.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

The Falklands War - Save $7.00
War Plan Pacific - Save $5.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > Shrapnel Community > Space Empires: IV & V > SEV Modders Knowledge Base

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old March 22nd, 2007, 07:48 PM

zero zero is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
zero is on a distinguished road
Default making a new planet class....?

I've tried adding in a new planet class, so far no luck. i had it show up in game a one point in time, but there was no picture or icon of the planet, it was invisible but when you click on the hex where the planet was it would show up.....can anyone help me with this ?? oh yea how can you add more planets on to a system?? any advice is welcome ^^
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old March 22nd, 2007, 10:17 PM
Fyron's Avatar

Fyron Fyron is offline
Shrapnel Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Southern CA, USA
Posts: 18,394
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 10 Posts
Fyron is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: making a new planet class....?

What, specifically, have you done thus far?

You can add more planets to systems in SystemTypes.txt.
__________________
It's not whether you win or lose that counts: it's how much pain you inflict along the way.
--- SpaceEmpires.net --- RSS --- SEnet ModWorks --- SEIV Modding 101 Tutorial
--- Join us in the #SpaceEmpires IRC channel on the Freenode IRC network.
--- Due to restrictively low sig limits, you must visit this link to view the rest of my signature.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old March 23rd, 2007, 01:44 AM

zero zero is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
zero is on a distinguished road
Default Re: making a new planet class....?

so far ive added a new class in planetsize.txt, change the systemtype.txt to include the class just added

Chance Type 1 Any Size 6 Type := Gigantic
Chance Type 1 Any Size 6 Chance := 20

then i copied and pasted planets in stellerobjectstype.txt to have that class ex..


Stellar Object Name := Planet Ice 9004 Gigantic
Physical Type := Planet
XFile Class Name := Planet Ice 9004 Gigantic
Maximum Model Size := 17.0
Hex Size := 1
Picture Index := 171
Portrait Filename := planet_ice_9004_gigantic.bmp
Large Portrait Filename := planet_ice_9004_gigantic_lp.jpg
Description :=
Planet Size := Gigantic
Planet Physical Type := Ice
Planet Atmosphere := Hydrogen
Planet Gravity := Formula Planet Gravity
Planet Temperature := Formula Planet Temperature
Planet Radiation := Formula Planet Radiation
Planet Surface Empty := PlanetSurface_Ice_Hydrogen_Empty.bmp
Planet Surface Colonized := PlanetSurface_Ice_Hydrogen_Colonized.bmp

and lastly i added some entry in xfileclasses.txt


Name := Planet Ice 9004 Gigantic
XFile := Planet1000.x
Override Texture Filename := planet_ice_9004_gigantic.bmp
Base Model Radius := 2.0
Starting Rotate X := 50
Starting Rotate Y := 0
Starting Rotate Z := 25
Starting Scale X := 8
Starting Scale Y := 8
Starting Scale Z := 8
Starting Position Offset X := 0
Starting Position Offset Y := 0
Starting Position Offset Z := 0
Continual Rotation Vector X := 0
Continual Rotation Vector Y := 0
Continual Rotation Vector Z := 25
Continual Rotation Speed := 0.0001

is the picture index important?? Because that the only thing i did not change, or don't know how to go about it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old March 23rd, 2007, 08:05 PM
Fyron's Avatar

Fyron Fyron is offline
Shrapnel Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Southern CA, USA
Posts: 18,394
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 10 Posts
Fyron is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: making a new planet class....?

Did you change the number of chance types from 5 to 6 in SystemTypes.txt?
__________________
It's not whether you win or lose that counts: it's how much pain you inflict along the way.
--- SpaceEmpires.net --- RSS --- SEnet ModWorks --- SEIV Modding 101 Tutorial
--- Join us in the #SpaceEmpires IRC channel on the Freenode IRC network.
--- Due to restrictively low sig limits, you must visit this link to view the rest of my signature.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old March 23rd, 2007, 08:41 PM

zero zero is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
zero is on a distinguished road
Default Re: making a new planet class....?

yep i did that too
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old March 28th, 2007, 12:43 AM

zero zero is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
zero is on a distinguished road
Default Re: making a new planet class....?

ok... i quess i should ask if anyone has added a new planet class in? Could you tell me the steps please. Thxs
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2017, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.