

Just so everyone who might read this thread knows: The full retail Version submitted to Shrapnel of Trader DOES FIX the screen resolution not changing back bug. ONLY the demo is affected by this.

Thanks!
__________________
Derek
Stormcloud Creations
http://www.stormcloudcreations.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old December 23rd, 2002, 04:50 PM

sachmo sachmo is offline
Captain
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas, yall
Posts: 956
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
sachmo is on a distinguished road
Default Re: A Bug and Question

Quote:
Originally posted by StormcloudCreations:


And yep (especially on Shrapnel), gameplay is what really counts in the end.

Ahhh...I love when developers say that! I wonder if that is the reason why most of the games I enjoy playing don't require a 3D video card?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old December 23rd, 2002, 06:22 PM

StormcloudCreations StormcloudCreations is offline
Sergeant
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: California
Posts: 265
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
StormcloudCreations is on a distinguished road
Default Re: A Bug and Question

Agreed, sachmo...I really think many developers and game designers need to start going back to the basics. Fancy graphics can make for a good initial "oooh!" factor, but truly fun and interesting gameplay is what really keeps a game on a hard drive for a long time. I think many larger developers these days have forgotten that.

Heck, I still have an original Commodore 64 that I fire up once in awhile when I crave cool gameplay (though those load times are murder compared to my Pentium 1.6 Ghz).
__________________
Derek
Stormcloud Creations
http://www.stormcloudcreations.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old December 24th, 2002, 03:16 AM

DarkStar DarkStar is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: South Pasadena, CA
Posts: 153
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
DarkStar is on a distinguished road
Default Re: A Bug and Question

I love my C-64. I play most of the old games using an emulator. Those disk load times are way to long. Of course, not as long as the tape drive. My first C-64 game was Telengard from Avalon Hill. It used to talk forever to load, I really loved that game...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2017, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.