.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

Bronze - Save $8.00
winSPMBT: Main Battle Tank - Save $6.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > Illwinter Game Design > Dominions 3: The Awakening

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old November 11th, 2008, 05:55 PM
JimMorrison's Avatar

JimMorrison JimMorrison is offline
Lieutenant General
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Utopia, Oregon
Posts: 2,676
Thanks: 83
Thanked 143 Times in 108 Posts
JimMorrison is on a distinguished road
Default Curious: Ritual of Return+Rebirth?

So I was wondering, say you had an Astral+Death mage, maybe a pretender who you want to keep around for awhile, and you know they are going to receive assassination attempts soon, or maybe be forced to (return to) the Arena.

If you have both Return and Rebirth cast on the same mage, and they are killed in 1 hit..... do they come home, as a Wight Mage?


Also, an OT question: Is there an MR check for Banish to Inferno? I fought a big battle recently with someone armed with the Infernal Sword, and one of the Archdevils that comes with the Infernal Scythe, and not one enemy got Banished.....
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old November 11th, 2008, 06:13 PM

chrispedersen chrispedersen is offline
BANNED USER
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,075
Thanks: 203
Thanked 121 Times in 91 Posts
chrispedersen is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Curious: Ritual of Return+Rebirth?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimMorrison View Post
So I was wondering, say you had an Astral+Death mage, maybe a pretender who you want to keep around for awhile, and you know they are going to receive assassination attempts soon, or maybe be forced to (return to) the Arena.

If you have both Return and Rebirth cast on the same mage, and they are killed in 1 hit..... do they come home, as a Wight Mage?
seems like ritual works first to negate damage. in other words, after I teleport out.. I don't have the damage...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old November 11th, 2008, 07:57 PM
JimMorrison's Avatar

JimMorrison JimMorrison is offline
Lieutenant General
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Utopia, Oregon
Posts: 2,676
Thanks: 83
Thanked 143 Times in 108 Posts
JimMorrison is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Curious: Ritual of Return+Rebirth?

Aha. I've never really used it, I was under the impression that you -take- the damage, and then teleport home. Could have sworn I saw someone mention that dying in 1 hit rendered it moot, but can't remember where, and searching "Ritual of Return" doesn't really narrow the field from offhand references, to real discussions of the mechanic.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old November 11th, 2008, 08:20 PM
archaeolept's Avatar

archaeolept archaeolept is offline
Lieutenant General
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,687
Thanks: 20
Thanked 54 Times in 39 Posts
archaeolept is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Curious: Ritual of Return+Rebirth?

pretty sure the first hit there can kill you... I certainly lost enough arch-theurgs in DomII; then rebirth would take over, but you need to be in friendly dominion i believe. It could also be that the "arena" is linked to a specific arena on the map, which could be in your dominion...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old November 11th, 2008, 09:01 PM
lch's Avatar

lch lch is offline
General
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: R'lyeh
Posts: 3,861
Thanks: 144
Thanked 403 Times in 176 Posts
lch is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Curious: Ritual of Return+Rebirth?

The deathmatch arena, like Inferno, Cocytos and the Void, are special provinces that AFAIK will never have anybody's pretender's dominion.
__________________
Come to the Dom3 Wiki and help us to build the biggest Dominions-centered knowledge base on the net.
Visit my personal user page there, too!
Pretender file password recovery
Emergency comic relief
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old November 11th, 2008, 09:28 PM

chrispedersen chrispedersen is offline
BANNED USER
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,075
Thanks: 203
Thanked 121 Times in 91 Posts
chrispedersen is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Curious: Ritual of Return+Rebirth?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimMorrison View Post
Aha. I've never really used it, I was under the impression that you -take- the damage, and then teleport home. Could have sworn I saw someone mention that dying in 1 hit rendered it moot, but can't remember where, and searching "Ritual of Return" doesn't really narrow the field from offhand references, to real discussions of the mechanic.
Its hard to tell Jim, but I've used it hundreds of times.. and never gotten an affliction.. but that would probably be the easiest way to tell

Take a D9 bless and see if you get any afflictions.. in a M3 province...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old November 12th, 2008, 03:33 PM

MaxWilson MaxWilson is offline
Major General
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Seattle
Posts: 2,497
Thanks: 165
Thanked 105 Times in 73 Posts
MaxWilson is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Curious: Ritual of Return+Rebirth?

I know that I've lost casters to Soul Slay even when wearing Armor of Virtue. Therefore, I don't think RoR negates damage, although maybe 999 damage is "special".

-Max
__________________
Bauchelain - "Qwik Ben iz uzin wallhax! HAX!"
Quick Ben - "lol pwned"

["Memories of Ice", by Steven Erikson. Retranslated into l33t.]
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old November 12th, 2008, 03:38 PM

chrispedersen chrispedersen is offline
BANNED USER
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,075
Thanks: 203
Thanked 121 Times in 91 Posts
chrispedersen is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Curious: Ritual of Return+Rebirth?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MaxWilson View Post
I know that I've lost casters to Soul Slay even when wearing Armor of Virtue. Therefore, I don't think RoR negates damage, although maybe 999 damage is "special".

-Max
RoR negates damage I recall. Things which kill without damage perhaps might not apply.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old November 12th, 2008, 05:01 PM
Nikelaos's Avatar

Nikelaos Nikelaos is offline
Sergeant
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: London, England
Posts: 354
Thanks: 9
Thanked 20 Times in 15 Posts
Nikelaos is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Curious: Ritual of Return+Rebirth?

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrispedersen View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaxWilson View Post
I know that I've lost casters to Soul Slay even when wearing Armor of Virtue. Therefore, I don't think RoR negates damage, although maybe 999 damage is "special".

-Max
RoR negates damage I recall. Things which kill without damage perhaps might not apply.
unfortunately soul slay does kill with damage, it says damage death but really it's 999, many a sphinx have taken a hit from soul slay and survived.
__________________
Melita Mod
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old November 12th, 2008, 05:24 PM

MaxWilson MaxWilson is offline
Major General
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Seattle
Posts: 2,497
Thanks: 165
Thanked 105 Times in 73 Posts
MaxWilson is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Curious: Ritual of Return+Rebirth?

Yeah, but 999 damage is "special" in at least one respect: it ignores Luck. It could be that it's special w/rt RoR as well.

-Max
__________________
Bauchelain - "Qwik Ben iz uzin wallhax! HAX!"
Quick Ben - "lol pwned"

["Memories of Ice", by Steven Erikson. Retranslated into l33t.]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2017, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.