.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

Bronze - Save $8.00
winSPMBT: Main Battle Tank - Save $6.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > KE Studios > War Plan Pacific > Scenarios and Mods
Notices


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old January 4th, 2009, 03:32 AM

ScottWAR ScottWAR is offline
BANNED USER
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 189
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
ScottWAR is on a distinguished road
Default Problems

Tried to make a new scenario and could not get it to show up in the scenarios listings in game.

To test it I copied an existing scenario, added one ship at the west coast (copied the info from another ship, pasted it and changed the ships ID# and name. I changed the scenario name inside the XML file and renamed the XML file the same.

I copied and pasted the XML file into the scenarios folder. Launched the game and the new scenario was not listed under scenarios.

My fist question is do we need a program to edit the XML files, or will opening it with notepad or wordpad, editing then saving work? If a program is needed do you have any suggestions where one can be downloaded. If not,... then what am I doing wrong?

Also would it be possible to get a post some day detailing exactly how to make new scenarios, and exactly what all the settings in the XML files mean.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old January 8th, 2009, 02:36 PM

JMHawkins JMHawkins is offline
Sergeant
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: How does Puget Sound?
Posts: 335
Thanks: 3
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
JMHawkins is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Problems

Scott,

The scenario should show up if you copy it to the the Scenarios folder, but there are a couple of edits that you should make in the root element.

First, set name to something new - this is how it will show up in the scenario list when you are loading it. Second, make sure ScenarioFile is set to true. You should end up with the first element of the file looking like this:

Quote:
game name="ScottWAR Scenario"
ScenarioFile="true"
I'm working on a doc explaining the entire file structure.

Thanks,
__________________
John Hawkins
KE Studios

Last edited by JMHawkins; January 8th, 2009 at 02:41 PM.. Reason: getting xml to look right
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old January 9th, 2009, 07:13 AM

ScottWAR ScottWAR is offline
BANNED USER
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 189
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
ScottWAR is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Problems

I checked those and they were correct, but still not showing up. Then I figured it out,....the file must be placed in the my documents/saved games/WPP/player1/scenarios folder. I was placing it in program files/KEStudios/WPP/Content/Scenarios.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ScottWAR For This Useful Post:
  #4  
Old January 14th, 2009, 12:22 AM

JMHawkins JMHawkins is offline
Sergeant
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: How does Puget Sound?
Posts: 335
Thanks: 3
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
JMHawkins is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Problems

Scott,

I'll make sure that get's explained in the doc, thanks.
__________________
John Hawkins
KE Studios
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old October 24th, 2012, 04:47 AM

hellfire23 hellfire23 is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 20
Thanks: 2
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
hellfire23 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Problems

Hi I have just purchased this game today,and I was having the same problem saving user scenarios,until I read this thread cheers!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2017, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.